We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Restaurant and seafood market - CLOSED

Captain's Restaurant and seafood market
404 SE 1st Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-5010
305-247-9456
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Captain's Restaurant and Seafood Market is officially closed. We would like to thank the patrons from near and far for all the great reviews,the average reviews and the not so good ones. Happy Trails
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very fresh seafood at a very reasonable price.Not a fancy place but comfortable.Out side seating with many fans to keep you cool.Best value and food in Florida city.Convenient to hotels.We stop here on our way to the keys every year

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK; but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Plain place with a broad menu, and very good conch chowder. But everything else was just average. Service was somewhat slow. Convenient location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food , service and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had two meals at this restaurant and on both occasion the food and service was excellent . Also sells an interesting rang of art by o local artist.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel clerk has suggested this place so we gave it try, glad we did, the seafood was great, service was great, quick, they have a very large menu of mostly seafood, but what we had was great, prices were in line with everything else, would recommend this place for some great seafood, nice place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been wanting to eat at Captains for some time and finally found the time to visit. I am so glad I did. We started with the lobster bisque soup which was delicious. Our very nice server told us it was the best she has ever tasted, and she was right. The soup is very thick and full of lobster, however very filling. I had a yellow snapper special with a mango sauce and it was very tasty and fresh. I really enjoyed my dinner. The bread pudding was delicious, homemade as was the brownie, they were both great. I will be going back, especially to see our server ( I forgot her name) but I won't forget her. Really enjoyed it. Laid back and no frills or fancy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Restaurant and seafood market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Restaurant and seafood market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.