We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alligators!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours in the Glades

Tours in the Glades
20 SW 2 AVE, Florida City, FL 33034
305-248-8458
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We like to say that Everglades City may have the name but we have everything else! Located in Florida City just 10 miles from the main entrance of the Everglades National Park. Tours in the Glades offers Guided Everglades Tours of all kinds. Full Day Tours, Morning Tours, Afternoon Tours and Night Walks. Sightseeing, Paddling with canoes or kayaks. Wet Walks or "Slough Slogs" as the locals say in the Cypress Domes. Alligator Watching, Bird watching and more.We also offer canoe rentals and all the info for a self guided tour. The national park service chose the East Coast for the main entrance for its unique opportunity to see 9 eco-systems in one day. We have 7 canoe trails from marine estuaries in Florida Bay to old moonshiner trails in the red mangrove. 6 biking trails through the Rock Pineland, Dwarf Cypress and sloughs and coastal marsh prairies. Hiking trails and easy boardwalks, overlooks and paved trails make a great day for all types of adventurers!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Bet Haemek - Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“alligators!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to the Everglades visitor center and had a tour into the Everglades.
The boat guide was excellent and very funny.
Got us wet on purpose!
Alliogators moving next to the boat.
Reasonable priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

From age 9 to age 69 there was something for everyone in our party - walking and tram tours, cycling, kayaking, and fantastic information about wildlife both animal and vegeatable

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't get any better. Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I wanted to congratulate you guys for an awesome team and great work! I went to everglades in Jan. I know it is way too late for me to write this review, but honestly the trip hasn't faded from my mind yet. In fact I wish to come back again and stay in the hostel and go for more tours.

I also want to thank Jeremy who was our guide. He was so much fun to be with, with loads of enthusiasm and many stories to share. The tour group was like a big family with people from diverse backgrounds coming together with an open mind and having fun under the sun.

Hats off to you Jeremy and the entire everglades team!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Booked through Everglades Int'l Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Amazing! Our (barefoot!) guide was a former gator-tagger and has caught pythons (it's allowed because they are proliferating, thanks to idiots who let their unwanted 'pet' loose in the Glades) so we were in good hands. Kayaking in the morning was fabulous, and the gators were very close but not all riled up. We saw birds that watchers would freak out over. We saw a spoonbill roseate, a blue heron, a great white heron, vultures, ibis, osprey, wood stork, etc. We walked through a slough, stood in a gator hole (mama + babes nearby) and would do this trip again in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Recommend highly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

We went on the morning paddle and mud walk today with guide Sean. After living in this area for years, we had never seen the Everglades like this and figured it was high time. Many of the other recent reviews described the experience well. We started with a kayak paddle at nine mile, where we saw lots of alligators, three roseated spoonbills, wood storks, and more. Seeing the mangroves from the water was stunning. The paddle was followed by the mud walk where we saw the male, female and baby alligators mentioned by others. Use their crappy shoes, not your own. We were the only two on this particular tour, so it was very personalized. Sean is terrific. He shares a lot of information and is extremely engaging. He clearly loves this. He gave us a few tips for our next visit. Anhinga Trail is great and we have been there many times, but you haven't seen the Everglades until you get down it it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours in the Glades also viewed

 
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Tours in the Glades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours in the Glades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.