We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Pike Road, AL
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Adequate and Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped here before driving to the Keys. The hotel is clean and seems recently updated. It smells like mold, though. It must be in the air conditioning system, because it was cool at night, we turned off our room air conditioner and didn't smell it anymore. We smelled it everywhere else. Even our hair smelled like mold when we drove away. The pool lights didn't work - the desk clerk said they had a power outage 2 nights ago and the pool lights hadn't worked since. The typical Florida bugs were present at the pool but not unusual or terrible. Breakfast was typical for HI Ex these days - eggs & sausage taste like plastic, but if you know what to eat and what to avoid it gets you on the road. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast attendant is especially friendly and nice. The beds were comfortable (on the soft side). Overall, it is a good value but they really need the air conditioning system checked because it smells like granny's basement.

Room Tip: rooms on backside have some road noise - we had a small fan that provided background noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear goldendiv,

Thank you for your review of our property regarding your stay. I am pleased to note that you found the hotel to be clean.

However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort the smell from the air conditioning system has caused you. Our staff pay special attention to level of cleanliness and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    108
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
90
105
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent two nights here while on a road trip and left out here for the Keys, the place was very clean and quiet, the staff was very helpful, breakfast was he usual HI express but everything was fresh and and replenished, the morning staff was also very helpful . The place is a little funny about getting in and out the way the hwy is in front, but that isn't the hotel's fault, secure parking as they close the back gate at night, everything went very well and we were pleased, would stop in here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is a perfect spot as a stop over before driving to the Keys. I've read some of the complaints - we didn't experience a mosquito problem. We enjoyed the breakfast. Based on our experience, when breakfast is included, it never amounts to more than coffee & a few muffins. Their breakfast includes, fresh juices, eggs, bacon, pancakes, & fruit. Starbucks is on the corner. There is also an outlet mall close by.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you value your bodily fluids, you will stay away from this place. As soon as we stepped out of the car we were instantly swarmed by vicious mutant mosquitoes. We ran for the front door of the hotel, but they chased and bit us all the way. The lobby was infested with them and everyone waiting to check into their rooms was getting chewed to pieces. Finally after getting bitten fifty times and watching us flailing about in the lobby, the guy at the front desk asked if we could use some bug spray. Unfortunately we couldn't find another room anywhere else, so we were stuck! Running back and forth to the car for our dear lives the whole time. The rooms were crackheadedish, with nasty little gas station type bathrooms. Other than that, the place was wonderful. Pffffft!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear hardcuban07,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate elements of nature from the surroundings of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room smelled of disinfectant and possibly pesticide so much, it was difficult to sleep. The carpet was so dirty we would not walk on it barefoot. There are better hotels just up the street. the room layout was fine and the bathroom was fine, if small. We stayed there for a change from the Best Western, but we're going back to the Best Western and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Lorna V,

It is unfortunate that you had the experience that you did. The staff and I strive for excellence daily. I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have installed brand new carpet in all of the rooms and pride ourselves in cleanliness. I'm not sure which room you stayed in, but I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly. We regret that you're unhappy about your experience and would like to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you and your guests in the future. If you would, please give me a call so we can discuss your stay in more details.

Sincerely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Like many others, we picked this hotel because of it being located close to the Everglades entrance and the Keys. It is a typical HIE, although it should be in line for their upgrade efforts, as it is showing its age. The room and bed were comfortable, and the breakfast as expected at a HIE. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Birdguy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience. I'm glad to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and we were consistent in delivering the Holiday Inn Express breakfast. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a reasonable time in this old Holiday Inn Express. They have no in-house laundry, no bacon and no History Channel. Nancy, at the front desk was most pleasant and helpful. And then we got ready to leave. The employee, who works in the kitchen decided to park in the striped area next to us that my husband needed to access his van by the ramp. Next to him was another employee who was putting together furniture;he also parked in a handicapped spot although the parking lot was nearly empty. We informed Sarah,at the front desk, who knew full well who was parked there. Had we left immediately, she would have done nothing. Finally kitchen man moved his car, when he was done working. Furniture man refused and took about 15 minutes to move and only because we waited for him to move. It's the principle of the thing. Two able-bodied employees, who were caught in violation of the posted statute, just didn't care and Sarah covered for them. Shame on all of them, as if they care. And shame on management for fostering that kind of attitude.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello ScrappyTexan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to hear that Nancy was able to take care of you. As for the issue with parking, I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your husband. Having the employees park in the handicap parking is not something that management condones. Trust me; we have made the necessary actions to ensure that our valued guests, such as you, not have this experience again. I hope that we have another opportunity to accommodate you and your husband in the future. If so, you will have the opportunity to have a hassle free experience, which we strive for daily.

Sincerely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.