We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Alligator Farm

Everglades Alligator Farm
40351 SW 192 Ave, Flamingo, FL 33030
305-247-2628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Flamingo
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Get up close and personal with thousands of alligators at this alligator farm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Bring all friends and family all the time. Sit back and hold on tight this is an airboat ride you will never forget. Our airboat caption knew everything about the Everglades he was a wealth of information. The alligator show well get your heart pumping guaranteed. I had a great time at Everglades Alligator Farm I totally recommended visiting this attraction. Don't forget to snap a picture with the famous 14ft "Grandpa" alligator.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    137
    62
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sigourney, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Airboat through the Everglades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took the Airboat Ride and toured the Alligator Farm. All of the employees were fun, friendly and helpful. The Airboat ride was one of the highlights of our Florida trip, we got to see many Alligators while zipping through the swamp. Very Fun~our air boat driver was funny and made the ride enjoyable doing some manuevers.
The Snake show was informative and we even got to touch the snakes, and the Alligator show was fun to watch and we got to hold baby Alligators.
There are growing pens for the baby alligators and you can buy food and feed them. The older ones were eager to be feed. there was a cafe/snack shop available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Leaving aside any of the animal rights issues (which I have some sympathy towards), this was an enjoyable visit. The basic entry fee was $15 but for an extra $8 you can add the airboat ride ... so we did. Although I agree with other reviewers that the 'show off' aspect of the ride was a bit irritating, I nonetheless felt that the experience was worth the $8 and our guide did add quite a bit of useful information along the way.

The attraction itself was, in my view, an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours and worth the entry fee.

One major disappointment was the on-site cafe which was terrible. I have since e-mailed the Farm about this but disappointingly received no reply.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alligator Shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a travesty to the entire species of alligators. Maybe we found this place very disturbing because we just came from the Everglades Nat'l Park seeing alligators entirely in their natural habitat. We knew going here that the AF was farming alligators, but seriously?! If left me and my family feeling sick and disheartened at the way companies are allowed to keep animals. We went to the AF mainly for the 10 min airboat ride, which is why this place gets a star. Our guide was excellent and patient pointing out some of the local creatures and giving us a guilty pleasure of a ride. We're looking to our visit at the more natural Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center in Tavernier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Not worth it"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you want to experience a true air boat ride....this is not the place to go. The driver was giving some inaccurate information to the riders. This could of been more educational for the riders but all he cared about was the "spin" and bragging about it afterwards.....who cares! It was 5 minutes of coasting, 5 minutes ( if that) of spinning, and 5 minutes coasting back to the dock. Not worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Alligator Farm also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Everglades Alligator Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Alligator Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Everglades Alligator Farm to your Saves list