We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Homestead, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

So our AC broke on a Sunday evening the day before school starts ! So I needed a hotel for the night quick & in Homestead. I used Priceline & the Holiday Inn Express came up for $79. I initially was not happy since I am an expert Priceliner & I have gotten Resorts in Orlando for that price, but we needed a hotel pronto !

Drove over & the hotel was new looking, very clean, pleasant staff. We found parking up front, no FEE ! Our room was very clean, neat, nice TV, with a nice size fridge & microwave with coffee service included for FREE ! Then to our surprise there was a FREE breakfast the next morning.

Very quiet hotel, the breakfast area was modern & clean with fresh food and coffee/milk, eggs, danish, breads etc. We could see the pool (no chance to try it). Also the in room Internet was FREE ! You can see how most Resorts nickel and dime you to death. So my $79 a night turned out to be a bargain after all.

Given the very limited safe & clean hotel options in Homestead. And I am not hating on Homestead I live here & love it but we're not known for 4 star hotels. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express. It's a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    47
    14
    16
See reviews for
63
77
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for four nights as part of our holiday. Could not fault the hotel or staff. Location is very good for sightseeing as it is not too far from the Keys/Everglades and Miami Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The area around this hotel was a bit run-down but the hotel itself was decent. It was in a convenient area and the price was reasonable. The bed was comfy and the room was clean, including the bathroom, which was a decent size. We could not hear traffic from where our room was located, though the hotel was not far from the main road. The front desk clerk was very pleasant. We were not disappointed considering the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

we stayed there 3 nights during our keys vacation.......room was clean and very comfortable....hot breakfast every morning was good.....room was promptly cleaned daily....front dest staff was always helpful with local restaurants and where to see 4th of July fireworks....we always had a quiet evening and night after being out all day seeing the Keys.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We went to Key Largo with no particular plan, the hotels there were over $150 per night and only a few sketchy ones to be had. We drove back to Florida City and followed the reviews on tripadvisor and were completely happy with this choice. Friendly staff, clean room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The folks at the front desk were great but that was the only part that was as I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were a bit dingy and definitely dated. The most disappointing part was the pool. The pool was old and dirty as was the patio surrounding it. My daughter spent a short time in it then got out to find no towels. Breakfast was okay but the food area was a bit more cramped than most similar hotels. The place is not really close to restaurants but is surrounded by drive through liquor stores. There was a car broken into in the parking lot overnight.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Flying through Miami, we wanted to visit the Keys without the hassel and expense of staying on the Keys. Did a day trip down to Key West (about a 3 hour drive). Service was fine, price was cheaper than the keys and the hotel was well maintained. It is kind of hard to see as it sits behind a gas station and strip mall, but the grounds are nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City

Address: 35200 S Dixie Hwy, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses and attractions within minutes of the hotel, we invite you for a fun loving experience at the 100% smoke free Holiday Inn Express Florida City-Gateway to the Keys. Spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to do. We are within a few miles from local attractions such as; Homestead-Miami Speedway, Everglades National Park, Turkey Point Power Plant and minutes away from great local restaurants featuring excellent seafood, steaks, authentic Italian and home made Mexican cuisines. Whether you re coming to Florida City for business or just to relax, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City is your personal retreat. Great amenities such as free high speed Internet access, comfortable bedding, and a great new hot breakfast await your arrival. An inviting, fun and caring staff is willing to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. For a fun relaxing day, play the back 9 at the nearby golf course, visit the alligators in the Everglades, or enjoy some fishing in Biscayne National Park. After a long day take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or lounge around and take in the warm inviting sun. Whatever your plans may hold; when you re in South Florida Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Florida City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florida City
Holiday Inn Express Florida City
Holiday Inn Florida City
Florida City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.