We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Florida City/Homestead to your Saves list
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Northants
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Not sure why this motel has got some poor reviews as I found it quite good, especially compared to other budget motels we used on the trip. The complex had a generally well cared for appearance and most of the rooms were set a way back from the road. The rooms were clean, well furnished and with all the extras you would expect - hair dryer, microwave, fridge, iron, ironing board. The complimentary breakfast was a bit meagre but just about adequate to keep you going until mid-day.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    211
    103
    40
    30
See reviews for
164
205
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed two nights at this motel. On the second day we left early for the everglades and returned at 4 pm. The beds were made but there was a bad smell which turned out to be Poop (human feces) on the bathroom floor and the toilet seat. The management came and cleaned it up but there was never any explanation or apology. The location is convenient, there is a small unheated pool but the continental breakfast is pathetic. The cheapest possible buns and only two small tables.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

The owner allowed us check in two hours early and that was about the only good thing about the hotel.

The room stank of clorine from the pool. The pool is very small and was very dirty on the bottom (bugs, leaves etc). The television was very old and most channels displayed unavailable messages.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SgrahamFloridaCity, Front Desk Clerk at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for taking time to comment. We have corrected the pool problems and discussed the chlorine smell in the room with the housekeeping staff. Our television lineup is setup so there is variety for our guests. Our goal is to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay at our motel and your comments help use correct situations like this. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come see us again.


John Taylor
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Pierce, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband & I, along with a close friend rode our motorcycles from St Lucie County to this location. Woke up the next morning, drove to Key West. We had no reservation, and had no problem securing a room. The clerk was friendly, the room was clean, bed was kinda lumpy & the TV was deplorable, but we weren't there to watch TV. I've already recommended this location to several friends for the value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The motel was located among other budget motels on a side street. We had a king sized room with microwave and fridge. Both were convenient for snacks. It was fairly close to the Everglades. There were lots of restaurants and stores nearby. The breakfast was a simple continental breakfast - processed pastries, boring cereals. The coffee cups maybe filled 5oz of coffee if you were lucky. The staff could not tell us about things in the area. We felt safe, but we definitely would not leave car doors unlocked in this area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

In this motel we could not sleep tight. After three hours of tossing, turning and scratching ourselves we decided to turn the light on and to our horrible surprise there they were on our bed. We squished couple of them and blood stains showed on a sheet. I flew out as soon as I could throw my things in a car. The rest of the night we spent wondering the Everglades as we could not even close our eyes.
I though bed bugs was so 1800’s, but I was wrong. Apparently they exist not only in cheap motels, but in high end hotels as well.
We even were denied a stay at our next hotel, as I said something about bed bugs. We discarded our luggage as we returned home; I am not taking any chances to bring them home as a nice memento after vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjjtaylor, General Manager at Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused you on your stay with us. Our mission, as with all of us in the hospitality industry, is to provide you with a pleasant stay. We have since contracted with a professional company to allieviate these problems. I would also like to thank you for bring this to our attention and we look forward to serving you again.
Best Regards, John J. Taylor/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

First of all, there aren't any hotels/motels in the Everglades. We had a 9:30 am appointment to take a tram tour of Shark Valley and staying at any motel in Miami would mean we had to be up before dawn. We did ask for info at the main cross road service station, but no one would reccommend anything on any subject.
We decided to head toward Homestead and look there for a motel. The road south was a straight line to the downtown area. Drive straight on through to the other side of town and you will find the Super 8 Hotel on the right side of the road. It didn't look like much, but the desk clerk gave me a key to the room I would stay in if I decided to book the night. The room was clean, smelled good, the A/C was quiet and cold, there were plenty of towels, a refrigerator, TV with HBO, and more importantly there was a security guard roaming the parking lot all night.
We got up at a decent hour and went to Denny's, which was just around the block, and then headed to the Everglades and Shark Valley. We got there in about 20 minutes with no traffic what so ever. We even had time to spare. My advise is to forget Miami and all that traffic and go to the Super 8 Hotel in Homestead. Clean-Quiet and only $60!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
1.6 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 16 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Florida City/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florida City/Homestead

Address: 1202 North Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-2428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Florida City/Homestead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Florida City/Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florida City/Homestead Hotel Florida City
Super 8 Homestead
Super 8 Florida City
Florida City Super Eight
Florida City Super 8
Super Eight Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Florida City/Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.