We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double charges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“double charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would like to share my positive experience about double charges fighting with this hotel. We were double charged from this hotel (see please review from my husband nikbaturin below). Moreover, through the trip adviser reviews we found that this this often practice of the hotel, we found at least three similar complaints. We contacted the hotel administration and got promise to investigate the situation and return the wrongful charge. DO NOT BELIEVE THEM; this is just wasting of time. They asked us wait for manager returning from important trip, evidence of double charges, credit card information … At the end we had fake confirmation of money return, and not a penny of real return.
Our advice:
We made this reservation with the help of Orbitz. We complained to Orbitz through Better Business Bureau and it worked immediately. After receiving evidences of double charges, Orbitz immediately returned wrongful charge with proper regrets.
On trip adviser we found a lot of complains about sanitation and dirt of this hotel. Of course, information on trip adviser is very helpful, but does not work directly and fast. The fastest way to make this hotel acceptable is to complain directly to Florida Division of Hotels and Restaurants licenses. www.MyFloridaLicense.com It is its responsibility to make management run this hotel not as a chip dirty barrack, but as a normal low-cost hotel. And it looks like that the hotel already had some problem with this Division and afraid a lot any repeats.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    16
    12
    32
See reviews for
14
37
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I staid in this hotel for several days around New Year 2014. We picked up this one, because others were too expensive for us at this extremely high time. Unfortunately we spent more money, than we expected. We were charged twice for the same stay. Orbitz charged us at booking time, and hotel charged us separately.
We found this later. Communicated with Orbitz and hotel management. Management promised to investigate situation and return wrongful charge. Unfortunately it was wasting of time. They did not keep their own promises, and later just stopped responding.
Be aware of unappropriated business of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I paid for two nights and did not stay the second night. I would rather forgo the second prepaid night than stay another night in that unsafe, dirty motel. I am not kidding when the manager said, "I put you in room 102 where I can keep an eye on you." After that he handed me my labeled remote control with the appropriate room number taped upon the back. This place was so dirty that I would not remove my sandals due to the deep stains in the carpet. The doors to the bathroom were full of handprints, and the wall of the bathroom had been repaired and drywalled but had not been repainted. Throughout the night, I could hear homeless, pushing their shopping carts outside my door. Bottom line- unsafe, unsanitary and cheap!! Pay a few extra bucks and stay somewhere else. I am used staying at budget hotels/motels, but this motel tops my list of terrible places to sleep.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Definitely for the budget conscious.
Rooms show their age but overall we were satisfied with our stay.
The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and personable.

Nothing special, but for one night it fit the bill. My partner and I agreed we would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Average in every way.
Clean, absolutely no bugs.
Comfortable bed.
Family owned.
I paid $50.84 (including taxes).
-----------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we entered the room it was incredibly hot in there and the smell was terrible! The bathroom was really nasty! We tried not to touch anything because it was really nasty... It is very cheap so we didn't expect much luxury, but for me the only thing important is higiene! And in this hotel it was difficult to find that... the bed was awfull aswell, we didn't sleep well! I think in this case it's better to spend a little more money and stay at a cleaner place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

So many bad things about this place where do I start.

1. I was double charged. The first night I paid for the whole four night stay with my credit card. The next day they charged my credit card again for the whole stay. I immediately went to the office and they said "sorry, our mistake," however, after two weeks and many phone calls I had to ask my credit card company to challenge the charge. The manager would not take phone calls and did not return phone calls. The staff kept saying it was their mistake but that the manager would not reverse the charges. He is a crook. I am very polite so he was just avoiding me. You have to wonder how many people get ripped off with this scam.

2. This is a very bad part of town. A prostitute approached my 15 year old son outside our room the first night and ran away when I confronted her.

3. The maintenance man left our door open after he removed some of the broken furniture in our room. Our door was wide open when we came back from our day trip. The staff said "sorry, but we are not responsible."

I really wanted to like this place because it is cheap and we just wanted a place to crash while we went to Key Largo to scuba dive each day, however, I recommend you stay away from this place. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.