We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option for Key Largo Dive Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Option for Key Largo Dive Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge during a recent dive trip to Key Largo. This was a great option to the higher priced places on Key Largo. Only a 40 minute drive or so each way. This is an older hotel but both the rooms and the grounds are very well maintained. Clean, comfortable, and well attended. Hotel "free" breakfasts differ greatly, and it was nice to have the option of "real" food (eggs, sausage, gravy and biscuits, waffles, etc.) as compared to dry cereal and pastries as offered by many places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City us and also for posting a review on this site.

Our Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City consists of English muffins, muffins, Danishes, waffles, doughnuts, cereals (frosted flakes, corn flakes, bran flakes, oat meal), fresh fruit, wheat and white bread, apple and orange juice, regular and decaf coffee, tea and hot chocolate. In addition we have hot breakfast including eggs patty square express, fully cooked sausage patties, baked butter milk biscuit and cheese. Now we alos have a waffle maker and a pancake maker. All the items are replenished continuously.

And to this effect may we remind you that the cost for 2 persons having a limited breakfast (beverage, eggs, sausage etc) at a Denny’s or an I-Hop can be approximately $10-00 to $15-00, inclusive of taxes and tip. Our FREE unlimited, all-you-can-eat breakfast creates additional value!

The Travelodge Homestead-Florida City is centrally located to almost all South Florida attractions – Miami, South Beach, Everglades/Biscayne National Park and the keys are all within driving distance from our location; such that guests could use our location and make day trips to these destinations.

We hope to see you during your next visit.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    894
    214
    60
    16
See reviews for
767
1,117
102
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

chi dice che è un motel come gli altri, non ha la più pallida idea di che cosa sia un motel...abbiamo dormito in una quarantina di motel diversi nei nostri viaggi in America, ma qui abbiamo trovato una cortesia molto superiore alla norma. La struttura, così come la camera è dotata di ogni cosa che riuscite ad immaginare che vi possa servire. La sala colazione è fantastica e sarete vicinissimi alle Everglades...ed è per questo che in estate può capitare che ci siano le zanzare... sapete: acqua stagnante, temperatura tropicale, piogge continue...il loro paradiso insomma...del resto avete scelto voi di visitarle no?? comunque noi, pur essendo luglio non ne abbiamo trovate molte di zanzare in questa zona che è certamente ben disinfestata. in camera basta tenere l'aria condizionata e naturalmente ci sono le zanzariere alle finestre. La sala colazione è dotata di almeno 10 macchinari per cucinare qualunque cosa vi venga in mente. fatevi consigliare dal gestore il ristorante Messicano che conosce... fanno un formaggio al chili che vi farà rinascere!!!

who says it's a motel like the others, has not the faintest idea of what is a motel ... we slept in forty different motels in our travels in America, but here we found a courtesy much higher than the norm. The structure, as well as the room is equipped with everything you can imagine that there might serve. The breakfast room is fantastic and you will be very close to the Everglades ... and it is for this reason that in summer it can happen that there are mosquitoes ... you know: stagnant water, tropical temperature, continuous rains their paradise ... well ... the rest you have chosen to visit them... right? however, we, though we have not found many in August in this area that is certainly well disinfected. Room enough to keep the air conditioning and of course there are no screens on the windows. The breakfast room is equipped with at least 10 machines to cook anything you can think of. Take advice from the manager about the Mexican restaurant who he knows ... it makes a chili cheese.......wooow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
You are the reason we have built this home, thank you for the detailed review, and for awarding the highest possible rating (5 out of 5) on this site. Hope you make this your home again and again.

Thank you also for your kind words about our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here on the way to Key West for a family celebration. Upon arrival I had doubts as it was reminiscent of the old Mom and Pop hotels that my parents used to take us to on trips. First greeted with a sign on the door that no rooms were available so I was very thankful that I had the foresight to make a reservation prior to our arrival. Upon check-in I was asked to sign a form confirming that I had no pets and my heart sank. We were traveling with our small dog and per BringFido.com and the hotel's website itself it was declared "pet friendly". Note: due to misfortunes and the negligence of other pet owners they no longer accept pets. They did however make an exception for us, which we were most grateful for and allowed us to stay there. When we entered our room I was a bit apprehensive as it was "old style"; small fridge, microwave, old timey a/c unit, a table with two chairs and two queen beds. The floors are wood laminate and it just seemed crowded. I was pleasantly surprised however to find our room exceptionally clean from the bathroom to the interior of the fridge and microwave. The prices are fair for the location and I would stay there again without hesitation. I hate to give it up but think businesses like this one deserve to stay in business. Our thanks for a pleasant and safe stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLAHOMA CITY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Keys and on our way back from the Keys. Not wanting to pay the higher prices for lodging in the Keys, we opted to stay here. What a wise decision! The place is older, but kept up well and clean. We especially liked that there was only one way in and one way out; no thru traffic. We felt our vehicle was totally secure. Our room was adequate and we were well pleased. The breakfast buffet is amazing. They have it all, belgin waffles, pancakes, biscuits and gravey, eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, milk and coffee. Nicest breakfast we had at any place we stayed throughout our whole trip. The staff are very friendly and people-pleasing! We will tell everyone to stay here and we definitely will again if we return to the Keys. Thanks & our pleasure to give a great review!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Our hands-on management style is based upon the simple conviction – always provide quality, putting the interest of the guests first, so that the guest is made to feel the most important part of the equation. We believe the key is to have the quality of people in charge. At the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City, we have staff that knows that this is their company. Each has a vested interest in the successful completion of every job. If they produce, everyone profits. And most importantly, if clients are satisfied, they will come back and stay again.

We thank you for your kind words, your business and also for awarding the highest possible rating on this site. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Convenient location; close to mall, Everglades, Miami,...etc.
Great service from staff.
Breakfast has a lot of varieties.
Excellent in cleanliness.
Room amenities are very well maintained and upgraded.
Will definitely come back to this Travelodge again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for your review, your stay and for the award of 5 green circles out of 5, the highest possible for this site. You are the reason we have built this home, the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. Hope you make this your home again and again.

Thank you also for your kind words about our Travelodge Homestead-Florida City and we hope you, your family and your friends will make this your home again and again.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florida City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.