We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 N. Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    72
    39
    27
See reviews for
49
86
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Oh this was a sad day that broke my faith in the Super 8 motel chain.

The room seemed fine at first glance. I had some dinner, took a shower. Then as I was settling into bed, I see a massive dark blob creeping along the wall out of the corner of my eye. Oh dear lord, it was a massive cockroach. And I was so ready to fall asleep after a long day in the Everglades.

It was about 12:30 am and I was absolutely exhausted, I couldn't contemplate the prospect of moving to another room or hotel. I went to the front desk, and the woman gives this chagrin smile, shrugs her shoulders, and says, "It's Florida. There's cockroaches here."

I just love how low-end motels use the "there's cockroaches in Florida" line to excuse the presence of cockroaches in their establishment.

She hands me a big spray can of insecticide and tells me that at least there aren't little bugs in my room. Why? I ask. She tells me that little bugs are a sign that the house is dirty.

Well, I hate to break it to you, but cockroaches are a pretty good sign that the house is dirty too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We arrived in mid December 2012 for a two night stay. The king-bed room we were assigned smelled of mold. We cranked up the a/c in hopes of ameliorating the scent and went out for dinner. After returning, we used the bathroom and the toilet overflowed. Stuff happens. We called the front desk, in hopes of getting someone to take care of the problem. The response we got was "do you want a plunger?" There would be no one available to cope with this problem, so I asked for a different room. One was indeed offered. On checking it out, we found that the scent of mold in this room was even stronger than in the one that had just been fouled. We declined the replacement room and opted to find accommodations elsewhere. When I spoke with the manager at our departure, I asked for our charges to be credited back to our account, as we had not received a usable space for our money. Her response was a very simple, "we have a strict no-refund policy." Not a word along the lines of "I am so sorry for your experience here." Nope. I would avoid this place, not just for the problematic quality of the rooms but the callous disregard for its customers we experienced from the management.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered at our Super 8. These issues are being addressed. We appreciate you taking your time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our reservations went flawlessly, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. The carpet was dirty, had stains and holes, and the floor was uneven. The fridge was tiny (I didn't expect a full size fridge here, but hoping I could at least fit a 'to-go' box). Microwave was nice. TV is old, which I usually don't care about, but the picture got cut off from sides. The walls were painted recently, and the room had decent furniture.

Most of all, the internet connection was horrible. I can forgive most things since we stay in motels because we want to crash for a night or two for cheap prices, and not because we are on a romantic getaway. So when it takes a considerable effort to send an email, that becomes a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We apologize for the problems you experienced. We are in the midst of renovating our rooms and the carpet will be replaced shortly. The TV's are also being upgraded. Our WIFI is normally working well and this has been referred to our technician. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Super 8.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead

Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City
Florida City Super 8
Florida City Super Eight
Super Eight Florida City
Address: 1202 N. Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-242
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead to your Saves list