We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Choice in Florida City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Very Good Choice in Florida City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Balancing the earlier reviews of this property with the fairly consistently good ones that seem to have become the norm more recently, we decided to stay at H.I.Express Florida City on our way to the Keys; we're glad we did. We were pleased enough that, when we decided to stay in the area an additional day on our return from the Keys, there was no doubt that we'd choose this hotel. After two separate one-night stays, we will choose it again the next time we need accommodation in the area.

The property is very well-maintained; we observed none of the flaws reported in the early months of the hotel's opening, and, having read those reviews, we looked for them. We stayed in a room on the top floor on a night when the area experienced record rains, accompanied by high winds; we observed no leakage problems anywhere. The shoddy workmanship observed earlier must have been corrected in the interim, as we found no signs of it. Staff were consistently helpful and pleasant. Like others, we appreciated the wired, as opposed to wireless, internet access.

The one earlier complaint we found partly justified was that referring to the walls being inadequately sound-insulated; on our second stay we noticed, after muting a commercial on TV, a male voice coming through the wall. He was, apparently, talking loudly on a cell phone. He shouted, "Just call me," repeatedly. After a few minutes the noise stopped, but we note that it could be a problem in some circumstances. With that one exception, though, the hotel struck us as a quiet place, and we would not hesitate to return, or to recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, well-maintained rooms, wired internet, pleasant staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    54
    19
    18
See reviews for
81
96
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We chose this hotel as an overnight stop on the way from Miami Airport to Key West. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, and the hot breakfast was good to get us through the next morning's drive to Everglades National Park (a short drive away). Florida City offers the few lodging options near the national park, and we were quite satisfied with this choice.

  • Liked — Convenient location between Miami and Everglades National Park
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at this hotel while on our way to vacation in Key West. It is a perfect stopping place and is just on the northern edge of the Keys. My family of five found our suite to be super clean and comfortable with beautiful, new furnishings. The service at the front desk was over-the-top helpful and they happily accomodated our special requests. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value
  • Disliked — Breakfast bar was adequate but not impressive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batavia, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

I thought it was a brand new hotel but sure didn't look like it from the inside.
nothing but problems from the time we checked in. Had a confirmation for a King Suite and was given a double room! when complained, was told there were no king rooms or suites left in the whole hotel which I didn't believe because there were only a few cars in the parking lot. Moved us to another room and said it was a queen room but it wasn't.
Talked to the manager in the morning when we checked out and he gave us a discounted price , that was the only good thing about the hotel!

  • Liked — the discounted price
  • Disliked — the screw up with not having our correct accomodations
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Compared to the Best Western down the road in Homestead, this place was perfect. We have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express and have never been disappointed. This place was no exception. The check in staff were very courteous and pleasant. They gave us a quiet room when I mentioned that I needed my sleep. The actual property (on the outside) is a bit unfinished looking but inside, the room was spacious, there was a little fridge. There was an abundance of pillows with the softness level embroidered right on them. so you get both firm and soft on a bed. There were computers in the lobby that worked. The complimentary breakfast was a mix of warm egg and meat options as well as sweet pasties, cereals, fruit and toast.

  • Liked — everything, no disappointments
  • Disliked — good location for access to Everglades but otherwise not much ambience
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Based on earlier reviews about this being the "newest hotel" in the Homestead area, I was, at first, a little disappointed. My first impression when I walked into the room was that it was a little dated. This was based upon the rug and bed blankets looking a little worn.

I checked with the front desk about having other rooms of a newer vintage but they said they were all the same. They also reiterated that this was the newest hotel in the area.

After spending four nights there, I found it to be a little better than my initial impression. The bathroom was relatively new and the furniture was in good shape. My room was completely quiet (no outside noises) and the pool area was nice for hanging out/relaxing.

There was a distinct hotel/motel odor about the place that followed me home. Per my wife, my clothes required a second washing and an outside hanging to get rid of the smell.

One last complaint: the garbage can on the side entrance was overflowing with garbage for most of my stay. I mentioned this to the night desk yet it took another 36 hours for it to be cleaned up.

All this being said, if I ever were to visit Homestead again, I would chose this Holiday Inn again. I had stayed at the Ramada a few years back and it was a pit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich ct
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

i have stayed at the best western in homestead. as i view the best western in need of (at least) a freshening, i thought i'd give this a try.

all in all, it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. it's clean, and in reasonable shape (although surely doesn't look 3 years old, more like 10).

the breakfast is also...fine. high speed internet (wired) in the rooms, is free. wifi in the lobby, also free (not so at the ritz carton or loews in sobe lol), and there are two pc's w/inet access in the lobby.

the staff is friendly. the elevator is painfully slow.

BUT if you stay on a weekday during school season, be aware that there is a school bus depot behind the motel, and they begin dispatching at 4:30am for perhaps an hour and a half. very noisy, very unpleasant.

apart from that, consider the alternatives. homestead has very little to offer.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.