We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salsa Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Morelia

Taqueria Morelia
961 W Palm Dr, Florida City, FL 33034-3103
305-247-7552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Florida City
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Web site, google, urban spoon etc etc
Restaurant details
Description: Web site, google, urban spoon etc etc
Marathon, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Salsa Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Cute, authentic Mexican cafe that is easy on the pocketbook. The food is first rate for a cafe, no fancy extras, or show stopping presentation. Once served you can head over tot he salsa bar and get your salsa on. Don't be shy - give it a try - you might be surprised.

Really, the place costs a few dollars and has some great food - totally worth it. It is a taqueria - think cafeteria or diner. If that is not what you are looking for, go elsewhere. If it is then you will really enjoy this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
key largo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is not the best Mexican food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really? I know this is Florida City, but come on. This is far from being the best Mexican food in Florida City...I know Toro Taco is in Homestead, but do yourself a favor and go there its cleaner has atmosphere and the food is really much better. Avoid this place if you don't want to get Montezuma's revenge like we did. Just ask them to look in the kitchen before you order. I'll bet they won't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy! Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Pork tacos were delicious and very reasonably priced. Definite stop again! Stopped at neighboring gas station and thought why not? Good decision!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe a little too authentic for my taste.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ordered the pork burritos that they show in a photo that is cooked on a rotisserie. The meat was extremely greasy and too well done. The beans were fine but the rice was a little dry. The side of avocado was a generous portion. I did not like the chips and salsa. The chips were like pita chips but mostly broken up, very thick and the salsas are from a toppings bar. There were several choices of salsa which were watery, too spicy, or too many onions. Overall I expected more based on the reviews. The prices are reasonable but it can add up as everything is a la cart. It is a very spartan, plain place and appears to do a great business with the locals. I think I prefer Tex Mex or Americanized Mexican, this is authentic kind.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A local sharing Knowledge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am a Everglades Park employee and I stop in here often. This place, although attached to a gas station is clean and accommodating. I stop here often to and from work and have yet to be disappointed on anything I have tried. So for those that are visiting please stop in a great local establishment and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Morelia also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Morelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.