We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay, this is cheap but I would recommend spending a few extra bucks for something better.

Bad area in town. Our room hadn't even been cleaned--had to get a new room. Dead roaches and ants everywhere, the towels feel like sandpaper, our sink faucet nearly came off because it's so loose, the shower barely works, the bedsheets had stains, etc.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    19
    15
    42
See reviews for
17
44
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel is in a seedy part of town. The breakfast is cheap white bread, and some cut up chocolate chip muffins from the day old store. Cheap coffee and some reconstituted juice. Not worth the trip to the office to get it. Bead was broken down and carpet dirty. No plug in bath tub for kids to take a bath, had to put a foam cup for a plug in tub. If money is the only concern than this may work for you, but for a few extra bucks your much better off staying some where else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

stayed there this weekend after going to key west because it was cheap and i didnt want to spend 300 in key west ! big mistake !!! so nice everything in key west, fantastic vibe and then this. no way to check in before 2 pm and then just a shabby surrounding in the middle of nowhere. like nevada in the 1940s :) but !!! a bestbuy just around the corner and i 95 so we could get away quickly out of this nightmare.
breakfast only until 930 !!!!!!!!! what is this ? a correctional facility ?
it is called redlands but i would suggest redneck lands. homestead and florida city were terrible places even to drive thru. brrrrrrrrrr
hotel from the 1950s, slightly modernized with a 32 inch and hbo :) great !
big rooms, soooooo dark or you open the curtains and no privacy. ac working and clean sheets.
they had a pool ! did not see any corpses floating inside. (just to get the hotel's atmosphere:)
not worth more than 45 bucks what we paid so okay.
will take a hotel in key west next time !
that happens when you are too cheap and pay online for a shelter like this without refund:)
when you are o a budget it is acceptable .
when you are cheap it is an awful mistake :)))

Room Tip: get the super 8 at least on the other side of the road or even better get a room in a different city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Place is old and and not relay being updated. Our room was not too (broken furniture) but fairly clean (the main thing for me). Upon check in the staff was rude, could not bother to even hang-up the phone when he was talking to his friend in Indian. By the way he was talking, it was clear was not on a customer call.

Location is good, as I was doing a trip to the National Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I don't like to run anywhere down but stayed here for one night on our journey to the Everglades and Naples and was very, very disappointed. I expected it to be clean at the least -it wasn't and in the corner of the bathroom were hairs not hoovered up, the bed smelt of cats and the breakfast was very basic - white bread toasted and coffee - no complaints there but it could all have looked much more inviting. I would urge the owner to give attention to providing a CLEAN environment and then would have no complaint as it was the cheapest place we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'll looked for a cheap stay near the Keys and the Everglades and chose Budget Host Inn. The room itself was clean but bathrooms could need new fittings. Bed clothes and towels could also be cleaner. One towel had holes in it. All in all it was OK but it could be a bit cleaner. If you're looking for a cheap stay near Everglades National Park and you're not looking for 5 Stars this could be your chose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Clean and spacious rooms. Good service and very poor breakfast. Do not take food from breakfast. High-speed Internet. A good starting point for Key West, where it is expensive. We spent two nights here. The advantages also include a gas station and close to the supermarket, where it is cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 815 N. Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Rodeway)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.