We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosita's Mexican Restaurant

Rosita's Mexican Restaurant
199 W Palm Drive, Florida City, FL 33034-3421
(305) 246-3114
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 restaurants in Florida City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Complimentary homemade tortilla chips along with a nicely spicy fresh salsa started us off. I ordered a Corona beer which was not cold enough but did come with the obligatory lime wedge.
The beef enchiladas with red sauce were delicious.Three perfectly prepared enchiladas came with fresh salad (iceberg lettuce and tomato), refried beans and rice... an absolute bargain for $6.99. The decor is either really scary or entirely unique depending on your perspective but they have an open kitchen which appeared clean unlike some of the other Mexican restaurants in Homestead/Florida City. Service was good considering the place was quite busy and there were only two waitresses but we were left standing at the till too long when we tried to pay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    44
    41
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tacos with a side of Ants”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The place is pretty disgusting. The first time we ate there, our meal was pretty good. The decor leaves a lot to be desired, but the meal was good. Not very clean either. However, we decided to go again. This time, ewww. I had bugs crawling on my legs. There were ants on the wall. My husband got sick to his stomach and then an hour later, so did I. Never again will I visit this establishment ever again. Not so nice decor is fine. Slow service is also fine. But the bugs on the table and on the wall, I can't dine with bugs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home-made breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stopped for breakfast before venturing into Everglades National Park. Food was good and the prices were great. Homemade tortillas, eggs with nopales, eggs with ham (a slice of deli ham, rather than a serving of diced, thick cut ham). The beans were tasty with an excellent texture.
The place was squeaky clean. The art was refreshing: mountain waterfalls and beautiful villages. Service was swift.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Whereever you need you find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is huge and you can find everything under the sun. The farmers market is full of vegetables with great prices. It also has a food court that sells cold beer. In the flea market there isnt anything you cant find.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I ate here while staying in the hostel next door. It serves decent quality Mexican food at fantastically cheap prices. Don't expect a great atmosphere or 5* service because you'll receive neither - it's just a simple cafe style restaurant. Go here simply for the food and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosita's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rosita's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosita's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.