We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride in Property Shows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pace, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pride in Property Shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an older hotel, but the mangers/owners obviously take pride in caring for this property. It has been many years since we have stayed here, but it continues to satisfy through the years. This hotel is clean and well kept. All the staff is very pleasant. the breakfast arrangement is nice as well. Will stay here again, plus will recommend to others that I know are traveling to the Keys.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    1,009
    230
    68
    22
See reviews for
874
1,291
110
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed one night. It was clean, safe, and reasonable. Very close to the Outlet Mall. Check it out,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The good:
1. Clean spacious rooms
2. Good beds
3. Friendly and helpfull personal at arrival
4. Reasonable complamentary breakfast
5. Bathtub
6. 15 minutes away from everglades main entrance, and 40 minutes away from key largo
7. Next to an outlet mall

The bad or to be improved:
1 Noisy - could hear my neighbour talk on the phone. I don't know what he was doing, but he kept me up quite long. He was shouting in spanish, bit intimidating. I could also hear everything that happend outside.
2 When I left, they did not ask how it was. Different girl, different service I guess.
3 Apparently bad neighbourhood. I was told not to walk 400 yards / meters to a bar at night, because it could be dangerous.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Reviews, both positive as well as constructively negative motivate/help us to do better. Your feedback is very constructive and we learn a lot from such reviews. Rest assured that we will try and improve in areas you have mentioned and continue to do even better in other areas of hospitality. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your recommendation to the winner of the Property of the Year 2014-2015, and we look forward to seeing you, your friends, family and readers of this review soon.

Please note:
(a) Breakfast hours at Travelodge Florida City are longer than most hotels in the area (6 am to 10 am).
(b) you can always ask for an early check-in by calling ahead
(c) to get the best rates please email the undersigned (tlflsunny@gmail.com) or call (305 218 9389)
(d) our swimming pool is now heated.
(e) that directions to the Travelodge Florida City on the GPS are sometimes misleading. Type in directions for Denny's (401 se 1st avenue, FL 33034) and we are behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(f) that we have taken over the management of Quality Inn next door and you can expect the same level of service there.
(f) that most of our rooms have comfortable pillow-top mattresses.

Sunny Patel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We used the Travelodge as we explored the Everglades. I was surprised at how nice it was, especially at the price. The attention to details was superb. The room was very clean and the breakfast well above average. There were ceramic coffee cups and real glasses in the room, unlike the plastic and styrofoam that are so typical these days. When my children were younger, this would have been considered a perfect stop - there is a pool and laundry facilities. Bhumi (did I spell this right?) was exceptional in her assistance. I had only two minor complaints. First, the pillows were a bit too large for my comfort (there were eight of them in the room !). Second, the shower head's spray was more diffuse than I like - very wide, but not very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Welcome to the family! Your feedback is very important and encouraging to read. Thank you for the highlights: attention to details. the very clean room, the breakfast being well above average, the ceramic coffee cups and real glasses in the room and our staff, particularly Bhumi, our star Navigator. As per your complains about the pillows and the shower head, they are well-taken and we will do our best to improve here. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Please note:
(a) Breakfast hours at Travelodge Florida City are longer than most hotels in the area (6 am to 10 am).
(b) you can always ask for an early check-in by calling ahead
(c) to get the best rates please email the undersigned (tlflsunny@gmail.com) or call (305 218 9389)
(d) that directions to the Travelodge Florida City on the GPS are sometimes misleading. Type in directions for Denny's (401 se 1st avenue, FL 33034) and we are behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(e) we are now the same management/ownership at the Quality Inn next door and you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.
(f) that most of our rooms have comfortable pillow-top mattresses.

Sunny Patel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This report has been almost three months in coming due to the conditions involved. I would normally say how great the rooms, breakfast, facilities and staff were (all of which are very true). There are times though when simple kindness and caring count more than any of these things and this is one of those times.
I was traveling with a group of friends in early February (staying at the Florida City Travelodge) when one of our group died in front of the group in a tragic accident. Many in the group were traumatized and chose to end their trip. This left multi-day stays cut short and this day well past checkout. Rick at the front desk took the time to go down to the room of the family that had lost a member and gave very real support and condolences. He worked extra hard to resell all the rooms for those that had ended their stay without penalty for the over 6 hours late checkout. Rick and the manager Sonny went so far as to comp the earlier part of the stay for the family that had suffered the loss of a member.
In this day and age to find a business that put the recovery and well being of this family before profits was a very pleasant experience and the kindness definitely helped the family in a very trying time.
Once again Kudos to Rick, Sonny and the Travelodge family. You have my business and loyalty in addition to the wonderful facilities and staff, because of a real caring for your customers.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Really? Your losses are much larger than any kindness any of our staff could have shown. You need not mention it. All we can say is may God assuage the anguish of bereavement beset upon you. Thank you and you will remain friends of Travelodge for life!

Look forward to hear from you again.

Sunny Patel, Rick & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This facility was run by the friendliest hoteliers ever. They kindly moved my room to accomodate my desire for two beds. They placed me close to the pool and let me knwo the hours. They directed us to the laundry facilty and invited us to breakfast in the morning. We had a lovely late night swim under the stars. I believe it was salt water. We did a little laundry and relaxed. the hotel was dated byb it had updated linens and the rooms were clean. I would stay here againin an instant

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and the folks behind the desk. We arrived late in the evening and were informed graciously at check-in that our credit card had been declined but they still held our room. Our room was clean, had a wood floor and a very comfy bed. Breakfast had a good selection and an option to sit outside if you wanted. The hotel is set back from the road which made it a bit hard to spot but in turn made it feel cozy and eliminated traffic noise. The grounds are nicely decorated and they have these cool Tikki huts spaced throughout the parking lot that you can sit under – loved it! Not the fault of the hotel but note that if you are coming from the north on a Sunday night the traffic coming up from the Keys is bumper to bumper. It was difficult to make a left hand turn to get to the hotel as there are no traffic lights. Regardless, it was an excellent choice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Welcome to the family. Thank you for a wonderful review of your stay and thanks also for the highest award of 5 greens out of 5. We are thrilled to see that you had a great time and thanks also for highlighting our major traits that have won us various awards, the latest being the Property of the Year 2014/2015. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Please also note:
(1) you can book directly with us: call 1 800 758 0618 or email: tlflsunny@gmail.com.
(2) early check-ins, when possible, will be honored
(3) directions on some GPSs are misleading; please look for Denny’s in Florida City (401 SE 1st avenue, Fl 33034). We are located behind the Denny's Restaurant
(4) we now have a make-your-own Waffle maker and a Pancake Maker, for Breakfast

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.