We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Alligator Farm

Everglades Alligator Farm
40351 SW 192 Ave, Flamingo, FL 33034
305.247.2628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Flamingo
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Get up close and personal with thousands of alligators at this alligator farm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mainz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were very disspointed with opur visit to this alligator farm. The airboat (the boat sat around 24) ride consists of two youngsters showing off airboat skills - if a real airboat ride in the everglades is what you are after - there are many better options. The shows seem quite cruel on the unwilling animal participants and the picture opportunities after the show with very young crocs -jaws are taped together by duck tape for tourists to be able to take pictures - felt very wrong.

The rest of the "farm" consists amongst others of a small souvenir shop, a very old snack caravan, and a large selection of alligators, snakes and crocodiles in what appear to be very cramped enclosures.

A walk along the nearby free Anhinga Trail will give you a much better opportunities to see alligators in their natural habitat - real guided airboat rides across the everglades are also available nearby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    219
    96
    33
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Aligators”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed the activities at the alligator farm. It was very educational and we advise you take the air boat ride into the everglades.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disrespectful to the animals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The farm is a farm in true meaning of the word. They have hundreds of animals in only a few square meters of enclosures. They take you an airboat ride that is quite fun and you get to see a bit of the Everglades and even alligators in their natural environment. But the farm part I didn't like at all. If you've never seen an alligator or a snake up close and really want to, go take a look. But if you are hoping to find respectful attitude towards the animals look somewhere else. The "show" they put on was horrible, a guy just dragged the poor gator around by its tail. Any zoo trip is nicer and more educational.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ann, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“An OK attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If your looking for an airboat ride to see the everglades you might want to look somwhere else. You do get a 15 or 20 minute ride on an airboat, most of the time at idle speed, and you do get to see a couple of alligators but that is about it. They have a couple of short shows with snakes and alligators, and also a small lake with a lot of alligators. It's probably a good place to take kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“There's a reason tourists go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Some people make fun of "touristy" things to do but if tourists like them, then maybe it's a great way to spend a morning or afternoon. Going to an alligator farm in Florida is definitely a touristy thing to do, and I loved it! The airboat ride was a lot of fun and we saw a alligators in the wild which I didn't expect to see. We saw a snake show (my wife held a live snake--not me!), and an alligator show where I got to hold a baby allitgator. We then saw an alligator feeding. There must have been fifty alligators waiting patiently, all lined up for a chance at a dead rat being thrown their way. Throughout all the shows the guide gave us helpful information about the animals and their habitat. Go to their website and print a coupon for a $2.00 discount on your tickets. A really great touristy thing to do. So if you're a tourist--do it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Alligator Farm also viewed

 

Been to Everglades Alligator Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Alligator Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.