We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dirty Floors” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 SE 1st Avenue, US Hwy #1, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Dirty Floors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family stayed at the Quality Inn, Florida City for two nights this past week. We had previously been staying north of Fort Lauderdale and chose Florida City because of its proximity to both Key Largo and The Everglades National Park. Let me start with some positives. My family really enjoyed the warm outdoor pool! We also enjoyed the outdoor eating area for breakfast. Much of our hotel room was clean. Now for the one problem. The carpeted floor in our hotel room was very dirty. We realized this when out daughter took off her flip flops and her feet quickly became black. I had just taken off my sandals and realized my feet were turning black as well. When we alerted the front desk of this problem they switched us into a different room. Unfortunately the floor in our new room was just as dirty. Not wanting to complain again we stayed in the room and wore flip flops. The next day I talked to a manager who said there was nothing they could do about this problem. He did not know of any available rooms that he knew would have cleaner floors. Finally, upon checking out on our last morning I asked to talk to a manager again to explain the problem. He was glad I had alerted him of this issue and said he would be trying to find out who was responsible. We did not ask for a discount on what we had paid and were not offered one.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    70
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
86
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
695 reviews 695 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I took a group of 130 British students there this past week and the location was ideal. The rooms were very spacious with all amenities and very clean. The hotel staff was very helpful especially Archie, Lleana and Lee from the Front desk who went above and beyond for my group. Only negative aspect was that they did not want the kids to make too much noise while at the pool before 10 pm!? I had 130 students, kinda hard to keep them from not having fun and not enjoying themselves especially when it is 9pm?

But regardless of that, the breakfast was just fine and if you do not like the breakfast, there is a McDonalds and a Dennys walking distance from the hotel. The place also has Free WiFi which we gladly enjoyed. Thank you to Sunny and his staff for a great few days in South Florida!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Quality Inn, Florida City, FL, for two nights on a last minute trip into Fort Lauderdale and exploring through the Florida Keys. This is the second hotel we stayed in on our trip; we wanted to be closer to the Keys, since finding a hotel on the Keys, at a decent rate was almost impossible for our last minute notice of the trip. Florida City is practically right at the top of the Keys, so this location was ideal for our traveling plans.

The 3pm-11pm staff was very informative and had good customer service skills. We were informed that the hotel had recently gone through a renovation and it was obvious which updated changes were made, it looked much more contemporary. The hotel was an older style and older building in which you had to exit the lobby, climb a flight of stairs outside then enter your room. The corridors were not enclosed but in Florida, what does that really matter? It actually added nice, nostalgic kind-of charm. The only issue we had with the corridors not being enclosed was that if we didn't bolt the guestroom door, the wind could shake our door a bit. The room was decent, updated but still an old style of hotel room. The accent wall was lime green; it added a tropical feel to the room, but not my taste. The head boards where contemporary but white so they showed dirt marks, not many and I assume maybe the ones we saw weren’t ever going to come out. We did find some white powdery substance behind the night stand when looking for a plug to put our phone charger into. We assumed it was dry wall shavings from the renovation or an addition of some sort, but obviously didn't explore the substance. This minimal cleaning issue did not affect our stay or good night’s rest at all, behind a night stand is an easy area to miss when cleaning.

The hotel offered a nice size pool, a outdoor patio with a tropical palm covering. The Breakfast was good, a nice variety. Overall, the room was clean, comfortable and we had a good stay. The best part of the entire stay was the Navigator employee, who was very friendly when we checked out. We would recommend this hotel to others staying in the Florida City area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, as no one is above you. Always check under the mattresses, you never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a detailed review! One thing we would like to point out is that you missed the fact that we have a separate building with interior corridor and you can read about it below. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your business and thanks for advertising with us. We look forward to your quick return.

At Quality Inn Florida City, please enquire about any one of the 40 larger-than-standard rooms (350 sq ft /33 sq meters) that can accommodate up to 4 people; Rooms with:

(a) 2 KING BEDS
(b) KING WITH SLEEPER SOFA
(d) 2 QUEEN BEDS

all in a building which has an INTERIOR CORRIDOR.

Please also note that (i) our swimming pool is NOW HEATED (ii) our breakfast hours of 6 am-to 10 am are probably the longest in the area (iii) our breakfast area is the largest space in the area: inside and a large tiki-hut area outside (pleasant for current weather) (iv) this is the same management as that of Travelodge next door, so you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.


Archie Jeffers / Sunny Patel
Joint GMs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi, I am sharing my good experience in the great hotel..i am happy costumer,about my good experience on the Quality inn in Florida City.its was excellent services in everythings. The personal in the hotel is very friendly and honestly people.that one is very important for me.

Room Tip: the room is very quiet,i like so much,because we are in front to the parking lot and every stuff sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a kind review of your stay at the Quality Inn Florida City. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and for the award of 5 greens out of 5. We cannot ask for more other than to ask you, your friends, family and readers of this review to return next time you are in the area. Look forward to the same.


At Quality Inn Florida City, please enquire about any one of the 40 larger-than-standard rooms (350 sq ft /33 sq meters) that can accommodate up to 4 people; Rooms with:

(a) 2 KING BEDS
(b) KING WITH SLEEPER SOFA
(d) 2 QUEEN BEDS

all in a building which has an INTERIOR CORRIDOR.

Please also note that (i) our swimming pool is NOW HEATED (ii) our breakfast hours of 6 am-to 10 am are probably the longest in the area (iii) our breakfast area is the largest space in the area: inside and a large tiki-hut area outside (pleasant for current weather) (iv) this is the same management as that of Travelodge next door, so you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.


Archie Jeffers / Sunny Patel
Joint GMs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI Canda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel proces in the Keys seemed high so we decided to stay in Florida City and commute. We booked on Priceline. The hotel had a sign saying they were the #1 trip advisor hotel in Florida City. This may be true but when there are retractable bars for the windows, the area in general does not seem safe. Maybe the bars make it safer, but I still wood not stay there again. The next hotel over had the same bars. The first room they offered us was under stairs next to an allyway from one side of the hotel to the other. There were rooms in the allyway.At our request they did move us to a second floor room near the front, but the hotel was average at best, not one I would recommend to friends. There was a good breakfast We stayed a couple of days later in Fort Lauderdale and for about the same price got a modern clean hotel on the beach that was 10 times better. We talked to another guest at the Quality Inn who had left the Key Largo area and had not faired out any better there. Pay a little more and move out onto the keys, pay a little more and be particular.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back. There are good washers and driers in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The retractable windows are really none other than the "accordion-type" hurricane shutters, which are mandated by the county owing to the fact that we are in a hurricane-prone area. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the price-value ratio, but we wish you had asked for accommodation in our interior-corridor building which offers much more (as you can read below). We hope you will give us another chance to really prove our worth next time you are in the area.


At Quality Inn Florida City, please enquire about any one of the 40 larger-than-standard rooms (350 sq ft /33 sq meters) that can accommodate up to 4 people; Rooms with:

(a) 2 KING BEDS
(b) KING WITH SLEEPER SOFA
(d) 2 QUEEN BEDS

all in a building which has an INTERIOR CORRIDOR.

Please also note that (i) our swimming pool is NOW HEATED (ii) our breakfast hours of 6 am-to 10 am are probably the longest in the area (iii) our breakfast area is the largest space in the area: inside and a large tiki-hut area outside (pleasant for current weather) (iv) this is the same management as that of Travelodge next door, so you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.


Archie Jeffers / Sunny Patel
Joint GMs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had had an overnight flight from Buenos Aires and arrived at the hotel at 1000am to early for check in we thought. Jessica the receptionist went out of her way to get a room clean for us and we were fully ensconced in our room before 1100am!!!!!! The staff were so helpful at this hotel, breakfast was excellent. Wi fi one of the best we have ever had. Would thoroughly recommend at stay here, we had eight days and everyone a cracker.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for staying with us as long as you did - 8 days...the best way to enjoy and test all the aspects of our hospitality. Thanks also for taking time to post such a kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will make this your home away from home every time you are in the area. Look forward to it.


At Quality Inn Florida City, please enquire about any one of the 40 larger-than-standard rooms (350 sq ft /33 sq meters) that can accommodate up to 4 people; Rooms with:

(a) 2 KING BEDS
(b) KING WITH SLEEPER SOFA
(d) 2 QUEEN BEDS

all in a building which has an INTERIOR CORRIDOR.

Please also note that (i) our swimming pool is NOW HEATED (ii) our breakfast hours of 6 am-to 10 am are probably the longest in the area (iii) our breakfast area is the largest space in the area: inside and a large tiki-hut area outside (pleasant for current weather) (iv) this is the same management as that of Travelodge next door, so you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.


Archie Jeffers / Sunny Patel
Joint GMs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a little surprised with this hotel because I did not feel it was quite up to par after reading the reviews and it being rated number 1 on trip advisor. It was a bit pricey for a QI. However, it. Must go with the territory because hotels in the keys were much higher and several in Florida city were not available so I understand that. The room was just ok, a standard hotel room. Was clean but dated. Bathroom needed painting, carpet had stains, wifi just ok. No elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs if not on ground floor. Close to several restaurants and a service station next door, a small outlet mall close by.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny P, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a constructive review of your stay with us at Quality Inn Florida City. Admittedly, there are a few rooms ( maybe 10 or so) that have not been COMPLETELY renovated and you may have got one of them. It is a busy season , and again , we must say that prices tend to be higher in this period than any other. We are glad that you liked the cleanliness; yes, we do not have an elevator, being that it is a 2 story building but if only you had asked the front desk to help they would have sent somebody to do so. we have a person looking after such needs in the evening. We hope you will return and we will be able to serve you to your utmost satisfaction as we are continuously improving.

At Quality Inn Florida City, please enquire about any one of the 40 larger-than-standard rooms (350 sq ft /33 sq meters) that can accommodate up to 4 people; Rooms with:

(a) 2 KING BEDS
(b) KING WITH SLEEPER SOFA
(d) 2 QUEEN BEDS

all in a building which has an INTERIOR CORRIDOR.

Please also note that (i) our swimming pool is NOW HEATED (ii) our breakfast hours of 6 am-to 10 am are probably the longest in the area (iii) our breakfast area is the largest space in the area: inside and a large tiki-hut area outside (pleasant for current weather) (iv) this is the same management as that of Travelodge next door, so you can expect similar excellence in Customer Service and Hotel Operations.


Archie Jeffers / Sunny Patel
Joint GMs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 333 SE 1st Avenue, US Hwy #1, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florida City
#2 Family Hotel in Florida City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#2 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Florida City
Comfort Inn Florida City
Florida City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.