We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Expensive Lousy Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Pelican

Funky Pelican
215 S. Oceanshore Blvd., Flagler Beach, FL 32136
3864390011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Flagler Beach
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Location for Expensive Lousy Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location at the Flagler Pier is great-awesome views-but that was the only good experience on a recent visit. Service was very slow-so bad we went searching for our waitress, and found her chatting with her co-workers. Then she got the drink order wrong-and also got the food order wrong. The food was mediocre-like it microwaved. The bill was slow in coming and was WAY too much for what we got-a poor value.
I recommend you stop for 1 drink at the bar, see the view, then go across A1A to the Golden Lion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    129
    55
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the pier and ocean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What great views! You can sit inside in air conditioned comfort, outside on the deck, or at the outside covered bar. Had the Funkified Brisket Burger, cooked properly, but pricey at ten bucks. One friend had the fried shrimp- also good. The two other guys had the fish sandwich with sauerkraut (fishy Reuben) and enjoyed it also. The kitchen mixed up our order, but for us no fuss n muss... and eat away we went. Then the server appeared with the correct sandwich and apologized for the mix-up. The extra sandwich was free, and went home in a doggy bag. Great service and what a nice way to handle the mix-up. There is a free parking lot just across the street if you can't find street parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent vaule, food and amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stopped here for a breakfast meeting and to my surprise the food was excellent, the staff was friendly and the views of the ocean were awesome. The bottomless freshly brewed coffee was perfect. This will be a frequent breakfast stop from now on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“View is exceptional but the Funky Pelican is 'funky'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had dinner with our daughter and grandson. My husband and grandson's fish was 'fishy'. The all food was just ok and the service was slow. Even though it is a new place, FUNKY is the key word, it needed a good scrubbing. The location is beautiful and that is all it has going for it. I would not return. Sorry Funky Pelican, we had great hopes because of your location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Great friendly device”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Right on the pier in the center of Flagler Beach. Been there three times, twice inside and once on the deck. If it's not too hot, the deck is great, wonderful ocean view. The food is very good, not great, I thought the coating on the fried scallops was too heavy and overbearing. My husband also thought the food was average. What was amazing was the service, so friendly and helpful. On our third visit we had some of the grandkids with us and the waitress was so sweet and understanding with their special requests. The inside has a nice clean modern feel for a beach restaurant. On my second visit, a few in our group ordered fish, some grilled, some blackened and all said it was delicious. My Mom has had their fish sandwich for lunch and loved it. All in all, I think it's a pretty safe bet for a good lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Pelican also viewed

 

Been to Funky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.