We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
33505 South Dixie Highway, Florida City, FL 33034 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
305-245-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sonny's has one of the best salad bars in the area. BBQ is very good on chicken and pulled pork.
Also recommend the Black Angus Hamburgers and Cheese Burgers.

Family friendly and affordable. The also have beer, wine and full liquor serves. Atmosphere is Country Casual.

Very popular with locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
WKLG, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy the salad bar and our Black Angus Hamburger. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    75
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

it great place to eat because the lunch time menue and evening menue is great choice would eat there again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, Vinetta. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the lunch and dinner service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sonny's is the Best. What a deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We picked up a little card at our hotel that advertised a $5.99 special that included drink and everything. The girl at the front desk was also high on this place so we thought we would give it a try. We had eaten at Cracker Barrel the night before for the first time and fealt terrible later because the food was so greasy. We were happy to see a very nice salad bar and so many healthy choices. I decided to get the salad bar with my entrée and a side of steamed broccoli that was very good. My friend had the special, with a baked potato, that he said was the best he had ever had. It was amazing how easily it came out of its skin. This place was very clean and busy and our bill was less than what we spent at Wendy's for lunch. The location was great too. After dinner we were able to walk over to Walmart and buy a few things for our trip to the Keys. We'll stop by here again on our way back up. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Michelle V! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ special and experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to South Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sonny's in Florida City is a very good place to eat. I really cant believe they can offer so much at such a great price. I picked up a menu at the Gator Farm when we visited and were encouraged by one of the workers there to give it a try. They advertise a $5.99 special on the brochure we found but decided on different things when we arrived. I had the all-u-can- eat ribs, which were fantastic, and my wife had the salad bar and added a chicken breast for a couple dollars more. This was our best meal, for the money, I think we ever had. The service was as good as any you'll receive at one of those fancy places, without the attitude and hand out for a big tip. I was really happy by our decision and we will be coming back many times in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Williamr, thank you for the kind words. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good BBQ at a Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have frequented this restaurant on many occasions but have never reviewed it. It was a spur of the moment decision to visit and I was not disappointed. I had the BBQ Chicken Sandwich on garlic bread with baked beans. I add the salad bar to my order as well. The chicken was so tender and juicy, garlic bread toasted just enough, baked beans sweet and what can I say about the salad bar - lots and lots of items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.