We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Travelodge!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Save Saved
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Florida City Travelodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2000 Bonus Points
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Florida City
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not your typical Travelodge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

So let me start by saying that I normally am not a fan of Travelodge and was quite hesitant to spend the night here as previous experiences in others have been unpleasant. However, with the amount of positive reviews, I decided we should give it a try. My family and I are driving down to the Keys, so the location of the hotel is perfect. The room was very clean, mattress comfortable, sheets spotless, Internet free..what more can you ask for at these rates. Although I did not have a chance to eat breakfast, it smelled lovely. The fact that it is complimentary was a shock to me, since most places nickel and dime you for everything.
What makes this Travelodge special though, definitely has to be the service. The young man that checked us in was incredibly sweet. Same can be said for the young lady present at check out. The owner who was also there during checkout asked me about our stay. It was this attentiveness that impressed me the most. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City focus our energy on making sure that the staff we currently have are getting the training and using any downtime as an opportunity to improve the kind of skills needed to provide quality service. Our focus is on how we can send a message to the customer that we are really serious in this business and that we are here for the long haul. We also do a lot of capital improvements to the property, investing money to give a quality product at affordable pricing.

Thank you also for your kind words about our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

In accordance with our “mantra” of going above and beyond, we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,262
    968
    240
    65
    22
See reviews for
705
1071
99
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

two weary travelers, tired from 2 days in Miami, we found a restful night at this hotel before we went on to the Keys the next day. Very convenient location with shops and restaurants nearby. Clean, comfortable and a good value (use the Room saver coupon!)

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet, but if you ask for REALLY quiet they will find the best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are pleased to get a feed-back from you of your stay at the Travelodge Thank you also for your kind words about our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

Customer Service to us means to anticipate the needs of guests and if we cannot, we ask. This is the basis of our training for the front desk cast members. Fortunately, they understand and adopt and we are blessed with the right people.

We will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We normally don't stay in hotels with "outside" rooms. But after reading reviews, we figured "why not?". We are somewhat picky people when it comes to hotels.
Glad we did. Would definitely stay here again. If you are looking for bright, shiny, new, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced, then stay here.
Chose this hotel over expensive ones in Key Largo. Short Drive. Not much in the area, but the hotel staff was nice. Gave us all the info we needed regarding the area restaurants and shopping. Nice front desk staff.
Ladies, there's an OUTLET CENTER right around the corner!!!!!
Dining options are limited. The hotel itself is smack in the same parking lot as a McDonalds. The IHOP right down the road was really good.
There were a few seafood/bar places nearby but it was on a Friday night, and there weren't many cars in the parking lot at 6pm, so we knew not to eat at them.
Breakfast area had a pancake maker, a waffle iron, eggs, bacon, and all of the other continental items.
Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Our services include, but are not limited to, providing a free extended hot and cold breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, a high end curb appeal and friendly, efficient staff, with good local knowledge and will go out of their way to augment your further travel and entertainment plans, not to forget the FREE High Speed Internet Access that uses 20/50 MBPS for upload/download and FREE use of lobby computers. Ask and we will try and comply!

Thank you for staying with us despite your initial reservation about exterior-corridor motels. Your detailed review goes a long way towards advertising our motel. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

In line with our “mantra” of going above and beyond, we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went to Key Largo and decided to stay in Travelodge Florida City based on the Tripadvisor ratings and reviews. It was true to what I read here. It was above my expectations. The complimentary breakfast was very good and beyond what I was expecting. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for authenticating the reviews of Traveldoge Homestead-Florida City on this site. Our aim is always to go above and beyond the expectations of the guests and we are very glad to see that we were successful. Our breakfast now includes a Waffle Maker and a Pancake maker and it saves over $10-00 in cost, if you have it.

As part of our “mantra” of going out of our way, you can always stop by for early-check in, and we will TRY our best to accomodate you.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Let me say straight away, I don't normally stop in a Travelodge, tend to be loyal to Days inn or La Quinta depending on availability. This time Travelodge had availability for the 2 nights my family and I needed.
Let me say what a good choice I made. The Lodge is on US 1 so to get to the keys just turn left out of the car park and don't turn off again till you run out of road.
The Travel lodge was clean, super comfortable beds and came with a super help yourself "all you can eat" breakfast, Waffles pancakes juices sausage egg fruit cereals toast everything you need included in the price, and when there is 5 in your party that's a good saving.
But All motels stand and fall by the quality and standard of their Staff and Here they are superb.
Sunny Patel runs it and is fab, nothing is too much trouble for any of his team, they just want you to enjoy your stay, they tell you the best restaurants to go to and even have special discounts worked out so you can save money.
If you are off to the Keys this is a great stopover, the drive is 3 hours, we did it all in a day and really enjoyed it there then drove back after sunset and stayed another night at the lodge.If your going the keys stay here first you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: While here ask for directions to "Robert is here" its a fruit and veg market about 3 miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Our hands-on management style is based upon the simple conviction – always provide quality, putting the interest of the guests first, so that the guest is made to feel the most important part of the equation. We believe the key is to have the quality of people in charge. At the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City, we have staff that knows that this is their company. Each has a vested interest in the successful completion of every job. If they produce, everyone profits. And most importantly, if clients are satisfied, they will come back and stay again.

We thank you for your detailed review, for your business and also for the highest possible award (5 out of 5) on this site. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

In line with our “mantra” of going above and beyond, we will TRY our best to accomodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.



Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaimersheim, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The rooms and the location is very nice! perfect for the Keys or Everglades!
Also the internet is very fast compared to other Motels/Hotels!
The breakfast is very good!

Especially the staff is very friendly!

I will defenitly come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Our savvy travelers know it’s best to hear both sides of the story to get the most complete picture of potential travel destinations. When you struggle to see how you're going to engage customers, internet connectivity is one that resonates most.

Our rooms are very comfortable with such features as our FREE High Speed Internet access and FREE access to 3 computers in the lobby makes it possible for guests to connect to the world via the internet. We believe WI-FI is like hot water in a hotel. When guests have it there is no issue. But when it’s not there, or it’s not hot enough, everyone hears about it. Unfortunately, all too often guests are finding nowadays that while they have access to free Internet, it does not meet their needs. In these cases, it is not that the water is shut off, but no one likes a cold shower.

We thank you for your kind words and also for your business at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you during your next visit.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florida City Travelodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.