We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food; go for the PIE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmers' Market Restaurant

Farmers' Market Restaurant
300 N Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-3414
305-242-0008
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Florida City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Average food; go for the PIE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had so-so dinners of meatloaf and fish. Nothing wrong with either, just nothing special. But we were there because I have raved about the key lime pie served at the Farmers' Market Restaurant for years. My husband had heard it often, including the echos of people who'd eaten key lime pie there with me.

He was so impressed by the pie that we came back today to have a mid-afternoon slice!

The food is o.k. The pie is wonderful.

A downside is the air conditioning system is uncommonly loud, making conversation a bit difficult.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seafood without taste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Felt really disappointed with the food. Fried conch, fried shrimps and fried fish. Served with 2 sauces in plastic cups.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“food is poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were there for dinner on Saturday night - very sad experience. As other reviews mentioned the place is simple, so we did not expect much. Though entire absence of other customers should have been a warning. Service was nice, but food was very poor. The OK items were salad and blackened catch of the day fish. Mash potato and rice cooked probably several days ago, pasta and meat balls - my 12-year old said their school cafeteria make them better. Seafood plate with very poor crabcakes. And all that was not cheap either. This has been worst eating out experience we had in a long-long time. I am surprised at the people who gave it excellent and very good reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we had dinner it was good dinner but one staff was nice the other did not really speak need to be more friendly to visitors

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We happened to pass this restaurant on the way to Everglades National Park and thought it would be perfect for breakfast. We should have suspected something when there was not another soul in there at 9 a.m. The service from the two elderly waitresses was slow and not friendly. The prices were way too high and the food was very poor. My pancakes were grainy and unappetizing. My husband had biscuits and gravy and found both to be unsatisfactory. We spent $20 on breakfast (as opposed to about $12 at Waffle House) and we both left half of the food. Maybe it's better for other meals, but I would steer clear at breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers' Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farmers' Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmers' Market Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.