We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Discomfort RV Resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Comfort RV Resort

Southern Comfort RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florida City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Comfort RV Resort
Save Saved
You added Southern Comfort RV Resort to your Saves list
345 East Palm Drive, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel amenities
South East
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Southern Discomfort RV Resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

If you like extremely loud music that continues to after mid-night and makes sleep or even conversations in most of this campground impossible, then this RV Park is the place for you. Don’t consider asking the campground owner to ensure the Tiki Bar music is played at a sane level, we were told he was the one actually playing music/karaoke and everyone’s request for volume reductions were rudely ignored. This music was so loud the Tiki Bar was empty at 9:30pm on Saturday night, but the deafening levels of possibly the worlds worst music selections still continued for hours longer.

Getting in and out of this RV Park is extremely dangerous due to the traffic patterns and flow especially for larger rigs. The sites were well spaced and some had trees, but navigation on the narrow roads in the campground was very difficult for our longer fifth wheel. All sites had grass (no gravel) which was nice, but it was very difficult for us to actually get out of our site the day we left due to no traction on the grass in the rain.

Most rigs were newer, some are permanent and there are work crew campers also. This is a 1950s RV Campground that shows it’s age everywhere. Nothing is terrible, just worn. The bath and showers were adequate, but all were in need of a full face lift and more frequent cleaning

We would suggest name change for this RV Park. Something like the “Southern Discomfort RV Resort.” We will never go back there and have never seen such a total lack of respect for customers at any RV Park before.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We camp at this RV park every year from December to April and we have a great time There are a lot of nice people there and there is always something to do if you want to get involved If you don't enjoy your self while there it is your own fault

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

good location to work from for visiting National Parks and other tourist sites in the Everglades/Florida Keys area. Defineately priced way to high. fairly clean. Services/attitude lacking. Most RV lots are to small for large rigs. Very few pull thru lots. Caters to Racing fans from Homestead Race track at increased pricing. Also hosts construction workers. On site bar extremely noisy

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Clearwater, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We love Southern Comfort RV Resort. We stay there every year for the Homestead Race. We couldn't ask for any better hospitality. If you don't have a great time there it's your own fault!!!!!!!!!

Clearwater, Florida Resident.

  • Liked — The Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We have been staying at Southern Comfort since 1999. Since the new owners have taken over a few years ago everything has gone "Down Hill," especially the way they treat their customers. This used to be the place to go, there weren't any empty sites in Jan. & Feb. This past Feb. there were at least 50 open sites every day. They have lost so many long time customers that will never go back there. And this new policy about paying by the week in Feb. is crazy. On top of that they will be charging 13% tax. Garbage is set out to be picked up when ever they get around to it, the whole place looks like a garbage dump. This season "Crazy Ed" was playing in the Tiki Bar. He was playing so loud that it was annoying the campers. The managers answer to this was to have him play 3 times a week. Everyone went back to their campers, closed the door and windows and turned on their air conditioners. Thank you for listeing to my rant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Manager
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

Our stay was for a lenghty time period due to my husbands work. The office personal that are year around employees are very rude. They lack in customers service skills.The rates at the Southern Comfort RV Resort have increased also which is another reason we have relocated. Even though my husband work assignment is still on going, we have decided to park our RV elsewhere. We found a better park, one that has good customer service.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Ontario
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

For the past 9 years, we have been regulars at Southern Comfort on the same site for 1 month, arriving during Jan. and leaving during Feb. Our rent has always been based on their monthly rate. We have seen the park deteriorate, most noticeably since the change in ownership. The policies and attitude of the current management does not reflect customer service to say the least. Washrooms and laundry are below current standards of quality RV parks with respect to both facilities and cleanliness. Garbage dumpsters located along the main road remain an eyesore to the travelling public (see photos). Interior roads are extremely narrow. However, our decision to leave this year after 3 days and NOT return was based on a disagreement with the manager over our rental charge. Upon checking in, we were advised that we would be required to pay their WEEKLY rate, not the monthly rate we had always paid. The additional cost for our stay would have been $360. The manager advised me that everyone was treated the same in this respect. The following day we confirmed with friends staying in the park who had checked in that week for an identical stay that they were in fact paying the monthly rate. Simply put, we had been lied to. I contacted the manager who insisted I was wrong, refused to make any adjustment, and by her rudeness showed that she did not care whether or not we stayed or ever returned. We made a decision to leave the next day and advised the manager that we would not return in a subsequent year, emphasizing to her that she had just lost a long-term customer because of misrepresentation and attitude.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Comfort RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort RV Resort

Address: 345 East Palm Drive, Florida City, FL 33034
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Rv Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Comfort RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.