We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we stayed at the Travelodge for two weeks we had a great time staying sunny Jodi and all his staff make us well come our room was big everything is right there diners what you want was rights by the Travelodge there was allways choices of breakfast we even got 20% of our meals dennys and other place you get so much percent off as well it worth staying excellent service we got we would stay there again the weather was great love it there there are places near the Travelodge to have dinner. if going to there it close to the everglades and other places book direct with travelodge thank you sunny Jodi and staff for a excellent stay help fullness and everthings keep up your excellent service have a great week from the hall family from England our stay from the 25th of sept to 9th of October 2013.room 206

Room Tip: from was excellent quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
What a review! We always say that one really needs to stay longer than just one night with us to appreciate all the aspects of our hospitability. And you did more than just that. Welcome to the family and we hope you will make this your home again and again. Thanks for recognizing our staff and our Travelodge Florida City-Homestead. And thanks for the highest possible award on this site. We will definitely let Jodi and the staff know of your appreciation.

We are proud to showcase our latest award: FRANCHISEE OF THE YEAR (2013/2014) FOR TRAVELODGES, USA, for Excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations - apart from being No 1 out of 11 on this site for the last 7 years.

Please note that guests can now book directly with using the address, email, phone number listed above the Travelodge photo above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    926
    218
    64
    16
See reviews for
794
1,172
105
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sonny is very proud of his motel and so he should be, he has worked hard to provide a clean, comfy and jam packed amenities filled room for a reasonable price.
We have stayed in a few motels in the USA as we do a lot of road trips for our holidays and this is the best one we have ever stayed in! And the first time feel the need to praise!
Clean, comfortable, free wifi, free breakfast, amazing pool, great location for the Keys, The Everglades, Miami and lots of food and shopping too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410. Short walk to the pool, plenty of parking and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
This is how we win a lot of awards, the latest being: Franchisee of the Year 2013/14 for Excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations; we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask. Yes I am proud, but proud to be a member of a team that executes very well. I am only as good as the team.

Thank you for your very kind words about our Travelodge Florida City-Homestead. And for the highest possible award on this site.We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013 while touring Florida. We found a great value motel in a good location for the Everglades National Park Visitors Centre. It is situated within walking distance of plenty of fast food outlets and diners. We enjoyed the pool and sunbathed on the pool terrace.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your business as well as for taking time post a review of our Travelodge Florida City-Homestead. We like to hear both positive as well as (constructive) negative comments, as both help us to improve ourselves -the writer's review is very positive but does not match the rating (3 green circles out of 5).

Our latest award of Franchisee of the Year 2013/2014 speaks for itself, as we continue to improve in all areas of hospitality. See you back again soon.

Please note that guests can now book directly with us suing the number/address/email under the Travelodge photo above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Travelodge twice during our trip through Florida, once from Miami to the Keys and then on the way back heading towards the Gulf Coast. Here is the first great plus: Great location! Near Everglades, Miami, The Keys, Biscayne National Park and a Premium Outlet only 5 mins away. We liked the outlet a lot since it is not very busy but great bargains, even better ones than in Premium Outlets Orlando. Then the motel itself is great, it is family-owned and the owners do a lot more than you would expect from an accomodation in this price level and this location, with a ton if tourists coming in and out every year. I think the place would 'sell' by itself but the Patel family puts s lot of extra efffort in. For example, the internet is super fast since they installed an access point in every room, great for skyping, opposite to what we experienced in many other accomodations. We had 2 different rooms during our stays and both were just super clean with comfy beds, fridge, microwave, tv, nice hot shower.When we arrived the 2nd time we noticed that air conditioning did not work. This was fixed very quickly and professionally, we were not bothered even slightly. The owners and their team do a great job, are super helpful, also recommending places to go etc. since we were affected by the government shut down which also shut down Everglades Nationalpark. Furthermore, the breakfast is outstanding with different sorts of bread/toast, fresh pancakes and waffles, pastries, cereals, bacon, eggs, juice, fruits. Yummy! Also the food places near the motel are great, we can especially recommend Shriver's BBQ, very delicious polled pork and hamburgers.

Overall we felt very welcome, were treated super friendly and had a great stay at the Travelodge in Florida City, thanks again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a detailed review! We like to get involved and interact with the guests. We believe hospitality is not just about renting rooms , but creating a service environment that guests can experience and remember.Thank you for your business as well as for taking time post a review on this site. Your award of 5 greens out of 5, speaks for itself and it only remains for us to welcome you back again in the future.

Please note that guests can now book directly with us using the number/address/email under the Travelodge photo above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a long 8 hours drive we reached the hotel, and upon check in we got a bag of microwave popcorn. Imagine you are tired, hungry, that popcorn tasted sooo delicious. I liked that simple idea very much. The room, so clean, beautiful and fresh, the bed was so comfortable, I slept so good. A big TV screen to watch your favorite programs. The internet was amazingly fast.
The HOT breakfast was tha bomb! Hot pancakes just by pressing 1 botton. Waffles made by yourself, eggs, sausages, bread, cornflakes, fresh fruit, pastries, various bread, oatmeal, coffee, thee, hot choco, juices. And the BEST thing is, it's all FREE. Why stay anywhere else?
Good priced hotel, friendly service, clean, fast internet, amazing bed, free breakfast!! We will be back for sure! For us: We want to rate this hotel above Excellent! Greetings from Curacao.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
And this is how we won the award of FRANCHISEE OF THE YEAR (2013/2014) FOR TRAVELODGES, USA, for Excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.

Thank you also for your kind words, and the highest possible award of 5 Green circles out of 5 for our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

Note, we will do our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can book by calling/e-mailing /visiting us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel (well, motel really) is at the gateway to the upper keys in Florida City, 20 miles north of Key Largo and just past (southbound) the first traffic signal after the Florida Turnpike ends, sitting on the east side of the road behind McDonald's, Dennys, and a couple of gas stations about a quarter mile (~ 0.5 km) north of where the Overseas Highway (US-1) begins.

Our room was clean and comfortable, with an in-room microwave and refrigerator. The staff could not have been nicer. The night clerk, Rick, was very welcoming and offered up extra towels at check-in. There is a nice, though small, pool to relax in with chickees to get out of the sun. There are also chickees scattered throughout the complex for folks to just sit out and enjoy the afternoon, and a larger gathering area/chickee close to the office/first rooms. The breakfast offerings changed a bit each day, nice; would like to see more fruit besides bananas, but it's very reasonable all the same. During the day, we noticed staff busy doing upkeep items, contributes to the sense of a well-kept operation. The owner is right to be proud of his team and his hotel. The Overseas Highway (as US-1 is known in this area) begins about a 1/4 mile to the south.

There is no "room service" as there is no food operation (beyond the complimentary breakfast offerings).

Local newspaper and USA Today are offered during the working week.

I will definitely stay here again on our next dive trip to Key Largo.

Room Tip: The hotel sits back a bit from US-1 on the east side of the road and I didn't notice any road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review of our Travelodge Florida City-Homestead and for your highest possible recommendation (5 green circles out of 5). Cannot ask for more other than to welcome you, your friends and family and hope you make this your home, again and again.

If word of mouth is the best form of advertising we would like to add you to our sales fleet.

Please note that guests can now book directly with using the address, email, phone number listed above the Travelodge photo above.

Not to forget our latest award: FRANCHISEE OF THE YEAR (2013/2014) FOR TRAVELODGES, USA, for Excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations - apart from being No 1 out of 11 on this site for the last 7 years.

Early check-in is always possible; please call ahead and we will try and accommodate as best as we can.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.