We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2549 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I shared a weekend at the Hampton Inn on Sadler Road (There are 2 Hampton's on Fernandina Beach - the other is Hampton Inn and Suites on 2nd St). For the price point ($90-110 night), this was a very nice place in a decent location. We visited primarily because we were going to the Bears-Jaguars football game that Sunday, but wanted to explore the local area as well. The beach just down the street from this hotel was really nice compared to most other East Florida beaches (Miami Beach is better, but that's about it), and it's not trashy like Daytona is, in my opinion.

As for the hotel, this was our first time at a Hampton Inn property after joining Hilton HHonors recently, and I was disappointed to learn that I couldn't earn points on this stay because I had prepaid the stay via Hotels.com, even though the rate wasn't any different on their site. I know for future reference though. The service was better than other chains at this price point, and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room itself was spacious for a one-bed King, though the mattress wasn't as great as I've experienced at other chains. I wouldn't say it's bad, but it was bouncier than most. Some people might not like that. I feel like I slept pretty well.

As for amenities, the room had a microwave and fridge and we had no complaints about the Wi-fi. We were pleased that all 3 were available as part of the rate and worked well. My wife also appreciated that they offered a makeup remover cloth in the bathroom, but was rather displeased with the quality of the hairdryer provided.

Breakfast offered hot foods, eggs, ham, biscuits and gravy, and waffles, as well as the standard continental breakfast fare. We found this to be a step-up from similarly priced chains.

The swimming pool was cold (and I'm Norwegian, so I can usually handle chilly), so we didn't spend too much time in it, but it was a pretty nice pool, and not too deep.

Overall, we were pleased with this Hampton Inn, and really enjoyed Fernandina Beach. For our next visit, we'll likely try the other Hampton Inn that's right in the historic downtown area, so we can compare, as well as be able to walk around downtown more.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the Elevator was our request - and we got it - 3rd floor at the end of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    136
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
139
141
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wanted to break up trip with my dog on 95. This was so worth the drive, I only had 5 hours left the last day. Great safe location, fun short walk to dog friendly beach. Area around Hampton Inn offered lots of walking. Room and breakfast were standard Hampton Inn, nothing to complain about with them. picked up dinner from The Loop, very good and reasonable. Beautiful drive along A1A S to pick up 95.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fernandina Beach is a pet-friendly beach so you do expect to find pet friendly hotels in the area. We visited this location with our little puppy and were so peasantly surprised. Not only did the staff assure that we were in a comfortable room and explained clearly their pet policies they took time to describe the beach area, provide a list of PET FRIENDLY RESTAURANTS and answer our questions over our stay. VERY CLEAN and the breakfast provided was hot and good. This is a 'keeper.'

Room Tip: The rooms are very well insulated to buffer sound problems....we were close to the ice machine but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast okay. Rooms clean but need updating. The very best thing about this place is that it is very easy walking to the beach. It's about 3blocks away with sidewalks all the way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently spent one night here on a quick "let's go to the beach" getaway. The price was excellent for a Hampton Inn so close to the beach. The room was clean, large, and had a microwave and fridge. Breakfast was ample and provided variety. Common areas were clean and well-kept.

The only negative concerned the AC in our room. It kept the room cool enough, but was not able to reduce the humidity in the room. As a result, the wet towels we hung at 6:00pm were still wet at 9:30am the next morning. Don't know if this was the case throughout the hotel, or just our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed just one night over Labor Day weekend. The accommodations were what we expected with the Hampton Inn. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual fare but well stocked and the area was clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The guy at the front desk was great,but when it came to my room at 1st look it was ok but when I got out of the shower there was black mold all in the bathroom. Then more I looked around the more I found. I am not picky at all but I am on the road a lot the other Hampton is so much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliaHI, General Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We pride ourselves in our outstanding housekeeping. I was very disappointed to read your comments.

Be assured we take every guest comment as an opportunity to better serve all guests, past, present and future. I truly wish I had the opportunity to speak to you personally before you left the hotel to better understand where our problem areas might be. If you stayed with our hotel on past visits, you know this experience was not a normal event.

I do hope you will give as another opportunity to prove our commitment to your satisfactory guest stay.

Khelia Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach

Address: 2549 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Amelia Island At Fernandina Beach Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Amelia Island At Fernandina Beach FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.