We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hostel near the Everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades International Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Everglades International Hostel to your Saves list
Everglades International Hostel
20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Affordable Hostel near the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed at the Everglades International Hostel for a couple of nights. Met really nice people (and had great conversations) with guys/gals from all over the world. One of the guides at this hostel showed us the Park (took us to the Anhinga Trail and gave us a kayak tour).

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    31
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
50
37
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hostel is a really cool place and I had a nice stay.
Unfortunately, when I got back home and I checked my credit card statements, I realized that I was charged twice the price of my stay. I've written many times to the hostel staff to have an explanation and be refunded, but I've always been ignored.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Such a cool spot! Friendly staff and clean rooms! We would certainly stay again. We stayed in the Library room and loved the space...a little close to the coming and going crowd so if you want to sleep late it may not be the spot for you. The area is safe to walk around during the day, but don't walk around solo at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Spent 2 months backpacking (as in travelling with a backpack and living at hostels) in USA and this is my favourite hostel. If you want a great atmosphere and with great I mean friendly, unique and hippieish then this is the place for you.

This is one of those places that has the same feeling as the coolest hostels in South East Asia.
Enjoy watching the stars above you while taking an outdoor shower, climb into the treehouse or sleep comfortable in the bunkbeds (not standard bunkbeds, own built and very stable.

Extra plus for the great choice of music. (maybe if you hate into the wild, or 60's singer songwriters and indie-folk you might disagree, otherwise it's awesome)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've stayed here about a dozen times over the past ten years or so, with 3 or 4 different friends (or GFs actually), and ALWAYS had a wonderful time!!! The folks who run this place, and all the volunteers, and especially Owhnn, are the best!!!! It is tough to find a place that is more fun, and has a better group of folks to share a part of your travels with, than this very cool Everglades Hostel!!! (the only bad thing I can say is that you may end up cancelling your flight home and staying here much longer than you expected..... it is a tough place to walk away from!!)

Room Tip: Tenting in the yard is great, although the rooms are all pretty cool too! Bring earplugs for the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We loved our stay here! It was a big highlight of our trip. The outdoor common area is out of this world and really really cool...a great place to hang out feeling the vibe and meeting interesting people from around the world. The owners have really created a very special place with a very special feel that compares with some of our favorite hostels around the world. We (two adults and an 8-year-old) stayed in the Water Room for two nights, which was very comfortable. We took the full-day everglades tour (wet walk plus kayak) expertly guided by Jeremy, which was a really fabulous way to spend a day and see some of the beauty of the area. It worked well for grownups and kids, and we even saw another group with members in their 70's doing it, so it's good for all ages. Highly highly recommend the hostel and their tours.

Room Tip: "Water Room" was comfortable for 2 adults in a double bed with a large 8-year old child in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

stayed here 2 days in march 2014 and LOVED LOVED LOVED it all!!! tranquil treehouse, peaceful palms trees, clean, friendly firepit, cute animals, pancake breakfast, fantastic location, wonderful people (Owhn- Ron),fun open kitchen, restful rooms, clean shared bathrooms, AWESOME OUTDOOR shower, great tours, WiFi access, Gilligans Island Oasis!!! will return again :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Address: 20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Everglades International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.