We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Florida City Travelodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Campinas, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good price and excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on November/2012 for 2 days on my way to Key West.
Good price for the location, but not so close to Miami South Beach for example.
Room was clean, and also the bathroom, big size room with 2 comfortable beds.
The breakfast was just fantastic, many things to choose and everything was fresh. Complimentary parking for our car, and the wi-fi was available. They have refrigerator inside the room, very useful. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We believe value is much more important than customization. We don't know any segment of the business where people aren't demanding more value: it’s free Internet, free parking, free breakfast and other services they want but don't want to pay additional for. We recognize these and cater for them!

Our upgraded Queen rooms with pillow-top mattresses, our extended FREE HOT breakfast with pancake maker, 2 waffle makers , and FREE HSIA (50/20 MBPS upload/download speeds) are popular amongst guests.,

We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    925
    218
    64
    16
See reviews for
792
1,170
105
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As other reviews have noted, the place is outdated and in serious need of renovation, but (mostly) clean. The service is quirky, but good and breakfast selection is better than you'd expect from a hotel of this level (though not by much ;) ).

There is one negative that for me outweighs all others - the AC is extremely noisy and blows air non-stop (whether compressor is on or off). I can't get a decent night sleep with an AC like that. If you are like me - you know what I mean, if so - try another place.

If you don't mind the AC - everything else is up to par.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review of your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City . We believe responding to reviews shows that we are listening and we actually care; it's a way to reinforce the positive and change perceptions when negative; Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Your comments are note and will no dobut be addressed.

We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.


Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Summary:Despite our first impressions, we enjoyed our stay. It is certainly not a four star resort, but it is clean and convenient. For the price, we were satisfied.
Upon check in, the staff at the front desk was very helpful about local things to do. We were staying for five days, which he repeated several times making me think they got mostly only overnight guests. Our first impression was a little scary. The outside of the hotel is very dated. Don't get me wrong, it was clean and maybe even recently painted, with decent little table and chairs outside each room. There was no mistaking the age though. When we opened the doors, we were met again with apprehension when we saw old comforters gracing the beds in the small room and a tiny, ancient microwave and refrigerator. I figured the bathroom would be telling. While it was small and certainly not fancy, it was definitely clean as a whistle. The staff made the beds, cleaned the bathroom and left clean towels each day while we were out.
Location, location, location! Firstly, the hotel has made deals with some of the local restaurants to offer guests 10-20% off when you present the room key. This was a really nice, unexpected bonus. The hotel is about half an hour to the northern tip of Key Largo and about an hour south of Miami. We snorkeled at Quiscence in Key Largo (they were great!) and enjoyed a day at the beach at Bill Baggs state park in Key Biscayne, We also did an Alligator Farm that was only 15 minutes away. One the unexpected highlights of our trip came when a snorkel excursion was cancelled due to high winds. We went to feed the Tarpons at Ronnie's on Islamarada (about 45 minutes from the hotel.) This little spot was a hidden gem! It was an artist colony of locals (many of whom were colorful and excellent) and a spot where, for $3, you can feed tons of 6 foot tarpons from the dock. All three generations enjoyed the couple of hours we spent there. Cannon Beach at Pennekamp was only about 25 minutes from the hotel and offered some surprisingly decent off-shore snorkeling.
Despite our first impressions, we enjoyed our stay. It is certainly not a four star resort, but it is clean and convenient. For the price, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
WOW! What a detailed review of your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. We are glad you stayed with us as long as you did (5 nights) - the best way to enjoy and experience the various aspects of our hospitality. Reviews on the world wide web are the best form of advertising for us.

Thank you for the same and thanks for your business. We are glad you found value by staying with us. Look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.


Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Room has everything - iron & board, fridge, freezer, TV, coffee-maker as well as free WiFi. Free ice on site, too. Great buffet breakfast in choice and variety, and all included in a very reasonable price.
Sunny, the manager, was amazingly helpful with local knowledge, maps, suggestions and advice. His staff were all helpful and always pleasant.
Excellent location for the Everglades or the Keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We at Travelodge Homestead-Florida City focus our energy on making sure that the staff we currently have are getting the training and using any downtime as an opportunity to improve the kind of skills needed to provide quality service. Our focus is on how we can send a message to the customer that we are really serious in this business and that we are here for the long haul. The way we have done this is by making capital improvements to the property, investing money to give a quality product at affordable pricing.

Thank you for your kind words and also for your business at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. We look forward to seeing you soon, again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florida City
#1 Business Hotel in Florida City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida City Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.