We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASTY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Florida City

Save Saved
You added Ramada Florida City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Florida City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 E Palm Drive, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    111
    76
    54
See reviews for
123
151
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We checked into the Ramada late in the evening and left fairly early the next day, the hotel was clean & comfortable for our overnight stay. The staff was very friendly & breakfast was delicious. Good place for a quick stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

At check in at Ramada Inn, the desk clerk was not very welcoming but nice enough. Upon entering the room, the sour musty smell was over powering. I got out of the shower and walked across the carpet and my feet were black, gross!! I never walk on carpet in a hotel room but the room looked clean.

We went out for the night and left our vehicle under a lit parking lot in front of a surveillance camera. Walked out side that morning and noticed a window broken out. I’ve always heard not to leave valuables in your room and not to leave them in your vehicle, what to do? There was not a safe in the room. Well, wrong pick and several items were stolen. Called the front desk to let them know we were robbed and asked them to call the police. The manager, Mercedes told us to call them. Went to the front desk and talked to the manager about looking at the surveillance camera. She said she could not let us look at, that we had to let the police view the tape.

Police arrived to review the tape and the manager did not have a password but said she would call the owner. The owner showed up and said he never received a call. We were told by the manager the owner was reviewing the tape. We spoke to the owner and he said the did not have the password. The manager denied she told us that. The end result is mysteriously, no one had a password but they would contact us when the tape was available. We knew there would never be anything come of this.

After talking to a couple other employees, they said nothing like this has never happened. We talked to the police department and was told this is an on going problem with this hotel and every time the police want to review the surveillance video, the same result, “They don’t have the password”. When talking to the owner and manager, we were told they never needed the password since this never happened before. We feel like we were lied to. Sure got the feeling like this was an inside job, like someone knew more about the thefts than led to believe.

We had problems entering our room. We talked to the manager, Mercedes. She basically snatched the key out of my hand and said lets go see and acting annoyed. She had the same problem and said guess she would have to have someone look at the lock.

We left the hotel and the next morning, realized we have left an expensive phone charger. Called the hotel around 7:30 AM and the same check-in clerk answered the phone. We asked if she could secure our phone charger. She was very nice and said no problem that when someone comes in, she will have them get it from the room. She confirmed that no one stayed in the room. Called around 9:30 and she still had no one dispatched to the room. Called again at 10:30 and she said she would send someone down. Thought this would be redeeming from the hotel. Received a call back and was told sorry, they did not find and charger and some one “did” rent the room. She was very cold and could care a less about anything. The maid comes in for b’fast and has plenty of down time so someone could have been dispatched to the room sooner.

So, don’t take the cheap way out and stay at Ramada Inn!!

At check in at Ramada Inn, the desk clerk was not very welcoming but nice enough. Upon entering the room, the sour musty smell was over powering. I got out of the shower and walked across the carpet and my feet were black, gross!! I never walk on carpet in a hotel room but the room looked clean.

We went out for the night and left our vehicle under a lit parking lot in front of a surveillance camera. Walked out side that morning and noticed a window broken out. I’ve always heard not to leave valuables in your room and not to leave them in your vehicle, what to do? There was not a safe in the room. Well, wrong pick and several items were stolen. Called the front desk to let them know we were robbed and asked them to call the police. The manager, Mercedes told us to call them. Went to the front desk and talked to the manager about looking at the surveillance camera. She said she could not let us look at, that we had to let the police view the tape.

Police arrived to review the tape and the manager did not have a password but said she would call the owner. The owner showed up and said he never received a call. We were told by the manager the owner was reviewing the tape. We spoke to the owner and he said the did not have the password. The manager denied she told us that. The end result is mysteriously, no one had a password but they would contact us when the tape was available. We knew there would never be anything come of this.

After talking to a couple other employees, they said nothing like this has never happened. We talked to the police department and was told this is an on going problem with this hotel and every time the police want to review the surveillance video, the same result, “They don’t have the password”. When talking to the owner and manager, we were told they never needed the password since this never happened before. We feel like we were lied to. Sure got the feeling like this was an inside job, like someone knew more about the thefts than led to believe.

We had problems entering our room. We talked to the manager, Mercedes. She basically snatched the key out of my hand and said lets go see and acting annoyed. She had the same problem and said guess she would have to have someone look at the lock.

We left the hotel and the next morning, realized we have left an expensive phone charger. Called the hotel around 7:30 AM and the same check-in clerk answered the phone. We asked if she could secure our phone charger. She was very nice and said no problem that when someone comes in, she will have them get it from the room. She confirmed that no one stayed in the room. Called around 9:30 and she still had no one dispatched to the room. Called again at 10:30 and she said she would send someone down. Thought this would be redeeming from the hotel. Received a call back and was told sorry, they did not find and charger and some one “did” rent the room. She was very cold and could care a less about anything. The maid comes in for b’fast and has plenty of down time so someone could have been dispatched to the room sooner.

So, don’t take the cheap way out and stay at Ramada Inn!!

Room Tip: Don't Choose One Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini K, Manager at Ramada Florida City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Angela and Richard Smith,

We sincerely apologize for what happened to you, Unfortunately you have become a victim in the incident that occur at our property, We do not have the best cameras even though soon we would be working in new ones and we would have high performance cameras to cover every corner of the property. We tried to cooperate with you because you couldn't get your car fixed that night, we took care of you for one night, and for the nights you needed, if you needed more than one and tried our best to help you out in many ways. Your review in TripAdvisor would harm us but we did our best within our control, and we believe our customer service was sufficient. These incidents can occur once in a while especially when valuable stuff are left in a car. We sincerely apologize.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I always stay in Homestead/Florida City on our way to Key West. Unfortunately, we have had many bad hotel experiences in the past. The Ramada Florida City is the best hotel experience we have had and will definitely stay there again. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the hotel was conveniently located for us. All that, and the room was well priced.

The negatives - the bed was not the most comfortable. Also, the pool was closed with an "out of order" sign while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini K, General Manager at Ramada Florida City, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you had a good stay with us and found good value in our hotel . We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Florida City area. . We apologize for the pool being closed due to the process of updating the pool. Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Florida City

Address: 124 E Palm Drive, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Florida City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Florida City Hotel Florida City
Florida City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.