We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Tulln, Austria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Motel was OK, but a refurbishment would be helpful.
Room was clean, and OK for 2, but for 4 it was getting somewhat dense.

On the positive side, staff was very helpful and courteous.

Cooperation with nearby restaurants enables guests to get discounts with some of them.

Overall Good for a stop-over when coming to or leaving the Keys.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Our equation for value is to Deliver more than Expectations. You are quite right in saying that our rooms are adequate for 2 people; and realizing this one has the option of booking rooms with 2 queen beds. Many guests prefer this option. We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality of our courteous staff and our negotiated discounts at various restaurants.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you, your friends and family soon again.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    1,048
    237
    69
    22
See reviews for
920
1,356
113
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

good location between Miami and the Keys. next to Everglades. no complains about room. everything perfect and clean. Fastfood Restaurants nearby. pool is small but very clean. breakfast has a lot of Options. Keep the door to your room closed there alot of mosquitoes. will definately return to this hotel when I'm in the area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review on this site; and thanks for the business as well as for the award of the 5 green bubbles. As for mosquitoes, the rainy season yields more of them and guests are best advised to carry some sprays with them, although we are constantly "fogging" our own premises. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Sunny Patel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Room was only average, not what I expected from previous reviews. Not really dirty but not what I'd expect from reviews & the tripadvisor award they just received. Room was very hot when we arrived because the ac was off. AC was so noisy it made it difficult to hear TV which I needed to watch because bed was so hard I had trouble sleeping. Bottom sheet too small & had to keep putting it back on bed. Refrigerator was also turned off & by the time it was cool, we were leaving. Breakfast was a disappointment too. Sausage patties were grey, yogurt was warm. There were other options however but I chose not to eat them & went elsewhere. Location was very good if your destination is the Everglades National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Our savvy travelers know it is best to hear both sides of the story. We in turn encourage both, positive as well as negative (constructive) reviews since both motivate and teach us to do better. Your comments are noted and will be used to improve our services. On behalf of my team, I apologize for your disappointing experience. We hope you will give us a chance to prove our worth; please email me directly on tlflsunny@gmail.com when you are here next or call me directly on 305 218 9389.

Please note our aim is always to go above and beyond and are sorry, once gain, that we did not live up to your expectations.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is located at the back lot of McDonalds off a major highway. It is a hole in the wall. The mosquitos are so bad that walking 100 feet to mcdonalds you were eaten alive!!! In the morning pulled into Dunkin Donuts next door, there were drunks hanging out front with brown bags, I wish I had my gun with me I felt that unsafe! This hotel is located in a crap town that is dangerous and dirty! The reviews on here must come from those who are homeless or don't know any better, OMG! Go stay at the Hampton or Marriott in Homestead, so much safer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Reviews, both positive as well as when constructively negative, motivate and help us to improve our services. Feedback such as yours will be used to do just that. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we hope you will give us another chance to prove our worth. Look forward to your quick return.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want to know Everglades I highly recomend the hotel. Close to everywhere. Close to Florida City Outlet and travel agencies to show you the Everglades. They will give you discount coupons to Denny's. But you must rent a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for the award of 5 greens out of 5. Thank you also for highlighting the proximity of Everglades and our hotel. We cannot ask for more other than to hope that you will return soon with us, this time with your friends and family. Look forward to the same.

(1) Please note that for ease of reservations, you can book directly at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City: call 1 800 758 0618 or email: tlflsunny@gmail.com.
(2) Also we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.
(3) Directions on some GPSs are misleading; please look for Denny’s in Florida City (401 SE 1st avenue, FL 33034). We are located behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(4) Don't forget to ask dedicated NAVIGATOR about special discounts at restaurants and popular local attractions such as Robert is Here (Fruit Stand), Coral Castle, La Playa Grill at Biscayne National Park and attractions in Key Largo (20 mins) such as John Penekemp State Park, Robbie's for Tarpon feeding on MM 77.5 and Bahaya Honda State Park on MM40 (lovely beach).

Sunny Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Travelodge really surprised me! It did get great reviews on Tripadvisor but I was still pleasantly surprised. It's a motel type lodging and the rooms are all on the ground level. Rooms are updated with flat screen TVs, cable, refrigerator and microwave. Our room was immaculate as was the grounds. The swimming pool area was very clean. he A/C was quiet and worked great. There are many restaurants nearby and if you show your room key some places give you a 20% discount like Denny's and IHOP. We didn't eat breakfast there so I can't comment on that.
I will be staying here for any future visits here to see our grandchild..this will be our go to place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent value, good location for start of trip to The Keys.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Discounts at local restaurants.
Bhumi gives very helpful advice on local area and Rick very pleasant on reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florida City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.