We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet, Inexpensive, Secure Motel with Great Location & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Florida City/Homestead to your Saves list
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet, Inexpensive, Secure Motel with Great Location & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This motel is located in a great spot within walking distance of a bunch of good restaurants. It is close to many tourist attractions.
The room was clean, the area seemed very secure & quiet, the staff was nice & breakfast was good. They also had a nice swimming pool & picnic tables.
On our way home, we realized we had left some money in our room (duh). We called Rosa Castaneda, the front desk clerk, who had a couple of the hotel cleaning staff locate the cash. Then Rosa returned it to us. How often have any of us had someone we didn't know return lost money to us - I'd say just about never! This speaks volumes for the honesty & integrity of Rosa & the other staff involved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    156
    92
    38
    30
See reviews for
111
167
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Would be OK for a quick overnight sleep but we were disappointed to have booked three nights here. Toward Rt 1 are some nicer restaurants and businesses, but on the other side is a poor, questionable neighborhood with a liquor stores and a lot of gang graffiti all over. Pretty noisy traffic all hours. The room had a few updates but the bathroom fixtures could use some work. The tv worked but was old and the color was poor. Worst pillows--either flat or too firm and lumpy. I went out and bought my own. Can't say the room wasn't clean but the first night the strong disinfectant smell made my throat burn and my husband had an asthma episode. For a little more money we could have found a nice room but was prepaid. Captain's Restaurant, not fancy, but really good local seafood. About ten miles east there is a county park with cute tropical lagoon and beach for $5 per car per day. Looking forward to getting out of here and driving to Key West tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

YYC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

went to the keys, super 8 in Florida city fairly close and much cheaper than a hotel in the keys, book on line for better discounts. to the keys and back less than 6hrs, hotel less than a 3rd of the price of hotel in the keys - continental breakfast good but room was very small

Room Tip: get a room away from the road much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am pretty easy to please and don't need much when it comes to budget travel. This place was ok. We stayed here really only needing a place to sleep so we were content. The room was clean and our only complaint was that the pillows were lumpy. Area felt a little creepy/sketchy as well as we arrived after dark but come daylight it didn't seem so bad. There was a simple breakfast of cereal, pastries, and make your own waffles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived here at 1:30 a.m., and quickly considered driving through the night to our destination 3 hours away. The room was pre-paid which was the only reason we checked in, and decided to try to get some sleep.

The room was filthy, the area was creepy. We drove to a Krispy Kreme on the way, and on a wrong turn just about hit some hookers--this should have been a warning about the area. When we moved our car by our room we were watched the whole time by a rent-a-cop on a golf cart who seemed to be taking inventory of our belongings, and not keeping an eye out for other threats. The room had mold throughout, an electrical outlet that was shattered and had exposed wires, and bugs in the lampshade. One of the most concerning things in the room was the 5 x 7 size 10 font of safety tips to keep you from harm. The bed was disgusting and uncomfortable. I basically slept on my husband fully clothed to avoid the possibility that the sheets were not clean. Each trip we made to the car I even took off my jewelry it felt that unsafe. Woke up at 5:30, and we were on the road by 6. By far the most expensive hotel stay (per hour) that I have ever paid for.

Overall, I would have given 0-stars if it was an option... this place was not even sufficient for a homeless shelter.

Room Tip: The best room would be one at a different hotel. STAY AWAY... or come "packing heat."
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Address: 1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Florida City/Homestead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City
Florida City Super 8
Florida City Super Eight
Super Eight Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.