We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
33505 South Dixie Highway, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
305-245-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had chosen the restaurant because of the good reviews and we did not regret it. The service was very good and the beef brisket we had were very delicious. With the two sides included with our dinner there was no chance trying the desert. Maybe next time?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kanada12, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ and service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    59
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Descent BBQ in Florida City.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Probably the only place for decent BBQ in Florida City. When I am in the mood for BBQ, I stop by and have some beef brisket. I've had better, just not in Florida City. The coleslaw and garlic bread are good as well. Like the 4 or 5 different sauces they offer.
Overall, would recommend but remember it's a chain and it's not in Texas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Shaun P, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our beef brisket meal. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good Bar-B-Q at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I tried Sonny's last night. We had previous experiences with other bar-b-q restaurants that were not good. Sonny's is good. We both had the baby back ribs. A large portion not drowned in sauce. Two large side dishes and corn bread come with the meal. A number of choices as your side dishes. All was very good. They also had a nice looking salad bar which we didn't try. Will certainly go back again when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Greekmermaid13, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our baby back ribs meal. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were looking forward to the "Real Pit BarBQ" experience; visions of smoky, saucy brisket, ribs, etc. What we did experience was basic strip mall cuisine; service was fine, food arrived quickly but didn't look anything like we expected. My husband ordered the beef brisket - several slices of, yes, tender brisket but just the beef plunked on a plate - where was the steaming hot delectable sauce with the falling apart tender beef? Yes, there was a selection of sauces at the table, but they are room temp and the idea of squirting whatever sauce onto the brisket was not appealing. My smoked turkey breast came the same way, not hot and quite dry. I did try a couple of the sauces but it didn't really improve the dish. The side dishes were acceptable, but each comes on their own plate!The cost including 2 lovely cold beers was $36. Need to try another "Pit BarBQ" restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Frenchtravellers77, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was not up to expectations. Please let us help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details, including the location, so that we can address the issues you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us a chance to make things right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very good bar-be-que”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first encounter with Sonny's Real Bar-B-Q. We were looking for a change from fried fish. The bar-be-que was really good. I had the ribs and chicken, which were well cooked but not over spiced. There was a variety of sauces on the table to accent the meats. The sauces ranged from sweet to spicy. With my meal, I was entitled to two sides. I chose corn on the cob and a baked potato. The corn was out of season and unacceptable. The potato was fine. Of particular note was the corn bread - which was out of this world and to me it was worth the price of the meal. We also had a "Redneck Eggroll" - which was 'wicked good' almost illegally so. This appetizer is a must try but know it is a calorie laden burst of goodness. My wife enjoyed her salad with chicken. The total cost of our meal with two soft drinks totaled $34.00. I'd go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Woodmister, thanks for leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your first visit with us! Sounds like you really got to experience what we have to offer on our menu. We look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.