We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy, but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert is Here

Robert is Here
19200 Palm Dr., [S.W. 344th St.], Florida City, FL 33034
(305) 246-1592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Touristy, but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

they have great fruit milkshakes and interesting produce. A bit pricy, but you see produce that you don't see everywhere else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Get a milkshake. I had strawberry key lime which was very good. One of the kids gave up a taste of their mango milkshake. I'm sure whatever flavor you can't go wrong.

No artificially flavored syrup in these shakes! Flavored with fresh fruit!

Also we had a mango cut up for us by the young ladies at the counter. Wow... Sweet... Fresh... Juicy... Good!

Browse the animal park in the back while you spoon and eat your milkshake.

My only regret was not buying some honey. Make sure you find the honey testing station. Try the tangerine honey.

Helpful?
Thank Drive24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Finally went here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have lived in the Homestead area for over 8 years. I have always heard of this place but never actually went. I finally drove over there yesterday and was pleasantly surprised. It was a Friday, around noon, and yet the place was packed. They had lots of local produce, so I picked up a bag of locally-grown corn on the cob, a couple of beefsteak tomatoes and an avocado. Selection was huge, prices were a little steep, but it's nice to know I am supporting local farmers instead of buying stuff that was grown in Peru or California. Two small gripes: I could not find a single ripe avocado. They had tons of them, but they were all hard, and needed a few days to ripen. I was hoping to make guacamole last night, but it didn't happen. Also, Robert ("The" Robert) checked me out. He was polite enough but was more interested in hollering over the microphone that he needed more cilantro than quickly checking me out and letting me get out of there. It was a typical summer day in Homestead; very hot with tons of big fans blowing the hot air around. Overall I am sorry I waited so long to go, and will be back only because I love (and support) locally-grown produce. I didn't buy a milkshake -- that's not why went! P.S. Not sure why this place is listed as a "restaurant". It's a produce stand.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timbolester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must Visit Local Stop in Florida City- be sure to get a shake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a family run fruit and vegtable stand with a shake shop attached. More varities of ANYthing and EVERYthing than you have ever seen The friendly staff is always happt to let you try a taste of an unfamiliar item. The shakes come in 40+++ flavors and really hit the spot on a hot day.

Its just 10 minutes west of Route 1 - well worth a detour if you are visiting the Keys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allerton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
“Right place, right time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Perfect place to stop on the way to Everglades National park or the Alligator Farm. Buy a mango, they'll even cut it up for you. Great alternative to fast food. Not really a restaurant, but you can buy enough fruit, chips, bread, etc. to make a meal of it and eat outside on the strategically placed picnic tables.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert is Here also viewed

 

Been to Robert is Here? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing