We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Save Saved
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Florida City Travelodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2000 Bonus Points
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We normally don't stay in hotels with "outside" rooms. But after reading reviews, we figured "why not?". We are somewhat picky people when it comes to hotels.
Glad we did. Would definitely stay here again. If you are looking for bright, shiny, new, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced, then stay here.
Chose this hotel over expensive ones in Key Largo. Short Drive. Not much in the area, but the hotel staff was nice. Gave us all the info we needed regarding the area restaurants and shopping. Nice front desk staff.
Ladies, there's an OUTLET CENTER right around the corner!!!!!
Dining options are limited. The hotel itself is smack in the same parking lot as a McDonalds. The IHOP right down the road was really good.
There were a few seafood/bar places nearby but it was on a Friday night, and there weren't many cars in the parking lot at 6pm, so we knew not to eat at them.
Breakfast area had a pancake maker, a waffle iron, eggs, bacon, and all of the other continental items.
Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Our services include, but are not limited to, providing a free extended hot and cold breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, a high end curb appeal and friendly, efficient staff, with good local knowledge and will go out of their way to augment your further travel and entertainment plans, not to forget the FREE High Speed Internet Access that uses 20/50 MBPS for upload/download and FREE use of lobby computers. Ask and we will try and comply!

Thank you for staying with us despite your initial reservation about exterior-corridor motels. Your detailed review goes a long way towards advertising our motel. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

In line with our “mantra” of going above and beyond, we will TRY our best to accommodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,205
    858
    209
    58
    16
See reviews for
721
1077
100
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went to Key Largo and decided to stay in Travelodge Florida City based on the Tripadvisor ratings and reviews. It was true to what I read here. It was above my expectations. The complimentary breakfast was very good and beyond what I was expecting. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for authenticating the reviews of Traveldoge Homestead-Florida City on this site. Our aim is always to go above and beyond the expectations of the guests and we are very glad to see that we were successful. Our breakfast now includes a Waffle Maker and a Pancake maker and it saves over $10-00 in cost, if you have it.

As part of our “mantra” of going out of our way, you can always stop by for early-check in, and we will TRY our best to accomodate you.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Let me say straight away, I don't normally stop in a Travelodge, tend to be loyal to Days inn or La Quinta depending on availability. This time Travelodge had availability for the 2 nights my family and I needed.
Let me say what a good choice I made. The Lodge is on US 1 so to get to the keys just turn left out of the car park and don't turn off again till you run out of road.
The Travel lodge was clean, super comfortable beds and came with a super help yourself "all you can eat" breakfast, Waffles pancakes juices sausage egg fruit cereals toast everything you need included in the price, and when there is 5 in your party that's a good saving.
But All motels stand and fall by the quality and standard of their Staff and Here they are superb.
Sunny Patel runs it and is fab, nothing is too much trouble for any of his team, they just want you to enjoy your stay, they tell you the best restaurants to go to and even have special discounts worked out so you can save money.
If you are off to the Keys this is a great stopover, the drive is 3 hours, we did it all in a day and really enjoyed it there then drove back after sunset and stayed another night at the lodge.If your going the keys stay here first you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: While here ask for directions to "Robert is here" its a fruit and veg market about 3 miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Our hands-on management style is based upon the simple conviction – always provide quality, putting the interest of the guests first, so that the guest is made to feel the most important part of the equation. We believe the key is to have the quality of people in charge. At the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City, we have staff that knows that this is their company. Each has a vested interest in the successful completion of every job. If they produce, everyone profits. And most importantly, if clients are satisfied, they will come back and stay again.

We thank you for your detailed review, for your business and also for the highest possible award (5 out of 5) on this site. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

In line with our “mantra” of going above and beyond, we will TRY our best to accomodate guests wishing to check-in earlier than 12:00 noon; you can call or walk-in and ask.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.



Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaimersheim, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The rooms and the location is very nice! perfect for the Keys or Everglades!
Also the internet is very fast compared to other Motels/Hotels!
The breakfast is very good!

Especially the staff is very friendly!

I will defenitly come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Our savvy travelers know it’s best to hear both sides of the story to get the most complete picture of potential travel destinations. When you struggle to see how you're going to engage customers, internet connectivity is one that resonates most.

Our rooms are very comfortable with such features as our FREE High Speed Internet access and FREE access to 3 computers in the lobby makes it possible for guests to connect to the world via the internet. We believe WI-FI is like hot water in a hotel. When guests have it there is no issue. But when it’s not there, or it’s not hot enough, everyone hears about it. Unfortunately, all too often guests are finding nowadays that while they have access to free Internet, it does not meet their needs. In these cases, it is not that the water is shut off, but no one likes a cold shower.

We thank you for your kind words and also for your business at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you during your next visit.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here on a 4day trip to the Everglades. Staff are very friendly and accommodating-especially the manager who was very helpful and informative on places to visit. Although good value with regards to a free breakfast which was good-(although very busy as it is a small breakfast room-which wasn't pleasant). The rooms were extremely small and packed with furniture. At the end of the room directly next to the bed my children slept in the carpet was soaking wet and smelled of damp. The walls of the hotel are unbelievably thin and we were kept awake the whole time we were there by others TVs and aircon throughout the night.There was also a wide gap in the front door which concerned me as ther are lots of insects around. The Pool is also small and unsupervised-an accident waiting to happen. Sorry Florida City but this wasn't a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There are no quieter rooms as they are all on ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We believe both positive as well as (constructive) negative comments help us to improve our services. And whilst we thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review of your stay at theTraveldoge Homestead-Florida city, we apologise for the inconvenience experienced. We have no excuse to make; all we can say is that we do and will continuously try and rectify the issues mentioned: particulalry the gap in the front door and the soaking carpet.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better next time.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge during a recent dive trip to Key Largo. This was a great option to the higher priced places on Key Largo. Only a 40 minute drive or so each way. This is an older hotel but both the rooms and the grounds are very well maintained. Clean, comfortable, and well attended. Hotel "free" breakfasts differ greatly, and it was nice to have the option of "real" food (eggs, sausage, gravy and biscuits, waffles, etc.) as compared to dry cereal and pastries as offered by many places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City us and also for posting a review on this site.

Our Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City consists of English muffins, muffins, Danishes, waffles, doughnuts, cereals (frosted flakes, corn flakes, bran flakes, oat meal), fresh fruit, wheat and white bread, apple and orange juice, regular and decaf coffee, tea and hot chocolate. In addition we have hot breakfast including eggs patty square express, fully cooked sausage patties, baked butter milk biscuit and cheese. Now we alos have a waffle maker and a pancake maker. All the items are replenished continuously.

And to this effect may we remind you that the cost for 2 persons having a limited breakfast (beverage, eggs, sausage etc) at a Denny’s or an I-Hop can be approximately $10-00 to $15-00, inclusive of taxes and tip. Our FREE unlimited, all-you-can-eat breakfast creates additional value!

The Travelodge Homestead-Florida City is centrally located to almost all South Florida attractions – Miami, South Beach, Everglades/Biscayne National Park and the keys are all within driving distance from our location; such that guests could use our location and make day trips to these destinations.

We hope to see you during your next visit.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

chi dice che è un motel come gli altri, non ha la più pallida idea di che cosa sia un motel...abbiamo dormito in una quarantina di motel diversi nei nostri viaggi in America, ma qui abbiamo trovato una cortesia molto superiore alla norma. La struttura, così come la camera è dotata di ogni cosa che riuscite ad immaginare che vi possa servire. La sala colazione è fantastica e sarete vicinissimi alle Everglades...ed è per questo che in estate può capitare che ci siano le zanzare... sapete: acqua stagnante, temperatura tropicale, piogge continue...il loro paradiso insomma...del resto avete scelto voi di visitarle no?? comunque noi, pur essendo luglio non ne abbiamo trovate molte di zanzare in questa zona che è certamente ben disinfestata. in camera basta tenere l'aria condizionata e naturalmente ci sono le zanzariere alle finestre. La sala colazione è dotata di almeno 10 macchinari per cucinare qualunque cosa vi venga in mente. fatevi consigliare dal gestore il ristorante Messicano che conosce... fanno un formaggio al chili che vi farà rinascere!!!

who says it's a motel like the others, has not the faintest idea of what is a motel ... we slept in forty different motels in our travels in America, but here we found a courtesy much higher than the norm. The structure, as well as the room is equipped with everything you can imagine that there might serve. The breakfast room is fantastic and you will be very close to the Everglades ... and it is for this reason that in summer it can happen that there are mosquitoes ... you know: stagnant water, tropical temperature, continuous rains their paradise ... well ... the rest you have chosen to visit them... right? however, we, though we have not found many in August in this area that is certainly well disinfected. Room enough to keep the air conditioning and of course there are no screens on the windows. The breakfast room is equipped with at least 10 machines to cook anything you can think of. Take advice from the manager about the Mexican restaurant who he knows ... it makes a chili cheese.......wooow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
You are the reason we have built this home, thank you for the detailed review, and for awarding the highest possible rating (5 out of 5) on this site. Hope you make this your home again and again.

Thank you also for your kind words about our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florida City Travelodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.