We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades International Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Everglades International Hostel to your Saves list
Everglades International Hostel
20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hostel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As far as Hostels go. It's only the second one I've ever stayed in but it was fun. We called the day we needed 3 beds and got a private room at half off. Very friendly staff, well supplied kitchen, coffee and make your own pancakes included. Very clean. Great outdoor areas for eating and mingling.

Room Tip: We called the day we needed 3 beds and they gave us a room with 3 bunkbeds to ourselves. Was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    28
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
48
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Denby small cottage across the alley from the Hostel. The cottage was equipped with a king bed, newly renovated large bathroom, sink, microwave, coffee maker and wifi for $125/night. There were both indoor (enclosed porch) and outdoor sitting areas. The only downside was the ceiling clearance - not great for anyone over 6'3. You could be as communal with the hostel dwellers as you wanted (or not). We made pancakes at the hostel both mornings and were not disturbed by any noise from the hostel yard. The big plus was the canoe rental for $30/day, which we brought to the Everglades. The staff also directed us to good food in the area. The downside was the location, which while being close to the park is still quite far and in a poorer neighbourhood. However, we would probably stay there again on our next Everglades visit.

Room Tip: The Nenby small was great for a couple wanting complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hostel is what they should be. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this one really surprised me. First off we weren't sure if we should stay cause it was $18 per person to pitch a tent in their backyard. It would be nice of they would charge per tent plus a fee per person but they backyard it a trip! I spent a couple of hours taking pictures there, and more the next morning between self-serve pancakes and awesome people. They have beautiful trees, a big round gazebo-type thing, a good kitchen to use, a fridge, books, GOOD DUB-STEP. Yeah, this place is nice. BTW southern Florida is very expensive and the price is acceptable for a hostel. They even made a waterfall where I went for a swim in the morning. Trips to the everglades are possible and rangers in the park actually recommend them as a tours and rentals place. Kudos to Everglades and this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smartsville ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a perfect location for for exploreing south florida,if you are into fishing the local water's abound with a varitey of fish.I caught at least ten diferent species in the week i spent there,on my last day I went to Biscayne Bay.Fishing was slow ,I was ready to head back when I spotted Ashley a fellow resident at the Hostel,we were talking while drifting in or kayak's,I took a cast into the channel and hooked a sea monster,it pulled my boat about two hundred yard's into a stiff headwind,after about twenty minutes,the line snapped.Never did see what I hooked,my new photographer and winded I paddeled back too the secret spot,.I took a few more cast's,holy moley ! I got another one.This one did the same ,headed up wind for a long way's turned right into the shallow's,after another twenty minutes It was fifty feet from the boat I was opptomistic I might see this one,,it start's to surface along comes a big old shark,a big splash, slack line.Back to the spot,a few cast's later I got another one,same routine the fish head's upwind turn's then makes a U turn and head's out into the bay.After about one half hour and half a mile out I finely land this one,a ten pound Jack.Ashley been eating cambel's soup for day's and want's to barbque the fish back at the hostel which we did using firewood supplied by Dlyan a young staff member.With the help of guest's and staff we ate the whole thing.To all you traveler's the Everglades Hostel is a great place,,beatiful people,helpful staff,awsome live entertainment at great price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place represents superb value for money on any stopover to the Everglades or Keys. You have to accept that you get what you pay for so don't expect to be waited on or have a king bed with en suite and ocean view !
What you get do get are great location, lovely grounds and clean facilities.
One warning, if staying in a dormitory, take earplugs and a sense of humor...especially if you end up sharing with a snorer !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'd never stayed in a hostel before, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but if more hostels are like this one, then why ever stay at a hotel?

My husband and I stayed in the private "Water" room (about $70/night) with a shared bath upstairs. The room had light colored sheets that were super clean and the room smelled like it had just been mopped (and looked like it). It felt like were were staying with a close friend. The weather was warm although it was October, but the A/C worked great and the shower had good pressure. But the room wasn't the reason I loved this place. Honestly, getting to make breakfast and cook dinner and then eat at the huge communal table outside amid all the lush greenery with the other travelers and more permanent residents was my favorite part of staying here. We met the coolest people and really enjoyed the beautiful outside area with the screened in gazebo and all of the hammocks. It was also great that we could rent a canoe RIGHT there and head out the next morning for the everglades.
Definitely start your everglades trip here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Nenby Lodge (Large) adjacent to the International Hostel. The setting was idyllic for our family of 2 grandparents, 2 adults, and 2 toddlers. The Large Nenby is a chalet with modern fixtures, appliances, kitchenware, high-def TV, and 3 bedrooms. The garden surroundings is a mini-paradise with a small indoor cobblestone pool (>6 ft at its deepest end) heated to 70 degrees F by a natural springs. It is a superb environment for kids with a makeshift raft complete with sail (at the International Hostel), wild chickens, and a giant ambling turtle. The friendliness and camaraderie of a most helpful staff is is contagious. You can book tours, kayaking, canoeing for the Everglades at the Hostel. Nightly entertainment with guitarists, mini-band, and talented amateur singers supplemented by the Hostel guests. One unique feature: an expert chess player (Christopher) plus staff members that play at a USCF level !

Drawbacks: Pancake breakfast that is spartan unless you bring your own food. No room service, but a Mexican restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: The Small Nenby is ideal for 1 - 2 persons, while the Large Nenby sleeps 4 persons comfortably and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades International Hostel

Address: 20 SW 2nd Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy laid back hostel just 10 miles from the Everglades National Park and Biscayne National Park, John Pennekamp State park and the Florida Keys are just 45 minutes south.The hostel offers Guided Everglades Tours, canoe rentals and bike rentals. Close to Schnebly Redland's Winery, Robert is Here fruit stand and the Everglades Alligator Farm for Airboat rides! Plus Skydive Miami, R.F. Orchids and Coral Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Everglades International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades International Hotel Florida City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.