We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare and scammed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South to your Saves list
Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 NE First Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Liberty Hill, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare and scammed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We checked in late on a Saturday night, headed the next morning for Key West. The room was in very poor condition; the lamps didn't work, the switch on one was torn off, plastic molding across the front of the washstand was hanging off, the interior of the drain system was taken out and on the floor, but all we wanted was to sleep. However, early the next morning, the toilet stopped up and we weren't able to unstop it, and we couldn't get the shower to work because we weren't able to turn on the water. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice, but said they were unable to refund any of our money, and would agree to do so if we contacted Travelscape and file a claim. However, when a representative contacted the owners, they claimed everything worked and that we had no problems. That cost us over $100.
Flavius J.

Room Tip: Simple. Choose another motel or sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    7
    7
    36
See reviews for
4
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turtle Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very nice,New management.clean and quiet .good continental breakfast . Pool open very late .convenient location, close to restaurants reasonable prices. WiFi available mini frig in room was very nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Refigerator was very dirty, so didn't use. Some walls were dirty....layers of dust behind door on wall. Doors need to be washed near knobs. Room size was nice and, bathroom, bed area were clean (but there is more to a clean room than the vanity/bed). They need outside garbage cans. There was garbage (bottles, cig packs, etc.) in parking lot. Pile of garbage by pool, some by office & in front. No hangers; another customer asked for some hangers, they refused. Needed more lighting--bad lightbulb in stand-up lamp so it didn't work. Painted all white, not much decoration, scant furniture. You can't run a motel like people are going to steal everything, so you don't provide it. Also an outside alarm was blaring from across parking lot that had gone went off for almost 1/2 hr.....guess they stopped it finally...we left and went to supper. Nice motel...not as nice as the first time. Just pick up the garbage and clean a little better. We stopped there for 1 nite on our way to Key West last yr & this year in Jan. Mentioned garbage to owner...he said they were cleaning outside...but I didn't see it done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dirty sheats, Swarms of bees that was trying to come to through the vent at the bathroom and lots of ants ont the floor. You get what you pay for and 19 bucks a night will certainly not get you anything fancy but you expect something more then this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

this had to be the dirtyist motel I evev stayed at...filthy from the door to the bathroom..,carpet was stained..not a clean spot anywhere...sheets were stained...slept on top of covers...I even passed on the shower...filth...do not stay here...should have slept in the car,...save your money

Room Tip: .warning......DO NOT STAY.......warning......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here for a night before driving out to Key West. I asked to see a room before I paid for it, and it seemed fine at first glance. Relatively clean. No bed bugs. After I moved all my stuff in for the night and started getting settled, I noticed something reddish sticking out of the plastic grid covering the florescent light over the bathroom sink.

Oh, I wish I had not looked closer. I really do.

It was the butt of a dead cockroach sticking through the holes in the grid. Then I scanned the rest of the light covering and saw two more dead cockroaches.

And you know what dead cockroaches means: There are live cockroaches nearby.

After that, everytime I walked near the bathroom sink, I peered up to make sure there weren't any live cockroaches peering down at me.

I fell asleep trying not to think about cockroaches crawling all over my belongings.

The next day, I went into the lobby to get some free breakfast. A woman emerged from the back room behind the front desk when I entered the lobby. I smiled and said hello and she glared back at me and went back into the back room without saying anything. Breakfast was nothing fancy. Just toast, fake orange juice, and coffee. Every once in a while she would peer out of the backroom to see what I was taking from the breakfast counter.

I couldn't wait to get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed one Night. It was late and had to stop for the night. Checked in and thought it was too expensive for a one night stay. Checked the room like I always do but was so tired that crashed on bed. Next morning looking closer I saw more evidence of. Stains around the outlets and on the walls. Pulled the covers and sure enough saw a. Bed bug. Told management and got reinbursed on the spot. Still had to double check everything to make sure nothing got on me or my car. Know the red flags. Always check the room before moving your things inside the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South

Address: 1223 NE First Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South Hotel Florida City
Florida City Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Florida City Homestead South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.