We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades International Hostel

Save Saved
You added Everglades International Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Everglades International Hostel
20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in a private room, it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I took a day tour and this was also excellent and great value for money. I only wish I had stayed longer so I could have more time to relax in the fantastic backyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everglades Intl H, Owner at Everglades International Hostel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for review! We love it when people enjoy their time here. We put our heart and soul into this little place. Sometimes it shines!...Come back again, Owhnn and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    28
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
47
36
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel for people who want to go to the Everglades. It is really a nice hostel where you can stay in dorm rooms, but you can also book a private room with private bathroom (which we did). The garden is really beautiful with the waterfall and the nice houses, shared kitchen and plants. We also did a day tour and it was really great with a wet walk and canoe tour. Our guide Alex told us everything about the Everglades and it was very interesting. We had a pleasant time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Based on a recommendation by friends we stayed at the Hostel for one night on our way to Key West and we did not regret it. The staff is great, the grounds are paradise for kids and our private (Wind) room came with 3 sets of bunk beds for our family of four. The atmosphere is casual and if you don't want to cook your own meal, there is a Starbucks around the corner and a Mexican restaurant just opposite. We went on the evening tour with a small group which was a fantastic introduction to the Everglades night life. All in all a great stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed as a family group in The Library room. It was clean and quiet and had a moving library ladder! What is more interesting are the grounds. As far as we could tell Florida City is fairly ordinary but a good starting point for the Everglades. However the backyard was extraordinary with a treehouse and hammock...a natural spring / plunge pond and several lounge areas. This was fairly surreal and a great adventure for the kids. The staff were really friendly and it felt like we had droppped into a house party rather than a hostel. The kayak tour was expertly guided and we saw Gators and crocodiles close up. If we had known how cool this place and the Everglades were we would have stayed longer. If like us you are not "hostel" people fear not. The rooms are good clean and aircon..though you can crash or stay in a dorm if you prefer. Just note you make your own pancakes and tidy up after yourself here....this isn't South Beach...but that's no big deal. A real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On our Roadtrip from New York to Key West, we followed the Lonely Plant Guide to this amazing place! So what makes a place/hostel amazing: Very positive and relaxed atmosphere, great people and interesting characters (not weird characters, just interesting!), very clean rooms and beds, a backyard with tree houses, hammocks, a fresh-water waterfall to swim in (no kidding!), tents with pillows and blankets, bonfire places and a big fully equipped kitchen! It was so great that we decided to stay one more night, not because of the Everglades, because of this Oasis!
AND: The full day Everglades Tour! I am normally against Tours because they are expensive and you want to experience the nature by yourself, BUT this tour was the most well spended 100$ on the whole Roadtrip!
The Tourguide, his name is Alex, was exactly the kind of Guide we wanted on the Tour through the Everglades. Just imagine Crocodile Dundee, with the brain of a biologist and the physical ability to kill every Alligator on the way (he couldn't but he would at least try it;-))- this is Alex. At first we went on a trail, where Alex made a quick introduction to all the plants, fishes and of course the animals. No highly academic talks, just short and interesting stories about all the species we saw on the trail (we saw 36 Alligators piled up at one spot!). After that we went on a Swamp Tour through a cypress forest- great scenery for great pictures! And then came the Highlight: the Kajak Tour through the mangroves! My heart was just beating when we passed those calm and relaxed looking alligators! This was by far the closest I will ever get to such amazing animals! So like the last 3 reviews said before: If you are in Florida, go to the Everglades Hostel and do the tour!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wind room- that was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac-Simon, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a haven surounded by the hustle and bustle of excessive consumption and strip mall america. The owners have managed to provide a tropical setting that sometimes makes you forget the outside world. That in itself is a feat.
It is unique in the services it provides and relatively affordable adventure tours. Bus service a short walk away on highway one. Good kitchen and a surprising variety of buildings to relax in. Not pricy so don't expect new ikea furniture.
I slept in my vw van but i undestand that the rooms are ok, perhaps a bit warm but you can sleep outide in tents and other buildings if need be. Good outside shower.

Room Tip: In a hostel you take a chance everytime you decide to sleep in a multi bed dorm. I have always been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Didnt stay at the hostel but the full day everglades trip was a great great trip. Kayaking with alligators was definitely the highlight, but whilst it was an adrenaline rush the guides made it feel very safe and at no point did it seem like anyone was in any danger. All the equipment was provided, if you can go on this trip do!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Address: 20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Everglades International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.