We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Definitely the worst accommodation we stayed in during our 3-weeks vacation on the east coast!
There was a disgusting smell in our room and there were stains on our bed linen and on our towels. Only plus was the bathroom, which seemed to be newly renovated.
The owner is a strange guy, he didn't want to show us the room at first. After some discussions, he agreed that we can have a look at the room, but told us not to touch anything.
Finally we took the room because we were already tired of searching for another accommodation.
As we were just about to leave for lunch, we were sitting in our car and saw some guys entering our room (where we already put our stuff in!). I entered the room immediately and asked them what they were doing in there??!! They just replied that they are from the pest control and need to remove some bugs. This incident was quite strange.
Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    17
    14
    33
See reviews for
14
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We're to begin I came with my family n my mom n dad n my niece n nefew. We planned a great trip so we thought. Both our rooms were dirty n falling apart. We lost electricity in our room the second night there. The management is very rude. I mean rude do not let your kids in the pool you will get yelled at if they are swimming. We also rented a non smoking room so we went outside to smoke. We got yelled at for that he says no smoking outside. It does not say any were in room or outside that you cannot smoke. The next day after getting in trouble for kids swimming there was a dog in the pool. Yes I said dog in pool who was barking up a storm. We watched to see him yell at them but nope not a single thing said. In all the place sucks with there continental breakfast of old muffins n white toast. Do your self a savor and do not go there plenty of motels n hotels in that area

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived exhausted, but never stayed. Room was musty, AC didn't work & filter was filthy. There were no towels and toilet seat was not attached to toilet. There were swarms of mosquitos at pool and they were biting. While we were waiting for the maintenance man, found tick in bed. Manager gave us our money back but argued that the tick was a spider. He insisted everything had been sprayed two weeks previously and there could be no bugs in the room. He blamed the maid for not telling him of needed repairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hi,
despite all negative references, I must admit, they you get equivalent service what you pay. We paid almost 30 USD, and we got quite clean room, bathroom with clean towels, working WIFI.. on top there is pool in front of motel...
Only bad was breakfast, would be really great if they can improve it, not use plastic knifes, forks...
but for budget travelling, motel is fine. Location good, close from Everglades Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

These people gave is a poor excuse for the extremely high rate we paid for a Budget hotel... $158 w tax (more than 3 x the advertised rate). We were exhausted from driving so we stayed. Continental breakfast was white bread, coffee, and OJ. No coffee in rooms. And terrible climate control that was also extremely loud. We paid $30 more for a non-smoking than we would have paid for smoking room. Is that legal? This was the most we paid for a room anywhere in our two weeks in FL except for a great Inn in Key West that was so worth it. Budget Inn owners/managers should be ashamed of themselves. Don't get burned like we did. Oh yeah. Phone didn't work at all, so they said they'd replace it. Nope.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Even if YOU get a good rate, you are supporting serious predators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

recent remodel/refurbish evident, very clean, comfortable bed and well furnished. strong wifi signal and very nice shower flow with plenty of hot water. gave me decent price as walk up even tho it was "season". so what's not to like- toast and juice/coffee or breakfast, surrounded by south florida fruit stands and not a single piece of fruit nor was there any proteins and the towels were pretty chintzy too, so had to downgrade them, staff was very friendly and efficient
very convenient to everglades and keys

Room Tip: I had room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would like to share my positive experience about double charges fighting with this hotel. We were double charged from this hotel (see please review from my husband nikbaturin below). Moreover, through the trip adviser reviews we found that this this often practice of the hotel, we found at least three similar complaints. We contacted the hotel administration and got promise to investigate the situation and return the wrongful charge. DO NOT BELIEVE THEM; this is just wasting of time. They asked us wait for manager returning from important trip, evidence of double charges, credit card information … At the end we had fake confirmation of money return, and not a penny of real return.
Our advice:
We made this reservation with the help of Orbitz. We complained to Orbitz through Better Business Bureau and it worked immediately. After receiving evidences of double charges, Orbitz immediately returned wrongful charge with proper regrets.
On trip adviser we found a lot of complains about sanitation and dirt of this hotel. Of course, information on trip adviser is very helpful, but does not work directly and fast. The fastest way to make this hotel acceptable is to complain directly to Florida Division of Hotels and Restaurants licenses. www.MyFloridaLicense.com It is its responsibility to make management run this hotel not as a chip dirty barrack, but as a normal low-cost hotel. And it looks like that the hotel already had some problem with this Division and afraid a lot any repeats.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.