We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average, moderate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Inn Florida City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Inn Florida City to your Saves list
Fairway Inn Florida City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   100 SE 1st Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates starting at $59!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An average, moderate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel while visiting the Everglades on our trip to the Keys. Our room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the pool was too cold to swim in. The room had a fridge, microwave & coffee maker. Lots of free parking and close to restaurants and easy access to the Highway. The free continental breakfast was pretty minimal so I'd recommend planning to eat breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: This is a large complex of typical motel-style two level buildings. Despite being near highway 1, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We appreciate you commenting on our Fairway Inn. Our staff is working hard to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay. Our location is close to the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Homestead-Miami Speedway and close enough to the beautiful Florida Keys to take a day trip to. Keep us in mind for your next visit to our area.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    278
    122
    30
    27
See reviews for
177
234
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Booked two rooms for 2 person each for 5 nights at good price.

Room was big and no weird smell at all. has iron and board and a safe.

Office staff were helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. sheets are clean and changed when necessary per room service discretion (mine was changed on the 3rd day after 2-day use) actually the cleanest among it's kind. I mean for all the 2-star hotels I've stayed at.

Mattress was old an soft. very uncomfortable. Internet is a joke. it's on and off by second. i just gave up and went buy a drink at the Starbucks in walking distance to use their internet when I needed.

Continental breakfast is provided in the tiny area in the lobby. Often times it's too crowed and out of milk or orange juice. I'm not very picky. i ate breakfasts provided by hotels all the time. but this time, the muffins and sweet stuff... i just can't swallow them. cheapest in the store.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on our Fairway Inn. We are working on getting the WI-FI up to speed and we do see improvement there. The beds are being changed out so our guests can get a good nights rest on their stay with us. We use your comments to make our motel the place you want to stay while visiting our area. Our staff appreciates your feedback.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I had the worst experience during my short stay here . I was initially given a room which had no water in the shower , the water in the wash basin was blocked . I tried calling up the reception and the phone was not working . In short the room was real bad .

I called up the reception from my phone. And when I complained about this the lady was pretty rude and told that the person would be available only next day then finally got another room alloted . There were no apologies and she mentioned it is not her duty to keep the room clean. I had never stayed in fairway inn before this and never will .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered while staying at our Fairway Inn. The staff has been advised how they were perceived when you presented your problems to them. Your comments help us to improve all of our departments. Thank you for taking your time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very impressed at the cleanliness of the bathroom, PURE WHITE! A-ma-zing! It really stood out the best. Comfy room, bed was nicely sized. TV and mircowave was available witha regfridgerator. Wifi worked properly, no delays. Pool area was nice, chairs and tables could use.a thorough srcub down. Nothing bad to say exept There was no closet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to comment about our Fairway Inn. Our goal is for our guests to become repeat visitors. We offer a comfortable place to stay while you enjoy our area. We have so many things to do such as Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Coral Castle, Everglades Alligator Farm and the Florida Keys are close enough to make a day trip to. Again thank you for your comments.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bad news or good news first?
The bad news...... The room was dirty and shabby,we had to unplug the fridge it was so noisy, but that was nothing compared to the air con! It was like a jet engine in the room on the lowest setting. I had to buy ear plugs or I would not have slept at all. It was hard enough to sleep anyway, the pillows were old small lumpy cushions shoved into large pillow cases. There were blood stains on one of them and all were dirty looking. The thing on the bed that was supposed to be a blanket was stained and made of a strange foam rubber material. One day the room was not made up at all.......The receptionist was not helpful or friendly. The so called breakfast was so cheap and basic it was not worth having. You would only stay here if couldn't find anywhere else.
The good news....... good location for the Everglades National Park. That is the only positive comment I can make.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Please accept our apologies. All the issues you experienced at our Fairway Inn should have been resolved by our front desk staff. These comments have been brought to their attention and solutions have been recommended to them. Thank you for taking your time to comment.


John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Wallop, Hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you like to be treated like an inconvenience when you check in, you enjoy blood specked bedding and pillows made of lumpy old cushions stuffed into pillow cases, you don't mind coming in late in the evening to find your room hasn't been serviced and there's dirt everywhere you look, you like a fridge that sounds like a helicopter and aircon that sounds like a jet engine on its lowest setting, your room phone doesn't work and some plug sockets are barely attached to the wall, you relish breakfasts that have the nutritional value of a brick, you are happy to be fobbed off with lies when you complain, then this is the place for you. Do yourself a favour and avoid this tip like the plague because that's what you're likely to end up with. When I asked for a partial refund because my room wasn't made up the woman at reception told me a bare faced lie. She said nothing could be done until the manager arrived, which would be well after I checked out. Could she not have phoned the manager? This filthy dump is a disgrace to a great country like the USA.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Please accept our apology for all the problems you encountered at our motel. None of these things are acceptable and all departments will be given a copy of this review to help them realize the importance of good customer service. We want our guests to have a pleasant stay when they are here. Your comments are appreciated. Thank you for taking your time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I can't believe that anyone would say that this is a nice hotel. We booked for 3 nights during the NASCAR race. When we walked into the room the smell was very musky. Needless to say I lit a candle and let it burn the entire length of our stay. When we checked in we were offered extra nights for 149.00 because they still had vacancies. When asked if they would adjust the rates for the booked nights we were told no. If it weren't for the races I definitely would have left. To be honest the room is not worth staying in for free much less 200.00/night. They do not provide free wireless Internet (that is a lie). We only had two towels in the room and they did not have any to give us. I had to go to Walmart and buy my own towels ( at least they were nicer). The furniture is falling apart, the light above the vanity was dripping water (not sure where it was coming from) the side table lamp was rusted. And lastly, they do not provide in room coffee, iron, iron board, or hair dryers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJTaylor50, Manager at Fairway Inn Florida City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on our Fairway Inn. The issues you had should have been resolved by our front desk staff. We have housekeeping and maintenace personnel available during the daytime to assist our front desk. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Inn Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Inn Florida City

Address: 100 SE 1st Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florida City
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairway Inn Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairway Inn is conveniently located at the gateway to the Florida Keys and Everglades National Park, 5 miles from the Homestead-Miami Speedway, 25 miles from John Pennekamp State Park, 22 miles from Key Largo, and 30 miles from Downtown Miami. Free high speed wireless internet, complimentary breakfast, and free parking are included with each stay. All 160 rooms at Fairway Inn have individually controlled air-conditioning, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, laptop safe and toiletries. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool with waterfall and free business center with PC and printer. Our friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient location, and budget friendly prices should make Fairway Inn your lodging destination of choice in sunny South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Inn Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Florida City
Fairway Motel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Inn Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.