We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to Everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location to Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want to know Everglades I highly recomend the hotel. Close to everywhere. Close to Florida City Outlet and travel agencies to show you the Everglades. They will give you discount coupons to Denny's. But you must rent a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for the award of 5 greens out of 5. Thank you also for highlighting the proximity of Everglades and our hotel. We cannot ask for more other than to hope that you will return soon with us, this time with your friends and family. Look forward to the same.

(1) Please note that for ease of reservations, you can book directly at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City: call 1 800 758 0618 or email: tlflsunny@gmail.com.
(2) Also we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.
(3) Directions on some GPSs are misleading; please look for Denny’s in Florida City (401 SE 1st avenue, FL 33034). We are located behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(4) Don't forget to ask dedicated NAVIGATOR about special discounts at restaurants and popular local attractions such as Robert is Here (Fruit Stand), Coral Castle, La Playa Grill at Biscayne National Park and attractions in Key Largo (20 mins) such as John Penekemp State Park, Robbie's for Tarpon feeding on MM 77.5 and Bahaya Honda State Park on MM40 (lovely beach).

Sunny Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    1,003
    228
    67
    22
See reviews for
867
1,284
109
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Travelodge really surprised me! It did get great reviews on Tripadvisor but I was still pleasantly surprised. It's a motel type lodging and the rooms are all on the ground level. Rooms are updated with flat screen TVs, cable, refrigerator and microwave. Our room was immaculate as was the grounds. The swimming pool area was very clean. he A/C was quiet and worked great. There are many restaurants nearby and if you show your room key some places give you a 20% discount like Denny's and IHOP. We didn't eat breakfast there so I can't comment on that.
I will be staying here for any future visits here to see our grandchild..this will be our go to place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent value, good location for start of trip to The Keys.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Discounts at local restaurants.
Bhumi gives very helpful advice on local area and Rick very pleasant on reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unsure abour location before we arrived (we picked from a map) but needn't have worried. A short drive to the Everglades National Park and enough choice of eateriea for evening meals. We liked:
* helpful staff at front desk, from providing advice or helping solve a problem
* free wifi but also two public computers with printing of coupons, boarding passes etc
* single storey so no overhead noise
* fresh waffles and pancakes from self operated machines

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Approaching this motel by GPS was a little confusing "turn left on (whatever-it-was) Boulevard. There was no boulevard - it was the entrance to McDonald's, connected to another driveway connecting to the Travelodge. Maybe the GPS was a little off? Then there was the outer appearance - I've never stayed at a one-story motel. I envisioned being on a lonely back road with a creepy motel seen in horror movies.

I was wrong. This Travelodge was pleasantly surprising from the moment I entered the lobby. The staff was very friendly. There was a large area, indoor and outdoor, for the morning breakfast (included!). I was given a map of the area with locations that offered discounts to Travelodge guests. This Travelodge is conveniently located within the city and points-of-interest. My only point-off was for the unmarked "boulevard" confusion caused by the GPS.

The room was "accessible". It was very clean and had a lot of nice amenities. There was a small fridge with separate freezer compartment (that was a first for me) also ironing board, coffee maker w/coffee and condiments, microwave and digital-combination safe. The flat-screen TV was huge, although the picture quality was degraded some - the channels were analog. Maybe it was because of the "accessible" room type, but the bathroom was enormous and included plenty of towels, soap, shampoo and conditioner and a extra-size shower. The king bed was very comfortable and included more than enough pillows. WiFi worked very well.

At breakfast, the indoor seating area was packed. There was a nice breeze and made eating outside in the covered area a good alternative. The food was good, self-serve, with eggs, sausage, breads, danishes, cereals, yogurt, and assorted juices.

Factoring in the room rate and everything above, this Travelodge was a really good deal. Although reluctant at first, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The accessible room will easily accommodate a wheelchair including the large bathroom/shower. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
What a raving review! If we had our way, we would keep this review at the top all the time. We are glad we lived up to your expectations. Welcome to the family and we hope you will make this your home again and again.

(1) Please note that for ease of reservations, you can book directly at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City: call 1 800 758 0618 or email: tlflsunny@gmail.com.
(2) Also we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.
(3) Directions on some GPSs are misleading; please look for Denny’s in Florida City (401 SE 1st avenue, FL 33034). We are located behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(4) Don't forget to ask dedicated NAVIGATOR about special discounts at restaurants and popular local attractions such as Robert is Here (Fruit Stand), Coral Castle, La Playa Grill at Biscayne National Park and attractions in Key Largo (20 mins) such as John Penekemp State Park, Robbie's for Tarpon feeding on MM 77.5 and Bahaya Honda State Park on MM40 (lovely beach).

Sunny Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A standard roadside motel with clean rooms and all the normal accouterments. The staff is friendly. The motel offers a wonderful daily all you can eat breakfast. Ask for a room in the rear for a more quiet stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to post a kind review. We try to offer simple, economic (clean, no-frills) accommodations with more thought given to décor and atmosphere; budget is still a consideration. Yes, our staff are, by nature, friendly and we focus a lot on feeding our guests a good, extended (about 26 items in the buffet) breakfast. We are glad we met or exceeded your expectations and look forward to your quick return.

(1) Please note that for ease of reservations, you can book directly at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City: call 1 800 758 0618 or email: tlflsunny@gmail.com.
(2) Also we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.
(3) Directions on some GPSs are misleading; please look for Denny’s in Florida City (401 SE 1st avenue, FL 33034). We are located behind the Denny's Restaurant.
(4) Don't forget to ask dedicated NAVIGATOR about special discounts at restaurants and popular local attractions such as Robert is Here (Fruit Stand), Coral Castle, La Playa Grill at Biscayne National Park and attractions in Key Largo (20 mins) such as John Penekemp State Park, Robbie's for Tarpon feeding on MM 77.5 and Bahaya Honda State Park on MM40 (lovely beach).

Sunny Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.