We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
33505 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
(305) 245-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 restaurants in Florida City
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Homestead, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sonny's has one of the best salad bars in the area. BBQ is very good on chicken and pulled pork.
Also recommend the Black Angus Hamburgers and Cheese Burgers.

Family friendly and affordable. The also have beer, wine and full liquor serves. Atmosphere is Country Casual.

Very popular with locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
WKLG, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy the salad bar and our Black Angus Hamburger. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    49
    34
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

it great place to eat because the lunch time menue and evening menue is great choice would eat there again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, Vinetta. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the lunch and dinner service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sonny's is the Best. What a deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We picked up a little card at our hotel that advertised a $5.99 special that included drink and everything. The girl at the front desk was also high on this place so we thought we would give it a try. We had eaten at Cracker Barrel the night before for the first time and fealt terrible later because the food was so greasy. We were happy to see a very nice salad bar and so many healthy choices. I decided to get the salad bar with my entrée and a side of steamed broccoli that was very good. My friend had the special, with a baked potato, that he said was the best he had ever had. It was amazing how easily it came out of its skin. This place was very clean and busy and our bill was less than what we spent at Wendy's for lunch. The location was great too. After dinner we were able to walk over to Walmart and buy a few things for our trip to the Keys. We'll stop by here again on our way back up. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Michelle V! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ special and experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sonny's in Florida City is a very good place to eat. I really cant believe they can offer so much at such a great price. I picked up a menu at the Gator Farm when we visited and were encouraged by one of the workers there to give it a try. They advertise a $5.99 special on the brochure we found but decided on different things when we arrived. I had the all-u-can- eat ribs, which were fantastic, and my wife had the salad bar and added a chicken breast for a couple dollars more. This was our best meal, for the money, I think we ever had. The service was as good as any you'll receive at one of those fancy places, without the attitude and hand out for a big tip. I was really happy by our decision and we will be coming back many times in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Williamr, thank you for the kind words. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good BBQ at a Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have frequented this restaurant on many occasions but have never reviewed it. It was a spur of the moment decision to visit and I was not disappointed. I had the BBQ Chicken Sandwich on garlic bread with baked beans. I add the salad bar to my order as well. The chicken was so tender and juicy, garlic bread toasted just enough, baked beans sweet and what can I say about the salad bar - lots and lots of items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.