We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Pelican

Funky Pelican
215 S. Oceanshore Blvd., Flagler Beach, FL 32136
3864390011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 52 Restaurants in Flagler Beach
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

They gutted the old Pier restaurant and built the Funky Pelican. Staff is very friendly, the views are fantastic and the food is pretty good. They built a deck off the back that sits right on the ocean, with an outside bar in the shade and tables with some sun. The views inside are great as well except the inside bar faces the wall. Only down side is that it is pricey but most of the dishes have a twist to them that makes them unique. I had a salmon entree there which was very good and served with cheesy smashed potatoes and fresh veggies ($16). Another time I tried the taco dip which was enough to feed 4 people but great as well with fresh not jarred jalepenos, a nice touch ($9). Other people in our party got the half pound hot dog which was HUGE as it hung off the ends in a sub sized roll ($9) and a fish mac which is like a big mac but with huge fish patties. I'd call it an upscale beach restaurant and it's worth the view and the friendly service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    128
    55
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hope this is just "starting" issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have been here twice - weeks apart -A new place on the Flagler pier first with family (6) and then just us(2). Waited only a short time but they gave us an alert gizmo. Both times, service was fast but part of the orders were wrong but since it was crowded we all took what we received. Slightly pricey for this area - Waited significantly for drink reorders refills. Get the feeling that they want to flip the tables very quickly - check was on the table before we were finished. Location, scenery, most of the items were excellent. We will give it some time and then hopefully the starting pains will have ironed out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sticker Shock!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love Flagler Beach and the " Old Florida Charm" that it offers in all of its surroundings. So, now that the old Pier Restaurant has been remodeled and reopened as the Funky Pelican we felt compelled to visit and enjoy the new ambiance. The interior as well as the exterior seating area is a little smaller than expected. This results in a fairly noisy environment when the they are at capacity especially near the interior bar. The food was enjoyable and the staff is very polite and helpful. However, if you intend on enjoying cocktails from the bar beware of the pricing! My group of four enjoyed a couple of drinks each while we engaged in conversation at the bar and when the bill arrived we were SHOCKED! Although the drinks were generous the pricing was staggering. With NO warning of the drink pricing we could not believe the price tag on each drink. The pricing ranged from $9.40 to $11.43 for each cocktail. This was way above what we would consider to be customary and competitive. This put a damper on a otherwise enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great view in a clean, new "landmark".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There has been a restaurant at this location for many years, but a few years ago a storm closed the place down (for better). New ownership now has the property and after a thorough remodel, the place is better than ever. Decor is beach/kitschy with composite furniture and flooring made to resemble weather-worn wood. A few modern touches balance out the "rustic" look and give the place a nice, clean vibe.

Although there is a fully stocked bar that hints at what the place might be like after dark, I can only speak for breakfast at the Funky Pelican. Our multi-generational family dropped in and everyone left happy and very full. The servings are generous, and the food was definitely above average for beach fare.

Prices are about what you would expect at the beach. Service was friendly and attentive. Grab a booth/window seat for the view and to take the sound level down a notch or two. The tables in the middle of the room can be noisy.

Only four stars because the menu was a bit limited. Those looking for something lighter and healthier will find very few options. But, hey, you're at the beach, so splurge a little!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner at the Funky Pelican for the first time with another couple and we all enjoyed our meals. The menu is very basic but the food was good and plentiful. What most people will enjoy are the views thru the large windows or from eating on the outdoor deck which also has Bar area. The Restaurant is actually part of the Flagler Beach Pier and you can watch the Fishermen on the Pier as well as surfers on the ocean. This place has the best location on the beach for 25 miles in either direction..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Pelican also viewed

 

Been to Funky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.