We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!πŸ‘πŸ‘” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours in the Glades

Tours in the Glades
20 SW 2 AVE, Florida City, FL 33034
305-248-8458
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We like to say that Everglades City may have the name but we have everything else! Located in Florida City just 10 miles from the main entrance of the Everglades National Park. Tours in the Glades offers Guided Everglades Tours of all kinds. Full Day Tours, Morning Tours, Afternoon Tours and Night Walks. Sightseeing, Paddling with canoes or kayaks. Wet Walks or "Slough Slogs" as the locals say in the Cypress Domes. Alligator Watching, Bird watching and more.We also offer canoe rentals and all the info for a self guided tour. The national park service chose the East Coast for the main entrance for its unique opportunity to see 9 eco-systems in one day. We have 7 canoe trails from marine estuaries in Florida Bay to old moonshiner trails in the red mangrove. 6 biking trails through the Rock Pineland, Dwarf Cypress and sloughs and coastal marsh prairies. Hiking trails and easy boardwalks, overlooks and paved trails make a great day for all types of adventurers!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wow!!!πŸ‘πŸ‘”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Awesome day with an awesome Tour Guide (Caren with a ton of knowledge)...still super impressed! Thanks so much, danke.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome day! Would do it again in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great full day adventure in the Everglades, with Anhinga trail (gators, turtles, birds galore), wet walk (gators, water moccasin, and just amazing beauty), kayak through mangroves (more gators and excitement). So much to see, so beautiful, so much adventure. Jeremy was an amazing guide, very knowledgable, interested, interesting, and really really enjoying sharing what he knew with us. He kept us safe from gators who weren't too pleased to see us, carried the kids through the deepest parts of the walk, and pointed out all sorts of things we wouldn't have noticed. I can't recommend this trip or Jeremy enough!

We're a family of two adults and an 8-year old. We saw people as old as 70 going with another group, so it's good for all ages. The groups are kept small (ours had a family of 5 and our family of 3).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to view the Everglades and its animals~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Everglades National Park is beautiful. Couldn't believe how many alligators were right in front of us. Didn't have to go to an Alligator Park and big pay money to see them. There were several within a few feet of us. The birds and iguanas were amazing. Be prepared with your camera and good walking shoes. The boardwalk through the glades is long but worth it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Fascinating day in the Glades!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This full day in the Everglades was absolutely fascinating. We had a perfect start on the Anhinga trail watching about 28 alligators, turtles, the elegant and beautiful catbird, blue herons, white ibis and lots of other animals. We had a great guide, Caren, full of knowledge and experience and just wonderful preparing this exciting day for us. We went with our two kids, 11 and 13, who have a lot of outdoor and canoe-experience and they just loved this tour. The wet walk into the cypress dome was so much fun and again so exciting. We saw a venomous snake laying curled up under some farn, we saw other brown water snakes, we watched two alligators, we enjoyed a beautiful very rare orchid and we learned a lot about the Glades. Afterwards we went paddling with the easy to handle small kayaks through the mangroves. It was again a lot of fun, but something one shouldn't do without a guide. It was a real adventure and we heard many more stories and made our own discoveries, we even saw a carnivorous plant. This tour is the sort of experience which keeps you intrigued for your whole life.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great job Jeremy Bishop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had the best day kayaking the mangroves, exploring the Ahinga trail and slogging through the marsh with Jeremy Bishop. Jeremy is knowledgeable and competent and we felt safe and cared for all day with each activity. The pick-up and drop-off at the Hostel, the transportation, the logistics of hauling kayaks and lunch were a flawless operation. I especially liked the stop at the fruit stand for those smoothies. Mmmm Good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours in the Glades also viewed

 

Been to Tours in the Glades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours in the Glades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.