We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Florida City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Florida City/Homestead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Florida City
WINDSOR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super 8 Florida City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Convenient motel with very good restaurant across the street. Room was clean but needed renovation badly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking time to comment on our Super 8 in Florida City. We are in the midst of renovating all of our rooms at this time. Our area does have several nice places to dine such as the Capri Italian Restaurant, Farmer's Market, Applebee's, Sonny's BBQ and all the fast food places. We hope to see you on your next trip to our area.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    72
    62
    34
    28
See reviews for
59
91
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'd really rate this a 2.5, but since that does not exist and the hotel was clean (except for the carpet - see below, I gave it a 3).

We landed at MIA after 11pm and knew we would have to take a chance on finding a decent motel. I was reluctant to reserve prior since a flight cancellation would mean a loss of our hotel cost. After driving down Route 1 and stopping at Checker's for burgers and shakes, we started to look for a place to stop. We first stopped at the Econolodge across the street which looked fine (and probably was), but the clerk did not seem friendly.

Checking online, we saw there was a Super8 across the street and stopped here. The rate with our AAA was very reasonable (less than $60), especially since we knew we would only be here a few hours.

The motel and rooms are older (think 1950's Lucy and Ricky road trip) but appear to have been freshly painted recently. The carpet was pretty dirty and had paint on it. (I imagine they plan to replace these once the painting is complete?) The beds are small (doubles) and with a tall hubby, we had to sleep separately. The bed itself was OK, not great, but the sheets and bathroom were clean.

The motel has a nice, clean pool, which we did not use and when we checked out we noticed they had cereal, muffins and coffee in the main office. Our neighbors complained their room was musty, but ours was not. I would stay here again for a one nighter on the way to the keys, but not more than that.

Room Tip: There are plenty of places to eat on Route 1 around the corner - both a Dunkin Donuts and Krispy Kre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our Super 8 in Florida City. We apologize for the carpet problem and that will be replaced as a last step in our upgrades. Our Super 8 is a good stopping point for all our friends going to the Florida Keys or the Everglades National Park. We hope you will be able to visit our area again and will be looking forward to seeing you.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at a motel across the hwy from this one. However, upon reading reviews of the other motel compared to reviews for the motel 8 l I decided to cancel and book a last minute room here. The staff was super friendly, the pool was nice for the kids (a little buggy), the breakfast was perfect, and the rooms were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!! I hope to stay there again next time we travel to the Keys.

Room Tip: Visit the gator farm only minutes away..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
After reading your review our staff felt a sense of pride. It's so nice to see that our efforts to improve for our guests is being noticed. Our Super 8 is the perfect location for travelers to stop when wanting to go to the Everglades National Park, Everglades Alligator Farm, Coral Castle and even taking a day trip to the Florida Keys. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 2 year ago , staff was very friendly, nice clean room, inexpensive, good area so this year on our way back from Key West we stayed here for one night because this very close to Eveglades with affordable room price. This time also room was nice and clean with budget rates. Close to restaurants, shoping area and highways. Next time when I am visiting this area I will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay here you will like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Super 8. We strive to keep our rooms clean, comfortable and affordable so all our guests wil return to stay with us whenever in the area. We have many things to do such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Coral Castle, Homestead-Miami Speedway and of course we are not far from the beautiful Florida Keys. We look forward to seeing you again.

John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Address: 1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-242
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Florida City/Homestead 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City
Florida City Super 8
Florida City Super Eight
Super Eight Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.