We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is okay but not exciting. Stayed here for two nights to explore the Everglades and Keys, for which it is perfectly located. There's free breakfast but what I really found odd is that there is only plastic cutlery. USD 120 a night is not expensive but also not cheap enough to not have normal cutlery.
The town as such is rather boring but check out "Robert is Here" for amazing smoothies and "Taqueria Morelia" for great, down-to-earth Mexican food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear bineK,

I am sorry you didn't like our plastic cutlery, that is what Holiday Inn Expresses are mandated to provide.

Yes, we are perfectly located for exploring the Florida Keys and the Everglades, and while Robert Is Here and Taqueria Morelia are nice, there is so much more. There are numerous restaurants and eateries (Cuban, Italian, American, Japanese, Thai) in Florida City and the adjacent city of Homestead. Ride the free guided trolley to Biscayne National Park and Homestead Bayfront Park. There are seasonal activities at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, The Fruit and Spice Park, and Schnebly Redland's Winery. The Florida Keys Premium Outlet Mall. Coral Castle. Monkey Jungle. Local fishing charters.

SkyDive Miami flies out of Homestead General Airport. There's Keys Gate Golf Course, and Redland Golf and Country Club. Take a drive up Krome Avenue north of Homestead past the many farms and fields and you'll find many plant nurseries that have fruit and vegetable stands selling mangoes, avocados, papayas and more.

Homestead offers night life at the Stick & Steins Sports Rock Café and Billiard Club, Fat Monkey Karaoke Bar, Flagler's Wine Bar, and the Dade Country Jail has a DJ and line dancing.

When you return to South Florida just ask my staff for their recommendations and suggestions, they will be more than happy to oblige.

Most Sincerely, Brad Forsyth, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    46
    14
    16
See reviews for
55
68
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed there on 3/27/14 and was a victim of someone trying to steal fuel from my rental vehicle! I suggest if you must stay there please park under the from entrance and maybe, just maybe your vehicle might be safe. The thieves failed to get my fuel but they took the gas cap from my rental vehicle and I had to waste 2 hours trying to buy another (vacation put on pause…not good)! Holiday Inn Express should provide security or how about a taller fence to deter these thieves! Well, second trip to Miami area and at least I didn't have a cigarette butt in my food this time… Miami, FL…where third world is being taught social norms! A WORK IN PROGRESS, FOR SURE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Bob K,

I am so sorry to hear about this incident. I checked our log book and did not see an entry about this incident being brought to the attention of a staff member.

We do have a security guard on duty overnight, but even then determined and crafty thieves can sometimes still not be deterred.

Thank you for taking the time complete a review. Your valuable feedback will be helpful in us reassessing our security procedures.

Most Sincerely Yours,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hair on shower walls. Shower drain clogged, drained extremely slowly (ankle-deep shower-bath, yuk). Depressed check-in agent. Room smelled bizarre.

Plus old carpets, peeling paint on wood molding.

Nothing horrible, but definitely well below HI Express standards. Probably needs new management.

We are in the HI Express in Marathon (Keys) tonight; it's a normal one.

There are plenty of big chain similar hotels near the HI Express in Florida City; try one of those.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear FranklnCA,

The room you described is definitely below Holiday Inn Express standards. I will use your valuable feedback to improve services and housekeeping procedures.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Please come back and stay with us to gauge our improvement when you are again in sunny South Florida.

Most Sincerely Yours,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a drive down to Marathon. The hotel was nice and clean, but overall average. The staff was nice and the rooms were big, but the bathroom was subpar including some toilet issues. The breakfast was one of the highlights. Room was fairly quiet as the hotel is set back a bit from the Highway. The room was clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear NorthOCTraveler,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is lovely to hear your kind comments regarding the rooms and our staff. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the bathroom. I assure you the feedback we receive will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you would give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The reviews of this place smelling like mildew is correct. When I walked into the hotel room, it seemed damp to me. That said, the room seemed neat and clean and the breakfast was a usual "free hotel breakfast"...bagels, sausage, eggs, muffins. I had no complaints or problems of any kind. I stayed at this hotel coming from Key Largo because the prices are cheaper. But....Florida City is kind of dirty and unkept looking. If I hadn't already made reservations that were non-refundable, this is definitely a town I would avoid. But if you're visiting the Everglades you don't have many choices. The prices are also a little high considering it's not a very nice area. Out by the Dairy Queen there's a Courtyard and the area looks a little nicer. Beware of the cashless tolls that stung us on the Turnpike. All of that said, I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Daylily4,

The high humidity of South Florida can cause a mildewy smell, but the housekeeping staff does a great job cleaning to help mitigate this problem.

Our pricing structure is in line with this area, but the High Season will be ending soon and our rates will be dropping accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review.

Most Sincerely Yours,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

nice, & clean hotel friendly front desk staff !! I was travelling down to largo then everglades & couldnt have picked a better resting location, more then happy if im ever in the area id definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Alysun H,

I am glad to hear my staff took care of you. Yes, we are the perfect location for visiting both Key Largo and the Everglades.

I hope to see you on your next visit to South Florida.

Sincerely,
Brad Forsyth, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I read a few reviews after I had checked In. After reading the last few and staying three days it makes you think they must have typed in the wrong address. I am a traveling salesman who spends many nights on the road. I rate this property on my top places to stay the staff is friendly and the place is up to date and clean. Many more people complain then compliment. I guess some people complain if they hang them with a new rope.

Room Tip: Not in this case but a good tip is to check in early and ask if the have updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear David O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We try very hard to take care of each and every guest. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Please come back and stay with us again when you return to sunny South Florida.

Safe Travels!
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.