We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family for one night and that was enough, we came back to our room and the door was wide open luckily enough nothing was stolen, noisiest fridge, sofa bed uncomfey we had to put mattress on floor, rooms dated, dirty carpet and music was playing until 6AM in the morning and could hear every word of the songs!! Wouldn't recommend staying here!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Tilly C.,

Again I would like to apologize for the cover music in the lobby disturbing you. I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention during our conversation during breakfast, we have subsequently lowered the volume level. Pursuant to our conversation I have gone ahead and issued you the Rewards Club bonus points.

I was unaware of your other concerns with your stay as the cover music volume was the only issue you brought to my attention. All of our rooms have recently had new furniture and carpeting installed, but the hallway carpeting has yet to be replaced.

Please return to our hotel when you are back in tropical South Florida and ask to speak directly with me and I will do everything I can to ensure you have a much more enjoyable time. We do our best to live up to our slogan of "Gateway to the Keys!"

Most Sincerely,
Brad Forsyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    47
    14
    16
See reviews for
63
75
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Review: Not terrible, Not real good, just OK. We have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels that were more impressive.This hotel is located strategically to the gateway of the Florida Keys, airboat rides and the Everglades National Park which is why we chose it. The property is a little tired with worn carpeting in the corridors and cheesy bright red painted room doors, (who was the decorator that selected those colors??). The room showed no signs of bedbugs, (we always check as these insects do not discriminate), but had a faint odor of air freshener or some other cover-up aroma, that we got accustomed to in less than 90 seconds, (not mildew or anything like that, just a little funky). The bedding was clean while the beds themselves were not totally comfortable that featured a feather bed topper on the mattresses instead of a real pillow top mattress of higher quality like we have often experienced in other similarly priced establishments. The walls are not soundproof as we were able to hear our adjacent neighbors when speaking in anything other than a lowered voice. The room carpet was tired however the bathroom was clean.

Complaints: The desk clerk on duty could polish her communication skills and respond verbally to questions with words instead of a scowl and a head shake. We would have preferred the answer to the question, "does the hotel have a guest laundry facility?" to be "no I am sorry" rather than, a frown and a wordless side to side nod. Later in the same evening we found the front desk to be unattended for over 10 minutes, when we had another question about printing a document from the guest computer center. We were also disappointed that although our reservation was made for 2 adults and 2 teenage children there was not additional chairs furnished in the room besides the desk chair, (are we supposed to be confined to our double queen beds while occupying our room?) The ice maker on the second floor was out of order, and the internet service disconnects from your computer or device every few minutes. One of the reasons that we selected this hotel was due to the free breakfast offer which was appealing so that we could start our day of sightseeing without delay. To our disappointment we found that the main entree selection, (the eggs) were consumed at 8:30 am and not replaced within 10 minutes with a room full of hungry guests waiting patiently. As we had to catch an airboat ride we had a bagel and yogurt and left for our tour of the everglades with stomachs consequently growling by 10:30 am.

Conclusion: Look... we understand that this is not a high end hotel, but we did not pay economy hotel franchise fares either. As we stated in the beginning: it's OK, it just isn't great, don't stay away, this place will get the job done, but you won't be doing cartwheels about your experience either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Stephen P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your input and comments. First and foremost, I apologize that your stay with us was not exceptional, as we strive to make every guests stay a positive memorable experience. Unfortunately, your experience was far from exceptional. I will use your feedback to improve our service as we continue to strive for excellence.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the HI Express in Florida City. I normally do not write negative reviews, but this experience was one of the worst IHG experiences I have encountered. The staff were less than helpful, rude and upset interrupted their texting. The bathroom had mold and was not clean. The entry way was dirty as was most of the facility.

We had to request extra pillows and blanket 3 times. The internet key changed during the middle of the night. What a hassle to obtain a new one. As a platinum member, I have come to expect a better class of service from IHG hotels. I would not recommend this property.......

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear T O,

Thanks for your review. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Member, your input is extremely valuable to the development of our property. I apologize that you had such an unpleasant stay. However, your review has been noted and we have made some necessary changes that I believe you would appreciate. I hope we have another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future. As you loyalty is appreciated.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Good :
Location and closeness to the Everglades and the Florida Keys, Amazing Warm Weather,
Outdoor Pool Area, Friendly and Helpful Day Staff (Isabella knows a lot), satisfying breakfast in the morning, Clean sheets and pillows, clean guestrooms, close to Liquor store (walking distance), business center, flat-screen televisions with plenty channels, in lobby coupons and brochures to the most popular of water sports and attractions refrigerator and microwave, large fitness center, vending machines, and plenty of free parking.

The Bad: Entered room without seeing the Do Not Disturb Sign and emptied the trash but did not bother to do anything else since they were already there ? Business Center printing facilities did not work, Rude breakfast attendant,

Room Tip: Prefer the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even though it's not the fanciest HI Express, our room was comfortable. It's about 20 minutes away from the Everglades and Biscayne National Parks. It's also about 30 minutes away from Key Largo. The breakfast is very popular and the staff did a great job of keeping up with some many visitors. I'm glad we stayed here and would consider it again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rucphen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

After our visit to Flamingo(Southern part of Eveglades)we stayed for 1 night in Holiday Inn Express Florida City. Nice hotel with clean rooms and a nice free breakfast. it is an easy drive to Key largo. Friendly staff, nice pool and closely some restaurants for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Josepha W,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be convenient for your travel plans. Whenever you're in the area, I hope you consider to stay with us again.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Definitely recommended for a quick stay. Coming from New York down to Florida and had to stay somewhere for the night. Beds were very comfortable - didn't want to get up the next day and pretty spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.