We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place centrally located !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place centrally located !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

nice, & clean hotel friendly front desk staff !! I was travelling down to largo then everglades & couldnt have picked a better resting location, more then happy if im ever in the area id definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Alysun H,

I am glad to hear my staff took care of you. Yes, we are the perfect location for visiting both Key Largo and the Everglades.

I hope to see you on your next visit to South Florida.

Sincerely,
Brad Forsyth, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
68
78
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I read a few reviews after I had checked In. After reading the last few and staying three days it makes you think they must have typed in the wrong address. I am a traveling salesman who spends many nights on the road. I rate this property on my top places to stay the staff is friendly and the place is up to date and clean. Many more people complain then compliment. I guess some people complain if they hang them with a new rope.

Room Tip: Not in this case but a good tip is to check in early and ask if the have updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear David O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We try very hard to take care of each and every guest. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Please come back and stay with us again when you return to sunny South Florida.

Safe Travels!
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Be sure to check the charges on you credit card when you get home! This place tried to double charge me. I had already fully paid through Expedia, but when I got home I found an extra odd charge on my card. I called and they said they had "accidentally" charged 2 nights to me. Yeah right, I don't believe that for a second!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear John C.,

I truly apologize if we charged your credit card after you already paid Expedia. If this happened I can assure you it was not intentional.

I went back and looked at all 2-day reservations that came through Expedia and Hotwire during the month of February and did not find any that had reversals on personal credit cards due to double charges. I then did the same for the month of March to date, and again found no reversals.

Please contact me directly at the hotel (305-247-3414) so that I can make sure your situation is properly resolved to your satisfaction. I would also like to offer some additional compensation for the inconvenience.

Looking forward to your call, I remain
Most Sincerely Yours,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Definitely convinietly located i was travelling with a boat load of people and we were greeted at the entrance with a smile the front desk was very helpful in helping us plan our trip to flamingo the young lady knew more then we expected which made it much easier for us to travel without getting lost,we were able to wake up and have a fresh start in the morning breakfast was out promptly and we were on our way to the glades ! Thanks to a very friendly staff we had an amazing stay really comfortable again would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mindy J.,

Thank you for your review. I am very proud of my staff; they do their best to help each and every guest.

I hope you will stop by and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were passing through and decided to stay here. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was good. The only problem was a smell in the halls. I think it was cleaning fluid or something. But for the weekend when it was very busy, the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Carolyn E.,

I apologize for the smell in the hallways. Sometimes my housekeepers may get a little over zealous, they strive to keep the hotel as clean as possible.

I'm happy to hear you liked our pricing. With so many hotels/motels in the South Florida area, we do try to be competitive.

Please come back soon.

Regards,
Brad Forsyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnatus, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The first thing I noted on entering the building was a very strong smell of mildew. Our guest room was the same, even when we turned the air conditioner off. The room was comfortable enough though, breakfast was average, staff was average. This was a rewards night but next time we would use them elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Carol L,

I apologize about the smell. In this humid part of the country this is a commonplace occurrence and a continuing effort to control. The housekeeping and maintenance personnel have been successful in mitigating this problem by keeping the hotel as clean as possible.

Thanks to our ongoing training program our breakfast and front desk personnel have been getting many complimentary comments from guests, so please stop by the next time you are in Florida City and check out our improvement. We strive very hard to take great care of our Rewards Club members.

Thank you for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 1 night as a stop over to Key West. It was clean, comfortable and a great location for getting an early start. We did have an opporutnity to take advantage of the breakfast that was inclued. It was decent. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.