We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a night but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Inn Florida City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairway Inn Florida City to your Saves list
Fairway Inn Florida City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   100 SE 1st Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates starting at $59!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good enough for a night but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here one night when our reserved hotel room was unavailable and it was all right. The beds were rather hard and had plastic covers over the mattress, which lessened the comfort level even more. I think the room had been renovated recently and was clean. The only real problem was the breakfast.... The eating area is very small and I believe they offered only white toast and two types of cereal. It was very crowded when we were there. No one seemed to be in charge of cleaning the area and it was a mess. They did have frosted flakes, which I admit I really like, so it was enough for us. This area of motels and fast food restaurants is just about what you expect- all right for an overnight stay but not great.

Room Tip: Seems to be a busy area so a room on the second floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, General Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our Fairway Inn. Our goal is to make our guests comfortable by offering an affordable and clean place to stay on their visit to our area. Your comments will be used to improve the areas you have mentioned. We look forward to you making this your stop in the years to come.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    242
    116
    28
    27
See reviews for
155
216
43
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monona, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For the price the value was fine. Room was clean, carpeting new and clean, sheets rough, breakfast did not look appealing. The problem was a total lack of concern for the customer. We arrived at 8 pm after a day of traveling that started at 5 am. It took one and a half hours to check us in... they had a confirmed reservation and we had paid in advance. However, on piece of paper was not in their folio for us and so they would not give us keys and let us go to our rooms while they sorted it out which they finally did at 9:30 pm. We asked if we could go to our rooms and come back when they had all of the paper work and were told, "That's not the way we do it here." The real kicker was when we finally got our keys one clerk said, "We like to think we are real effecient." They couldn't send someone to fix the TV and the internet server kept going off line and was very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Please accept our apology for your wait upon check-in. Unfortunately reservations sometimes get lost in the system and our front desk staff is at the mercy of the reservation company to get the information that is required to process your check-in. The staff has been made aware of the importance of being courteous at all times. Thank you for bringing this to our attention with your comments.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierstein
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the quickest Check-In and out at this hotel which is my gateway to the keys. You can park in front of your room and feel like you are in a Road Movie. The only thing I would not do in this hotel to walk with bare feet over the carpet :) But the rest of the room was nice and clean and there was even a safe in the room. You find many restaurants like Burger King etc. nearby the hotel. Fairway Inn is the best choice to stay for one night and go then all the way down to Key West. And last but not least the Fairway Inn was not expensive at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Fairway Inn. We are in a perfect location for our guests to take a day trip to the Florida Keys, Everglades National Park or Biscayne National Park. Hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the Fairway Inn for one night just before New Year's on my way to Key west. Check in and out went easy. Plenty of places to eat close by. Clean establishment. Didn't use the pool or partake of the breakfast so I cannot comment on those. Once again I made my reservations on line (Hotels.com) and I got a somewhat better rate than just showing up. Even though the facility was full there was not much noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We appreciate your comments on our Fairway Inn. Our staff has been working hard to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay with us. There are many things to do in our area such as visiting the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Coral Castle and you can take a day trip to the beautiful Florida Keys. We look forward to having you as a guest again.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel while visiting the Everglades on our trip to the Keys. Our room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the pool was too cold to swim in. The room had a fridge, microwave & coffee maker. Lots of free parking and close to restaurants and easy access to the Highway. The free continental breakfast was pretty minimal so I'd recommend planning to eat breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: This is a large complex of typical motel-style two level buildings. Despite being near highway 1, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We appreciate you commenting on our Fairway Inn. Our staff is working hard to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay. Our location is close to the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Homestead-Miami Speedway and close enough to the beautiful Florida Keys to take a day trip to. Keep us in mind for your next visit to our area.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Booked two rooms for 2 person each for 5 nights at good price.

Room was big and no weird smell at all. has iron and board and a safe.

Office staff were helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. sheets are clean and changed when necessary per room service discretion (mine was changed on the 3rd day after 2-day use) actually the cleanest among it's kind. I mean for all the 2-star hotels I've stayed at.

Mattress was old an soft. very uncomfortable. Internet is a joke. it's on and off by second. i just gave up and went buy a drink at the Starbucks in walking distance to use their internet when I needed.

Continental breakfast is provided in the tiny area in the lobby. Often times it's too crowed and out of milk or orange juice. I'm not very picky. i ate breakfasts provided by hotels all the time. but this time, the muffins and sweet stuff... i just can't swallow them. cheapest in the store.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on our Fairway Inn. We are working on getting the WI-FI up to speed and we do see improvement there. The beds are being changed out so our guests can get a good nights rest on their stay with us. We use your comments to make our motel the place you want to stay while visiting our area. Our staff appreciates your feedback.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I had the worst experience during my short stay here . I was initially given a room which had no water in the shower , the water in the wash basin was blocked . I tried calling up the reception and the phone was not working . In short the room was real bad .

I called up the reception from my phone. And when I complained about this the lady was pretty rude and told that the person would be available only next day then finally got another room alloted . There were no apologies and she mentioned it is not her duty to keep the room clean. I had never stayed in fairway inn before this and never will .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered while staying at our Fairway Inn. The staff has been advised how they were perceived when you presented your problems to them. Your comments help us to improve all of our departments. Thank you for taking your time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Inn Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Inn Florida City

Address: 100 SE 1st Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairway Inn Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairway Inn is conveniently located at the gateway to the Florida Keys and Everglades National Park, 5 miles from the Homestead-Miami Speedway, 25 miles from John Pennekamp State Park, 22 miles from Key Largo, and 30 miles from Downtown Miami. Free high speed wireless internet, complimentary breakfast, and free parking are included with each stay. All 160 rooms at Fairway Inn have individually controlled air-conditioning, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, laptop safe and toiletries. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool with waterfall and free business center with PC and printer. Our friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient location, and budget friendly prices should make Fairway Inn your lodging destination of choice in sunny South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Inn Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Florida City
Fairway Motel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Inn Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.