We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived exhausted, but never stayed. Room was musty, AC didn't work & filter was filthy. There were no towels and toilet seat was not attached to toilet. There were swarms of mosquitos at pool and they were biting. While we were waiting for the maintenance man, found tick in bed. Manager gave us our money back but argued that the tick was a spider. He insisted everything had been sprayed two weeks previously and there could be no bugs in the room. He blamed the maid for not telling him of needed repairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    17
    14
    33
See reviews for
14
40
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hi,
despite all negative references, I must admit, they you get equivalent service what you pay. We paid almost 30 USD, and we got quite clean room, bathroom with clean towels, working WIFI.. on top there is pool in front of motel...
Only bad was breakfast, would be really great if they can improve it, not use plastic knifes, forks...
but for budget travelling, motel is fine. Location good, close from Everglades Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

These people gave is a poor excuse for the extremely high rate we paid for a Budget hotel... $158 w tax (more than 3 x the advertised rate). We were exhausted from driving so we stayed. Continental breakfast was white bread, coffee, and OJ. No coffee in rooms. And terrible climate control that was also extremely loud. We paid $30 more for a non-smoking than we would have paid for smoking room. Is that legal? This was the most we paid for a room anywhere in our two weeks in FL except for a great Inn in Key West that was so worth it. Budget Inn owners/managers should be ashamed of themselves. Don't get burned like we did. Oh yeah. Phone didn't work at all, so they said they'd replace it. Nope.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Even if YOU get a good rate, you are supporting serious predators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

recent remodel/refurbish evident, very clean, comfortable bed and well furnished. strong wifi signal and very nice shower flow with plenty of hot water. gave me decent price as walk up even tho it was "season". so what's not to like- toast and juice/coffee or breakfast, surrounded by south florida fruit stands and not a single piece of fruit nor was there any proteins and the towels were pretty chintzy too, so had to downgrade them, staff was very friendly and efficient
very convenient to everglades and keys

Room Tip: I had room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would like to share my positive experience about double charges fighting with this hotel. We were double charged from this hotel (see please review from my husband nikbaturin below). Moreover, through the trip adviser reviews we found that this this often practice of the hotel, we found at least three similar complaints. We contacted the hotel administration and got promise to investigate the situation and return the wrongful charge. DO NOT BELIEVE THEM; this is just wasting of time. They asked us wait for manager returning from important trip, evidence of double charges, credit card information … At the end we had fake confirmation of money return, and not a penny of real return.
Our advice:
We made this reservation with the help of Orbitz. We complained to Orbitz through Better Business Bureau and it worked immediately. After receiving evidences of double charges, Orbitz immediately returned wrongful charge with proper regrets.
On trip adviser we found a lot of complains about sanitation and dirt of this hotel. Of course, information on trip adviser is very helpful, but does not work directly and fast. The fastest way to make this hotel acceptable is to complain directly to Florida Division of Hotels and Restaurants licenses. www.MyFloridaLicense.com It is its responsibility to make management run this hotel not as a chip dirty barrack, but as a normal low-cost hotel. And it looks like that the hotel already had some problem with this Division and afraid a lot any repeats.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I staid in this hotel for several days around New Year 2014. We picked up this one, because others were too expensive for us at this extremely high time. Unfortunately we spent more money, than we expected. We were charged twice for the same stay. Orbitz charged us at booking time, and hotel charged us separately.
We found this later. Communicated with Orbitz and hotel management. Management promised to investigate situation and return wrongful charge. Unfortunately it was wasting of time. They did not keep their own promises, and later just stopped responding.
Be aware of unappropriated business of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I paid for two nights and did not stay the second night. I would rather forgo the second prepaid night than stay another night in that unsafe, dirty motel. I am not kidding when the manager said, "I put you in room 102 where I can keep an eye on you." After that he handed me my labeled remote control with the appropriate room number taped upon the back. This place was so dirty that I would not remove my sandals due to the deep stains in the carpet. The doors to the bathroom were full of handprints, and the wall of the bathroom had been repaired and drywalled but had not been repainted. Throughout the night, I could hear homeless, pushing their shopping carts outside my door. Bottom line- unsafe, unsanitary and cheap!! Pay a few extra bucks and stay somewhere else. I am used staying at budget hotels/motels, but this motel tops my list of terrible places to sleep.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.