We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Florida City/Homestead to your Saves list
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    174
    97
    39
    30
See reviews for
125
181
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Oh this was a sad day that broke my faith in the Super 8 motel chain.

The room seemed fine at first glance. I had some dinner, took a shower. Then as I was settling into bed, I see a massive dark blob creeping along the wall out of the corner of my eye. Oh dear lord, it was a massive cockroach. And I was so ready to fall asleep after a long day in the Everglades.

It was about 12:30 am and I was absolutely exhausted, I couldn't contemplate the prospect of moving to another room or hotel. I went to the front desk, and the woman gives this chagrin smile, shrugs her shoulders, and says, "It's Florida. There's cockroaches here."

I just love how low-end motels use the "there's cockroaches in Florida" line to excuse the presence of cockroaches in their establishment.

She hands me a big spray can of insecticide and tells me that at least there aren't little bugs in my room. Why? I ask. She tells me that little bugs are a sign that the house is dirty.

Well, I hate to break it to you, but cockroaches are a pretty good sign that the house is dirty too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We arrived in mid December 2012 for a two night stay. The king-bed room we were assigned smelled of mold. We cranked up the a/c in hopes of ameliorating the scent and went out for dinner. After returning, we used the bathroom and the toilet overflowed. Stuff happens. We called the front desk, in hopes of getting someone to take care of the problem. The response we got was "do you want a plunger?" There would be no one available to cope with this problem, so I asked for a different room. One was indeed offered. On checking it out, we found that the scent of mold in this room was even stronger than in the one that had just been fouled. We declined the replacement room and opted to find accommodations elsewhere. When I spoke with the manager at our departure, I asked for our charges to be credited back to our account, as we had not received a usable space for our money. Her response was a very simple, "we have a strict no-refund policy." Not a word along the lines of "I am so sorry for your experience here." Nope. I would avoid this place, not just for the problematic quality of the rooms but the callous disregard for its customers we experienced from the management.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, General Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered at our Super 8. These issues are being addressed. We appreciate you taking your time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florida City hotels

Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our reservations went flawlessly, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. The carpet was dirty, had stains and holes, and the floor was uneven. The fridge was tiny (I didn't expect a full size fridge here, but hoping I could at least fit a 'to-go' box). Microwave was nice. TV is old, which I usually don't care about, but the picture got cut off from sides. The walls were painted recently, and the room had decent furniture.

Most of all, the internet connection was horrible. I can forgive most things since we stay in motels because we want to crash for a night or two for cheap prices, and not because we are on a romantic getaway. So when it takes a considerable effort to send an email, that becomes a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We apologize for the problems you experienced. We are in the midst of renovating our rooms and the carpet will be replaced shortly. The TV's are also being upgraded. Our WIFI is normally working well and this has been referred to our technician. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Super 8.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Address: 1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florida City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Florida City/Homestead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Super 8 Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City
Florida City Super Eight
Florida City Super 8
Super Eight Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.