We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a Reservation if you want Brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 29 South Eats

29 South Eats
29 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
(904) 277-7919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
29 South Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ash
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Make a Reservation if you want Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The food here is always consistent. Kudos for locally gathered ingredients. Limited menu items but always fresh and well prepared. Someday I'll understand why bringing ingredients from locally grown farmers equates to a far larger dent in the wallet. The Fried Green Tomatoes are a must try app. Just be prepared if you have a couple of decent glasses of wine for 2 guest $$$ and don't try to enjoy a morning walk downtown and hop in for brunch on the weekend without a reservation. That was my bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    168
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I expected it to be delicious because of how creative the menu was...not great. We went for brunch and wasn't blown away by any means. I ordered eggs benedict with pulled pork after a recommendation from the waitress...It was not a good combination. Also ordered biscuits and gravy because she raved about it and it was like eating sausage in paste. Good flavor but dry and hard biscuits. Breakfast potatoes were over cooked also.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great fancy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I are not fine dining folks. This is fancy for us. The food was great, I had the New York strip with rosemary garlic fries. Sounds boring but wasn't. The steak was grilled perfectly and laid on top of the fries and green beans. The steak juice dripped onto the fries. Was delicious!! My husband got the honey fried chicken and liked it but said the mashed potatoes were bland. The wine list was extensive but hard to understand. NO SWEET TEA!! We got unsweet tea with a bottle of simple syrup. It was all right.
Overall a good place for a nicer date. Outside was nice and cool with the fans on, looked cute inside. Food really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacsonville,Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is excellent. This was our third time having dinner here, and each time was fantastic. I had the shrimp and grits and the flavors were great. The sauce complimented the cheese grits perfectly. My wife was very pleased with her soup and salad. Great waitress and service. We will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“So disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Let me first say the food was actually tasty and the staff was friendly, understanding, and apologetic. But the kitchen is the problem. We ordered the charcuterie plate and the steamed mussels for appetizers. The plate was minuscule and nothing special. The mussels were delicious and plentiful. But the best part is dipping bread in the broth and they didn't have any bread. They kept offering to bring when the kitchen made it but it never came. The hamburger was nice but overcooked. The fish tacos were tasty but lacked fish!!! And finally the salmon Niçoise salad was pathetic. No chef should call a nicotine salad a very small piece of fish with 6 string beans and a few capers. The waiter admitted they left the fingerling potatoes off which they would bring but not only did they not bring it, a few potatoes would not have made up for this $28 salad. Honestly, they should be embarrassed to serve that. Would we recommend? No. Would we go back? No. Very simple.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 South Eats also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to 29 South Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 South Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.