We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Restaurant and seafood market - CLOSED

Captain's Restaurant and seafood market
404 SE 1st Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-5010
305-247-9456
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Captain's Restaurant and Seafood Market is officially closed. We would like to thank the patrons from near and far for all the great reviews,the average reviews and the not so good ones. Happy Trails
Carlisle, PA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Just like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

By "home" we mean this is the kind of place you would frequent back home, for the good food and value. Nothing pretentious about the place, but it has a nice laidback feeling. We had hogfish and mahi mahi and it was very good, served by a friendly waitress who told us the key lime pie is "awesome" so we tried it - and it really was good! Within walking distance of two hotels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

No frills restaurant with amazing seafood. The fish tacos were divine and the final bill was even better! Great seafood which I have no hesitation in recommending.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Late dinner. It was good food and the staff were freindly and didn't try to rush us out the door at closing time. Close to the hotel we stayed at.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavy food, but nice service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service was good, but the food was defintely average. The sauces were very creamy and too heavy. It was ok food but too much! For the price the quality was on the low end.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant close to the Best Western hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Florida City is probably not noted for it's cuisine or fine hotel accommodations, but the Captain's Restaurant pretty much exceeded our expectations. Had a very nice meal there. We had the lobster bisque and the clam chowder and salads, so can't really comment on most of their menu items. The lobster bisque was very nice, but maybe a bit much on the sherry. Still nice though. The clam chowder had a bit too many potatoes, but such a nice spicy heat that you kind of forgot the potatoes. Would definitely recommend this as a place to eat in Florida City.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Restaurant and seafood market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Restaurant and seafood market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.