We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida City Travelodge

Save Saved
You added Florida City Travelodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Florida City Travelodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2000 Bonus Points
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I work in Florida for a few weeks every year and I am glad that I found the Travelodge in Florida City. The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the environment is pleasant and the staff is great. The management is helpful. For a longer stay the fridge and microwave are welcome. I intend to return here. There are restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We always say the best way to enjoy our hospitality and appreciate the various aspects of our services is to stay with us longer than one night - and you have been doing just that. Appreciate your business at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. Welcome to the family and look forward to seein gyou again soon!

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,171
    918
    233
    63
    21
See reviews for
655
996
95
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days helping my daughter & son-in-law relocate to homestead. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and in good condition. The staff & management were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent. There are several restaurants close by. The rates are a great deal!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your long stay - really the best way to enjoy all aspects of our hospitality. Thank you for your kind words and are glad to note that you liked your stay. Thanks for the recommendation.

Look forward to seeing you, your friends and family soon again.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlamar, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our third stay in the Travelodge in Florida City was very pleasant, again. They have been renovating most (?) rooms lately and we got a freshly made one, completely renovated with new wooden floors and tiles etc. All appliances worked fine, which is not the usual standard in other hotels in the same category. Management and staff are doing a good job there to feel you welcome. Breakfast room can get a bit crowded during "breakfast rush hour", but there is ample room outside (covered) and the waiting lines at the toaster and microwaves are always at a bearable level. Besides, you can grab everything you need and prepare in your big enough room. The pool is a great place for relaxing, this must be the warmest pool in Southern Florida ;-)

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be equally good, a noisy neighbor might spoil your night in any location... in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are here to please the guest - whether it is their first visit or umpteenth visit. We try to be consistent and we are running our business seriously; we do not claim to be perfect!

Thank you for your kind words and for being a such a loyal guest at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your quick return.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is not bad, rooms are very clean. Good service at check inn and fast free Wi Fi. The breakfast is ok,but the hot items (eggs, and sausage) are stored in a small refrigerator and you have to reheat them. Beds are ok,but our pillows were not very comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Very good rates if you use the AARP card, AAA rate is ok but not as good.
My one negative comments is that the numerous chairs and tables outside the rooms appear to encourage smokers to hang around and smoke outside their rooms. Unfortunately our neighboors were heavy smokers staying in a non-smoking room, so they spent a fair amount of time smoking outside their room. Our AC which was needed would bring in the smell and just walking to the car when they were smoking would be unpleasant. 
I understand that the management can not control customers that smoke outside their rooms, but I believe that the chairs and tables make it more comfortable for the smokers and it allows them to stay out smoking longer than they may do if they had to stand. It would be better to have a section of the hotel for the smokers rather than declaring all the rooms non-smoking.
I would return to this hotel, but I would probably check first for a place with no chair and tables outside in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. We are glad you liked our service overall; however, your concern about smokers is well taken and understood and like you say there is little we can do other than to ask you to call the front desk ahead of time and we will see how we can accomodate you. We have solved a lot of issues and concerns and we do not see a problem with this, if you call us ahead of time.

Hope to see you soon.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sonny and staff run a wonderful place. We stayed on our first trip to South Fl. Provide the perfect base for our motorcycle trip to the Keys. The room we had was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was more than I expected. Outside our room was like a Tropical garden complete with Tiki hut. Thanks again to Sonny and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review of your stay with us at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. We will share it with all our staff who are doing a wonderful job! They are and will always be recognised for they make me look good! Welcome to the family and hope to see you back soon again.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a place or one night this motel was excellent. It had one of the most comfortable beds (Queen Size) I had slept in for a long while. Made everything else seem sweet. Quick Internet, basic but OK breakfast. It was as expected save for the bed. Was very quiet.

Room Tip: Left hand, Queen size bed in 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your stay at the Travelodge Homestead-Florida City. Thank you also for your business and welcome to the family.

We have now converted over 70% of the rooms to 2 x Queen-size beds with Pillow Top mattresses for the comfort of the guests.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night as we were passing by the Everglades. The hotel is not far away from the park entrance, there is a parking and lots of restaurants around - mainly chain restaurants but very convenient so exactly what was needed!
There is also an outlet shopping center just around the corner where we went for an hour to benefit from all the bargains before going down to Key Largo.
The hotel is a simple motel with air-conditioning working properly, rooms are clean and breakfast is not amazing but you have what you need...
The big plus of this hotel is the staff... over friendly, super helpful with big smile on their faces and efficient. What you expect after a day walking around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppatel745, Owner at Florida City Travelodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your stay with us at the Travelodge Homestead-Flroida City. Word of mouth on the world wide web being the best form of advertsing, we would like to add you to our sales fleet. We shall no doubt share you comments about our staff with them!

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Please note that guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the number/addresses listed above the photo of Travelodge Homestead-Florida City above.

Sunny Patel
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida City Travelodge

Also Known As:
Florida City Travelodge Hotel
Florida City Travelodge Hotel Florida City
Travelodge Florida City
Travel Lodge Florida City
Florida City Travel Lodge
Address: 409 S E 1st Avenue, U S Highway #1, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Florida City Travelodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Florida City offers relaxing family holidays, superb getaways, and a quiet refuge for business trips. Whatever your needs, our hotel staff will do their best to make sure your stay with us is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Florida City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida City Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.